Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-01-2020, 10:33 AM
teacherman teacherman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 428
Default Freeze'd audio files??

When I "commit" a track, there is a new file added to the session's Audio folder with a .cm.wav extension.

But, when I "freeze" a track, I don't see any new audio files in the session's Audio folder.

Is this correct? If so, where does the "freezed" audio file get stored?

thanks,
__________________
27" iMac; 32gigRam; OSX Catalina 10.15.2; PT 2019.12.0; Apollo x8p; UAD-2-Satellite-TB3-Octo;
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-01-2020, 11:10 AM
daeron80 daeron80 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 3,733
Default Re: Freeze'd audio files??

Quote:
Originally Posted by teacherman View Post
When I "commit" a track, there is a new file added to the session's Audio folder with a .cm.wav extension.

But, when I "freeze" a track, I don't see any new audio files in the session's Audio folder.

Is this correct? If so, where does the "freezed" audio file get stored?

thanks,
Yes, it is correct. They're in Rendered Files. Temporary files generated by freezing are placed there with -FZ appended to the filename. These files should disappear when you unfreeze a track, or more likely when you close a session after unfreezing.
__________________
David J. Finnamore

Nyquist was right.

PT 2020.11.0 Ultimate | Omni | macOS Mojave
PT 2020.9.1 | Saffire Pro 40 | Win10
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-02-2020, 11:36 AM
lesbrunn's Avatar
lesbrunn lesbrunn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Accra, Ghana
Posts: 789
Default Re: Freeze'd audio files??

Hey teacherman.

Committing is like bouncing, while freezing is more like a temporary measure to help you continue working with less CPU usage, especially if you are using lots of hungry plugins. When you are certain you are done with a track you can then commit it. (But I always de-activate and keep the original tracks in case I need to go back to them). Frozen tracks on the other hand are maybe unfinished, and can easily be unfrozen and re-tweaked. On very large mixes the tracks that don't need much plugin 'tweakage' can be frozen to conserve CPU, and unfrozen when the need arises.

The ability to freeze tracks is IMO the most powerful innovation that has happened to PT in a very long time.
__________________
X99 | i7 5960x @4.6GHz | 64GB GSkill DDR4 | Nvidia GTX 950 | Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 256GB | Samsung SM961 NVMe 1TB | Samsung 850 EVO 1TB | Samsung MZ7PD256 SSD 256GB | Kingston 120GB SSD | WD Black 1TB x2 | G-Drive 4TB x2 | WD Elements 4TB | Audient ID14 | PT2020.11 | Windows 10 Pro
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rendered freeze files in Pro Tools 12.6 LSinBTonez Pro Tools 12 11 02-04-2019 09:02 PM
Track freeze is adding 1 minute of audio to files lancemcv Pro Tools 12 2 02-23-2016 09:19 PM
Freeze Files....Are They Useless? Kon Alexiou 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 08-24-2007 09:42 PM
freeze when locating files in 5.1 drumixer Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 04-22-2004 03:02 PM
Freeze Scanning Program Files..PLEASE SOMEONE? dnev Digidesign Hardware & Software 3 10-28-2000 11:44 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:36 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com