Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-07-2009, 07:50 PM
sananplayer sananplayer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 22
Question Zoom hard disc recorder (1608) to PT? Possible?

Does anyone know if it's possible to transfer the data from a Zoom 1608 to pro tools as individual tracks? If I create a .wav file and upload it to PT, will it separate the recording into the original tracks?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-07-2009, 07:53 PM
77pro 77pro is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 818
Default Re: Zoom hard disc recorder (1608) to PT? Possible?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sananplayer View Post
Does anyone know if it's possible to transfer the data from a Zoom 1608 to pro tools as individual tracks? If I create a .wav file and upload it to PT, will it separate the recording into the original tracks?

Thanks.
It can't separate the tracks.....you'll need to bounce down individual tracks to .wav files and import these into pt.
__________________
003r/i7-930/LE 8.0.1 cs2 on xp
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-08-2009, 12:33 PM
sananplayer sananplayer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 22
Question Re: Zoom hard disc recorder (1608) to PT? Possible?

Thought so.. Is it difficult lining up the different tracks to get them all on the same "time"?

Thanks. Sorry for the dumb questions.. I'm very new to PT. All my recordings are on the Zoom and it would be great if I could transfer them over to PT to tweak them.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-08-2009, 01:38 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,723
Default Re: Zoom hard disc recorder (1608) to PT? Possible?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sananplayer View Post
Thought so.. Is it difficult lining up the different tracks to get them all on the same "time"?

Thanks. Sorry for the dumb questions.. I'm very new to PT. All my recordings are on the Zoom and it would be great if I could transfer them over to PT to tweak them.
As long as all the tracks have the same start time on the Zoom, they should line up fine in PT.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-09-2009, 07:49 AM
sananplayer sananplayer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 22
Question Re: Zoom hard disc recorder (1608) to PT? Possible?

Thanks.

I guess I'm just thinking that if I have the Zoom playing back and I have to begin the recording in PT by pressing the record button, I may be a second or two off..

i.e. Start Zoom playback for track 1 then hit record on PT. It starts recording at 2.79 seconds.

Start Zoom playback for track 2 then hit record on PT. It starts recording at 3.4 seconds.

Or the other way around. Start PT then play the Zoom.

Does this make any sense? How can I be sure I am starting to record at the exact same time for each track?

Thanks again...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-11-2009, 08:46 AM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,669
Default Re: Zoom hard disc recorder (1608) to PT? Possible?

You probably won't get it EXACT every time anyway. But you can transfer each individual track to a NEW PT individual track and then just move them around til they all line up. Tricky but you can do it.
Start PT recording FIRST then hit play on the Zoom.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-12-2009, 12:37 PM
sananplayer sananplayer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 22
Default Re: Zoom hard disc recorder (1608) to PT? Possible?

Thanks. If it get the first note of each tracked lined up just so.. everything else should fall into place. I hope.. :)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-12-2009, 12:52 PM
daeron80 daeron80 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 3,685
Default Re: Zoom hard disc recorder (1608) to PT? Possible?

Used to have to do that sort of thing all the time years ago when transferring, say, 40 tracks from slaved 2" tape machines into PT via an 888 interface, which had only 16 inputs. What you do is record a tiny blast of the same audio at the same place to all Zoom tracks, either before song start or at the end. If it will let you copy/paste from one track to the others or something, that would work great. Once the audio is transfered to PTLE, line up all those little blips, zooming in to the sample level for complete accuracy. We used to use the traditional video 2-pop, which is one frame of 1 kHz sine wave. (They call it a 2-pop because it's always placed 2 seconds before first frame of picture.) But anything with a spike in it will do.
__________________
David J. Finnamore

Nyquist was right.

PT 2020.5 Ultimate | Omni | macOS Mojave
PT 2020.6 | Saffire Pro 40 | Win10

Last edited by daeron80; 02-12-2009 at 12:54 PM. Reason: Just can't shut up.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-14-2009, 04:12 PM
sananplayer sananplayer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 22
Smile Re: Zoom hard disc recorder (1608) to PT? Possible?

That, sir, is an absolutely brilliant way to do this. The same "blip" all lined up. Genius. Seems so simple. Why didn't I think of it? I love DUC.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT LE and Zoom H2 recorder audiotinker Tips & Tricks 0 07-18-2012 08:57 AM
Anyone had Hard-disc recorder experiences in Post Production tom.joyce Post - Surround - Video 4 08-21-2007 06:32 AM
Conforming from Hard Disc recorder TNagle Post - Surround - Video 16 03-18-2006 09:48 PM
Sync to hard disc recorder The Coffeepot 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 11-21-2005 09:38 AM
Wav files from a Yamaha Hard Disc Recorder Mark Wheaton Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 06-06-2004 04:09 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:03 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com