Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-07-2006, 08:48 AM
j20056 j20056 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 690
Default analog mixer + control surface = digital mixer?

Hi. I currently use a Mackie 24 analog mixer, and a Baby HUI as a control surface. I am trying to rearrange my space more efficiently, so I was wondering if I could sell these two and replace them with one device that does both. Is a digital mixer the answer?
I want the functionality of an analog mixer to play live with my band (my room is both a recording, mixing and band practise room), and control ProTools. My budget is under $3,000 and I want at least 16 channels and 4 busses.
am I thinking right about a digital mixer? Do I lose or gain functionality in the process?
__________________
Digi002 Rack
Mac Pro 8-core 3Ghz
8gb RAM
3X 500GB 7,200 SATA DRIVES
OSX 10.5.7
PTLE 8.0cs3
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-07-2006, 07:16 PM
bb_aus bb_aus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,689
Default Re: analog mixer + control surface = digital mixer?

digital mixers realy are a different beast to use but if your comfortable with it then it will do what your asking

cheepest entry is a yamaha 01V96
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-07-2006, 08:49 PM
j20056 j20056 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 690
Default Re: analog mixer + control surface = digital mixer?

Thanks. I've narrowed down the search to the yamaha 01V96 and the Tascam DM-3200 (although the DM-4600 that they just released looks really nice, but $5,000). What about the Control|24? It's obviously the best control surface versus the others, but is it remotely capable of being used as a live mixer (for a band practise room)?
__________________
Digi002 Rack
Mac Pro 8-core 3Ghz
8gb RAM
3X 500GB 7,200 SATA DRIVES
OSX 10.5.7
PTLE 8.0cs3
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-07-2006, 08:56 PM
Third Eye Studios Third Eye Studios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Albuquerque, NM USA
Posts: 1,876
Default Re: analog mixer + control surface = digital mixer?

You could look for an older Mackie Digital 8 Bus with an extra AIO card. The console is no longer made, but it can function as a HUI for Pro Tools and as a digital console (and it's in your budget).
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-07-2006, 10:04 PM
Matt Whritenour Matt Whritenour is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Oak Ridge, New Jersey
Posts: 2,031
Default Re: analog mixer + control surface = digital mixer

this should do the trick
http://www.solid-state-logic.com/music/aws900plus.html
__________________
www.klarityrecordingstudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-08-2006, 04:17 AM
j20056 j20056 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 690
Default Re: analog mixer + control surface = digital mixer

SSL = $100,000
__________________
Digi002 Rack
Mac Pro 8-core 3Ghz
8gb RAM
3X 500GB 7,200 SATA DRIVES
OSX 10.5.7
PTLE 8.0cs3
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-08-2006, 01:30 PM
JCBigler's Avatar
JCBigler JCBigler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,737
Default Re: analog mixer + control surface = digital mixer

The Yamaha 01V96 is the tool you are looking for. I have one, and use it as a control surface, and audio I/O for Protools. Though you didn't say what Digi hardware you are using. If you don't have any Digi system yet, you will need to got one to use Protools. The Digi 002R is the unit that you want.

With the 01V96, you can bring 8 channels of ADAT I/O into the 002R, and four additional channels via the OMNI outs. That will give you 12 channels into Protools via the 01V96 -> 002R. Plus the four mic pres and S/PDIF on the 002R brings you to a total of 18 channels of input to Protools--the max that Digidesign currently allows.

With this set up you still have the use of the 01V96's onboard digital EQs, compressors, and effects--while recording into Protools, so it is very much like an oldschool analog mixer/outboard gear set up.

You also get the Protools control surface functionality that you want.

As well, the 01V96 sports the following features by default:

12 mic pres, 8 aux send, 8 subgroups (DCA style), on board fully parametric 4-band EQs, compressors, gates, delays, and limiters on EVERY input and output. Scene memory, motorized faders, two channels of stereo 1/4" input, 17 faders (including the master L-R), the ability to upgrade the base configuration to have up to 32 mono mic inputs. And it's relatively light, so it's not a huge hassel if you have to move it for a gig.

It's a very versatile board, and well worth the money. It is the only digital board out there that can do what it does for the price ~$2,000.

I can't recomend it enough.
__________________
Justice C. Bigler
www.justicebigler.com

Lenovo P50: quad-core i7-6820hq, 64GB, 2TB SSD, Win 10 Pro / HD|Native-TB / Protools Ultimate 2019.12

Home/mobile: Focusrite Red 8Pre / Clarett 4Pre
Road/hotel: Roland OctaCaputre / Apogee One
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-09-2006, 04:36 AM
j20056 j20056 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 690
Default Re: analog mixer + control surface = digital mixer

Thanks JC. Since I posted my original message, I researched this topic a lot and came with similar conclusions. The top two candidates are the Yamaha unit you mentioned, and there is also the Tascam DM-3200. My analog mixer has 24 faders, and I use them all during band rehearsals, so I am not totally happy about only having 16 faders, but I *do* understand that I can get access to more faders by a single button press to show me the next 16, from 17-32, although I will only have 16 line/mic inputs. I also found this brand www.argosyconsole.com that makes beautiful consoles to integrate the Yamaha or the Tascam.
I may decide to upgrade and get the new Tascam DM-4800. It has 24 mic pres / line in, and 24 physical faders, as well as 8 analog send/return instead of 4. In a sense, it is like the Yamaha 02V96 ($9,200 street price) but at $4,999 list price.
I'll post about what I wind up buying. BTW, how is the control surface working with PTLE? I do have the 002R
__________________
Digi002 Rack
Mac Pro 8-core 3Ghz
8gb RAM
3X 500GB 7,200 SATA DRIVES
OSX 10.5.7
PTLE 8.0cs3
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-09-2006, 08:21 AM
JCBigler's Avatar
JCBigler JCBigler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,737
Default Re: analog mixer + control surface = digital mixer

Like I said, I love my 01V96. Best investment I ever made. It has a suttle/scrub wheel, and yes you can bank the faders in groups of 16--I have two user preset buttons set up so I can bank up and down in groups of 16, jut like you would with the Command8, Digi002, or Control24.
__________________
Justice C. Bigler
www.justicebigler.com

Lenovo P50: quad-core i7-6820hq, 64GB, 2TB SSD, Win 10 Pro / HD|Native-TB / Protools Ultimate 2019.12

Home/mobile: Focusrite Red 8Pre / Clarett 4Pre
Road/hotel: Roland OctaCaputre / Apogee One
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-09-2006, 12:37 PM
Matt Whritenour Matt Whritenour is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Oak Ridge, New Jersey
Posts: 2,031
Default Re: analog mixer + control surface = digital mixer

Quote:
SSL = $100,000
i think it's more around $90,000 lol
__________________
www.klarityrecordingstudios.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What's a good digital mixer/control surface? superlovemark 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 12-29-2003 09:44 PM
Digital Mixer as Control Surface Tukkis 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 05-17-2003 06:46 AM
control surface for digi001 or digital mixer???? KemikAL 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 05-24-2002 01:06 AM
Best Digital Mixer / Control Surface? revitup General Discussion 7 08-11-2001 09:05 AM
Digital or Analog Mixer? TRK 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 07-04-2001 03:53 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:37 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com