Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-07-2012, 10:44 PM
smpkeys smpkeys is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 191
Default How to test actually latency (tracking, monitoring through PT)?

I've been reading threads all day trying to figure out how to determine the actual latency that my audio interface (s) are getting. (not just what the buffer say's).

I found a tool on the windows side, but nothing for mac:

http://www.centrance.com/products/ltu/

I've done lots of reading over at dawbench.com too, and found many charts and users reporting figures like "they are getting 1.5 ms at a 32 buffer, 2.88 at 64, etc.." - But I can't figure out how they find that. I've tried the loopback test at several buffer settings, but i get the same result (57 samples) at every buffer, so I'm not sure that's the correct way to find what I'm looking for.

I'm trying to determine what the 2 interfaces I have are getting on my system, so I know what to compare too as I try and find the best interface solution for me.

thanks!
__________________
2010 Mac Pro, 3.46 GHz 6 Core Xeon,32 GB RAM, OSX 10.9.5, PT 12.4, RME Fireface UFX, Command 8, Mytek 8x192, SSD evo on System,Audio&Samples on spinner drives WD SATA 64mb Cache
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-08-2012, 02:45 AM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,557
Default Re: How to test actually latency (tracking, monitoring through PT)?

All versions of PT will compensate for the input delay induced by the audio interface A/D conversion after a record pass. You'll have to bypass this by using an Aux in your loop back test. Follow this, but route back into an Aux track instead. Buss the Aux to an Audio track and record on that track. This will bypass the record compensation. Sessions at different sample rates will also yield different results. Here is a "general" latency chart by Avid. Take it with a grain of salt and do your own loop back benchmarks at different session sample rates with your hardware I/O.

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-08-2012, 11:48 AM
smpkeys smpkeys is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 191
Default Re: How to test actually latency (tracking, monitoring through PT)?

Thanks so much Shan! That's exactly what I needed.

I'm at 48 k on my test session, so I think to get the RT latency, I divide the number of samples of delay by 48, right?
__________________
2010 Mac Pro, 3.46 GHz 6 Core Xeon,32 GB RAM, OSX 10.9.5, PT 12.4, RME Fireface UFX, Command 8, Mytek 8x192, SSD evo on System,Audio&Samples on spinner drives WD SATA 64mb Cache
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-09-2012, 10:41 PM
smpkeys smpkeys is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 191
Default Re: How to test actually latency (tracking, monitoring through PT)?

bump
__________________
2010 Mac Pro, 3.46 GHz 6 Core Xeon,32 GB RAM, OSX 10.9.5, PT 12.4, RME Fireface UFX, Command 8, Mytek 8x192, SSD evo on System,Audio&Samples on spinner drives WD SATA 64mb Cache
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-10-2012, 02:47 AM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,557
Default Re: How to test actually latency (tracking, monitoring through PT)?

Do a loop back test of a printed click track and measure the result in samples in the Edit Window. You'll have the real latency doing that.

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-07-2018, 09:27 AM
chrismeraz chrismeraz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 354
Default Re: How to test actually latency (tracking, monitoring through PT)?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shan View Post
Do a loop back test of a printed click track and measure the result in samples in the Edit Window. You'll have the real latency doing that.

Shane
I did exactly that, but I'm reading 44ms. It's about ten times higher than I expected!

I'm using an Apollo Firewire on a Windows 10 machine with 64 samples of buffer at 96kHz. I was expecting latency around 5ms...
__________________
Windows 10
Apollo 8
Pro Tools Native
i7 8700K, 32GB RAM

Last edited by chrismeraz; 04-07-2018 at 10:14 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-07-2018, 09:38 AM
chrismeraz chrismeraz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 354
Default Re: How to test actually latency (tracking, monitoring through PT)?

Here's what my screen looks like with a loopback at the different sample rates and buffers. Weird, right?

Attached Images
File Type: jpg 44ms.jpg (81.5 KB, 0 views)
__________________
Windows 10
Apollo 8
Pro Tools Native
i7 8700K, 32GB RAM

Last edited by chrismeraz; 04-07-2018 at 10:24 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-07-2018, 11:54 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,738
Default Re: How to test actually latency (tracking, monitoring through PT)?

I need to try this....and see what happens.

I wish i had chartered all of my interfaces up till now
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-07-2018, 01:27 PM
chrismeraz chrismeraz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 354
Default Re: How to test actually latency (tracking, monitoring through PT)?

I found the problem. I had a UAD effect (EMT 140 Reverb) inserted elsewhere in this session. When I removed it, latency fell to around 4ms.

In other words, if I use any UAD plugins in Pro Tools, latency increases drastically. I can use only native plugins if I want to keep latency down. Is this normal behaviour?

Here's a screenshot.
  • First line is the recorded click
  • Second line is the loopback latency at 96k and 64 samples of buffer
  • Third line is the loopback latency after adding any UAD plugin anywhere in the session
You can see that the latency went from 4ms to 48ms.

Attached Images
File Type: jpg 44ms.jpg (31.8 KB, 0 views)
__________________
Windows 10
Apollo 8
Pro Tools Native
i7 8700K, 32GB RAM

Last edited by chrismeraz; 04-08-2018 at 05:21 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Monitoring with hardware reverb while tracking dry with 002 guitar131 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 08-01-2007 03:44 PM
Tracking latency 001 vs. 002, 003? marchhare 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 05-22-2007 01:05 PM
Post fader monitoring during tracking? Armando Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 04-19-2003 04:49 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:07 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com