Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > The Drum Room

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-27-2009, 01:35 PM
phoenixisland phoenixisland is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1
Default using BFD as sound for triggered drums?

Greetings,

I'm new to triggered drums.

I have ddrum triggers and alesis trigger i/o + protools and was wondering if I can use BFD as the sound module.

I've got it working with the signals but when i hit a drum BFD plays a drum beat (a part of one of the grooves no doubt) instead of just a single drum hit.

I'm not finding any docs on this and any info would be greatly appreciated.

also what other drum software will let me play my drums without the automated drum playing. All the products I've read about highlight how they basically play drum parts for your songs.

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-27-2009, 02:17 PM
77pro 77pro is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 818
Default Re: using BFD as sound for triggered drums?

Quote:
Originally Posted by phoenixisland View Post
Greetings,

I'm new to triggered drums.

I have ddrum triggers and alesis trigger i/o + protools and was wondering if I can use BFD as the sound module.

I've got it working with the signals but when i hit a drum BFD plays a drum beat (a part of one of the grooves no doubt) instead of just a single drum hit.

I'm not finding any docs on this and any info would be greatly appreciated.

also what other drum software will let me play my drums without the automated drum playing. All the products I've read about highlight how they basically play drum parts for your songs.

thanks
I'm using BFD2 with a Roland TD4 kit to track drums for a band right now. It works great once you set up a key-map for the kit.

There should be a preset for the alesis, if not just make one. Play a trigger,see what midi note it generates and map accordingly. You can clear all the pattern triggers, although they are usually seperate from the single hits.

There's some great vid's on the fxpansion website for mapping hihats etc.

We couldn't get the cymbals triggering as accurately as the drummer wanted as he plays a lot of intricate stuff...so I'm using real cymbals along with the v-drums.

Hats off to albee1952 for steering me in this direction
__________________
003r/i7-930/LE 8.0.1 cs2 on xp
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-27-2009, 08:13 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,633
Default Re: using BFD as sound for triggered drums?

Thanks for the props. The only problem I have with the cymbal triggers(really liking the new Alesis Surge cymbals BTW), I can't get ezdrummer or SD2 to play a choked cymbal. The solution is to play it regular and move the midi note to the choked note.(they work perfectly with the onboard Roland cymbals).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-28-2009, 07:06 PM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,490
Default Re: using BFD as sound for triggered drums?

Make sure that Pro Tools isn't set to filter out the poly and mono aftertouch... that's the default.

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can Strike be triggered with recorded drums? MLE Virtual Instruments 4 12-04-2012 09:45 AM
Connecting Triggered Drums to MBox2 PRo JORdanDrivE 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 02-01-2008 03:27 PM
Quantized Triggered Drums w/ Live overhead recording.. RyanUsesThis General Discussion 9 03-22-2007 04:34 PM
Can BFD Drums be triggered from a PT MIDI Track? DRLAudio Virtual Instruments 6 01-29-2007 09:13 AM
Triggered Drums / Sampler options tld Tips & Tricks 22 01-17-2001 07:09 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:55 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com