Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-29-2009, 07:30 AM
molecola molecola is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Italy
Posts: 22
Default PT8 Creative Collection custom install???

hi
i got PT8 on my winXP system and it works like a charm. i'm about to install onto my white macbook. i was considering if its worth doing a separate install of the creative collection VIs on my ext FW audio record drive cause its 7200 (macbook is 5400). so my question is: better leave the audio files alone on the record drive and leave the system drive struggling with both Leopard & PT AND eventually VIs? or maybe have a mess of recordings and samples from the audio drive without cluttering the slower system disk?
also: is creative collection only VIs? if not there's no question at all cause i want all of the plugins (stock or not) on my system drive together with PT.
thanx alot.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-29-2009, 07:32 AM
flommer flommer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 4,117
Default Re: PT8 Creative Collection custom install???

I think you might be able to move the content files after the installation, but the plugins themselves need to be on the System drive.
__________________
MacPro3ghz, 6GB, 10.7.5, PT10.3.2, Digi002 factory/toolkit2/PTIEP, 11R
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-29-2009, 07:36 AM
molecola molecola is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Italy
Posts: 22
Default Re: PT8 Creative Collection custom install???

i know they need to be on the system drive: thats just what i said. i dont wanna move anything after so thats why i would like to know exactly what the package actually installs when i check "creative collection".
thanx
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-30-2009, 09:09 AM
molecola molecola is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Italy
Posts: 22
Default Re: PT8 Creative Collection custom install???

i'm afraid my thread is not interesting at all. unfortunately as i already said my PT rig is rock solid at the moment so i can't annoy on the DUC with -9093 & friends. it happened that i just needed some info. better: some good advice.
next time i think i'll post some crazy mac vs. pc ranting hoping that will work...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-30-2009, 10:02 AM
flommer flommer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 4,117
Default Re: PT8 Creative Collection custom install???

Are you just looking for a list of the Creative Collection plugins?

http://www.digidesign.com/index.cfm?...9&itemid=35972

BFD is not part of the PT8 install, but all the other virtual instruments are.

All the items in the Effects area that begin with AIR are new

I think you are over-thinking the problem.. Install the plugs and then move the content to an external drive if you want.. When PT loads, all the plugins and most of the sample based content will load into memory, so the system drive is not used during operation... Just to get things loaded up. Some exceptions are plugins that use streaming samples, like BFD. I'm not entirely certain how the samplers load their sample content, but I don't think it is a streaming issue...
__________________
MacPro3ghz, 6GB, 10.7.5, PT10.3.2, Digi002 factory/toolkit2/PTIEP, 11R
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-01-2009, 06:06 AM
molecola molecola is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Italy
Posts: 22
Default Re: PT8 Creative Collection custom install???

maybe i'm over thinking. but i dont want the plugs to be elsewhere just the instruments which as you pointed out use streaming samples. these only are candidates to slow down the system in my opinion (and use lots of disk space: i got only 80GB in my internal drive).
if i install everything then move stuff on the external drive how can PT find the stuff i moved? how will it know where they are?
i dont like movin stuff around...
thanx
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-15-2010, 09:31 PM
mehrdadp mehrdadp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: California
Posts: 13
Default Re: PT8 Creative Collection custom install???

This is also my question. How can I move the "pro tools creative collectio" folder to the external drive? How would PTLE8 know where the new location is?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-15-2010, 09:34 PM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: PT8 Creative Collection custom install???

After relocating PTCC content, manually pointing to the content will appear next time you use a PTCC content dependent VI.
__________________
Aaron Mulqueen - 001 HD Native
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AIR creative collection - cannot install lanstrad macOS 13 03-12-2015 04:35 AM
Creative Collection Install error play4theworld 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 07-12-2011 06:44 AM
Install Creative Collection Only? DonM Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 08-07-2010 09:35 AM
creative collection will not install....why? James522 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 3 07-17-2010 07:01 AM
creative collection will not install....why? James522 Virtual Instruments 0 07-16-2010 05:06 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:52 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com