Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-21-2019, 02:55 PM
LDS LDS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 599
Default Sample accurate digilink interfaces in 2019?

Hey everyone,

What current digilink interfaces are sample accurate to 192s or HD I/O?

Obviously Avid stuff. I assume the Symphony and new Aurora N continue Apogee and Lynx's trend of being sample accurate? Mytek? What about Burl, the Focusrite Red stuff and Antelope Audio HD interfaces?
__________________
littledevilstudios.com.au

Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.12. OSX 10.13.6. HDX. Avid Omni. Mac Pro 5,1 12x 3.33Ghz. 64Gb. 4x mSata SSD Drives + 4x HDD. Blackmagic Intensity PCIe. ATI Radeon HD5770.

Free Lexicon 224XL Impulse Responses
Free Sony DPS-V77 Impulse Responses
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-21-2019, 03:01 PM
JCBigler's Avatar
JCBigler JCBigler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,687
Default Re: Sample accurate digilink interfaces in 2019?

What does sample accurate mean?
__________________
Justice C. Bigler
www.justicebigler.com

Home/mobile: Lenovo P50: quad-core i7-6820hq, 64GB, 2TB SSD, Win 10 Pro / Focusrite Red 8Pre / Protools HD Native 2018.10 Ultimate
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-21-2019, 03:13 PM
LDS LDS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 599
Default Re: Sample accurate digilink interfaces in 2019?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JCBigler View Post
What does sample accurate mean?
HD Native & HDX have preconfigured delay compensation for Digidesign and HD I/O interfaces. When you throw an analogue insert into a mix, the resulting audio should still be sample accurate so that it doesn't cause phase issues with the rest of the mix - think parallel compression with a hardware compressor.

Lynx, for example, mimicked the roundtrip AD/DA latency of the Digidesign 192 with their Aurora's. So it was literally a drop-in replacement for 192's or HD I/Os.
__________________
littledevilstudios.com.au

Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.12. OSX 10.13.6. HDX. Avid Omni. Mac Pro 5,1 12x 3.33Ghz. 64Gb. 4x mSata SSD Drives + 4x HDD. Blackmagic Intensity PCIe. ATI Radeon HD5770.

Free Lexicon 224XL Impulse Responses
Free Sony DPS-V77 Impulse Responses
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-21-2019, 03:26 PM
JCBigler's Avatar
JCBigler JCBigler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,687
Default Re: Sample accurate digilink interfaces in 2019?

So what makes them sample accurate and how do you know if they are?

The Focusrite Red4/8Pre and 16 Line interfaces have a Loop Sync port, in addition to their word clock.
__________________
Justice C. Bigler
www.justicebigler.com

Home/mobile: Lenovo P50: quad-core i7-6820hq, 64GB, 2TB SSD, Win 10 Pro / Focusrite Red 8Pre / Protools HD Native 2018.10 Ultimate
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-21-2019, 03:29 PM
Mixchump Mixchump is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 346
Default Re: Sample accurate digilink interfaces in 2019?

I'm running a Merging HORUS interface, and it has many io options, including AES, MADI, and of course Analogue AD/DA. When connected via DigiLink, you can tell it to emulate either HD-Madi, HD-io, or 192-io, which will show up in ProTools as the intended device, and also emulate sample-accurate io delays as well.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-21-2019, 04:32 PM
LDS LDS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 599
Default Re: Sample accurate digilink interfaces in 2019?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JCBigler View Post
So what makes them sample accurate and how do you know if they are?

The Focusrite Red4/8Pre and 16 Line interfaces have a Loop Sync port, in addition to their word clock.
It isn't really associated with loop sync or word clock. Every interface has an internal latency associated with the AD/DA conversion stages themselves. If that latency in an Avid HD I/O is 17 samples, Pro Tools will automatically compensate for it just like it does for plugin latencies. Lynx made sure their Aurora had that same 17 samples of latency so that Pro Tools treated it no differently.

If a digilink interface has an internal latency of 40 samples, then the audio that returns from your analogue insert will be 23 samples late (40-17=23). You can get it more accurate by fiddling with the I/O offset menu, but even then I think you are limited to an accurate of +/-3 samples because it uses a tenth of a millisecond as the smallest value. I don't actually have any idea what the latency of each device is, so take the figures with a grain of salt. They are just an example of how Pro Tools compensates for latency.

Other DAWs use a ping feature to quickly obtain sample accurate inserts. Pro Tools doesn't... finding a digilink interface that mimics the internal latency of an Avid interface is the quickest way to deal with it. I assume you can test your interface by doing the I/O Offset measurement outlined in the Pro Tools manual. If you are running a HD rig, a result of 0 samples would probably mean you have an interface that is sample accurate to HD I/O (or whatever the device is that appears in your hardware settings).
__________________
littledevilstudios.com.au

Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.12. OSX 10.13.6. HDX. Avid Omni. Mac Pro 5,1 12x 3.33Ghz. 64Gb. 4x mSata SSD Drives + 4x HDD. Blackmagic Intensity PCIe. ATI Radeon HD5770.

Free Lexicon 224XL Impulse Responses
Free Sony DPS-V77 Impulse Responses
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-21-2019, 04:38 PM
LDS LDS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 599
Default Re: Sample accurate digilink interfaces in 2019?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mixchump View Post
I'm running a Merging HORUS interface, and it has many io options, including AES, MADI, and of course Analogue AD/DA. When connected via DigiLink, you can tell it to emulate either HD-Madi, HD-io, or 192-io, which will show up in ProTools as the intended device, and also emulate sample-accurate io delays as well.

Jeepers! That is the way to do it, and great to know.
__________________
littledevilstudios.com.au

Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.12. OSX 10.13.6. HDX. Avid Omni. Mac Pro 5,1 12x 3.33Ghz. 64Gb. 4x mSata SSD Drives + 4x HDD. Blackmagic Intensity PCIe. ATI Radeon HD5770.

Free Lexicon 224XL Impulse Responses
Free Sony DPS-V77 Impulse Responses
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-22-2019, 05:52 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 15,947
Default Re: Sample accurate digilink interfaces in 2019?

It's just a matter of knowing how many samples to compensate (i/o setup); for example, Apogee manuals have charts available -- but sure, it would be easier if someone else did it for you
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-22-2019, 03:53 PM
LDS LDS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 599
Default Re: Sample accurate digilink interfaces in 2019?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
It's just a matter of knowing how many samples to compensate (i/o setup); for example, Apogee manuals have charts available -- but sure, it would be easier if someone else did it for you

Sure, but that is the equivalent of turning my $6000 HDX system into a $100 Coreaudio interface. Pro Tools HDX by design takes care of it automatically. I just want to know what third party digilink interfaces and their manufacturers have the foresight to maintain the integrity of HDX, in this regard.

The I/O Offset menu was truly sucky in 2010. It's even worse in 2019. I just don't want to have to deal with millisecond offsets and their ever so slightly less-than-perfect maths on an expensive DAW... particularly when DAWs like Reaper, Cubase and Ableton Live can all deal with it quickly and efficiently.

I haven't used Apogee interfaces since the 16X series. I know you needed to enter manual offsets then. Is it still the case with the Symphony and Symphony MKII?
__________________
littledevilstudios.com.au

Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.12. OSX 10.13.6. HDX. Avid Omni. Mac Pro 5,1 12x 3.33Ghz. 64Gb. 4x mSata SSD Drives + 4x HDD. Blackmagic Intensity PCIe. ATI Radeon HD5770.

Free Lexicon 224XL Impulse Responses
Free Sony DPS-V77 Impulse Responses
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-22-2019, 04:33 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,583
Default Re: Sample accurate digilink interfaces in 2019?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
It's just a matter of knowing how many samples to compensate (i/o setup);
msecs vs being compensated by samples
(and having that compensation being correct when changing session sample rates.)

Not the same thing.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.5, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Interfaces under Inputs say DigiLink N/A. What's going on? [solved] Focuret Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 0 03-17-2018 10:23 AM
List of third-party Digilink interfaces? Matt Hepworth Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 12 07-20-2017 09:45 AM
Sample accurate recording derekvh Post - Surround - Video 2 02-03-2014 08:55 PM
AC3, is it Sample Accurate? minister Post - Surround - Video 13 03-13-2007 10:57 AM
Sample accurate midi? Dopamine 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 02-09-2005 11:48 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:14 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com