Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-12-2015, 02:25 PM
ffud ffud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: California
Posts: 7
Default Hanging/Freezing when putting plugins on tracks

Hey,

I just upgraded to PT 11 from 10. I also upgraded my interface and got a UA Apollo. Installed everything on a clean install of Windows 7 to minimize issues. So much for that.

Anyway, whenever I try to put a UAD plugin on a track Pro Tools hangs/freezes for about 15-20 seconds before finally opening the plug. The meters and play back will freeze and the window will say "not responding" at the top if I try to do anything. But then eventually the plugin will open and seems to be okay. I've also had this occur in the past with Slate Digital stuff and Izotope stuff in PT10, but it wasn't nearly as bad as the UAD is now.

I've talked with UA support and they think it's a PT issue since their plugins work fine in their console application and they haven't heard of the problem. I've tried all the obvious things, trashing preferences, re installing plugs etc. And this was all done on a clean windows install and clean most up-to-date PT and UAD were the first things that went on the computer.

Any thoughts?

(Custom built copmuter 64 bit Win 7 service pack 1, Intel i7 3770K, 8GB ram. PT 11.3.1)

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-12-2015, 02:42 PM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,257
Default Re: Hanging/Freezing when putting plugins on tracks

Follow the optimization guide here: http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...oting/en349411
__________________
Pro Tools HD 12.4, Pro Tools "Vanilla" 12.4, Artist Transport, 2x Artist Mix
Studio Blue: RME UCX, Win7 Pro, i7 960, 16GB || Studio Green: RME Babyface, Win10, i7 7700HQ, 16GB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Printing/Freezing tracks in PT9? JonesH Pro Tools 9 0 09-14-2011 02:56 AM
System freezing "hanging" up all the time! postman56 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 09-15-2008 02:59 PM
Pro Tools hanging on startup at "Loading Plugins" Eric Gale 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 07-03-2006 07:35 AM
Putting mastered tracks on CD - questions Bezo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 21 03-11-2006 11:17 AM
putting plugins in order shaun1234 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 08-05-2004 11:52 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:07 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com