Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-09-2012, 02:59 AM
jrk87 jrk87 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Woodland Hills, CA
Posts: 1
Default Mbox 3 Pro Standalone Headphone Volume

I am using my Mbox 3 Pro in standalone mode. I have the headphone out of my laptop going into Inputs 1-2, then Outputs 1-2 are going to my power amp and speakers. The problem I am having is that both of the headphone outputs on the front of the Mbox are tied to the master volume, making it impossible for me to listen to anything through headphones without the monitors playing as well. Changing modes or outputs does not work. Both headphone outputs A & B mimic whatever is going out of inputs 1 and 2. Is there any way to fix this within the Mbox, or do I need to resort to doing something like turning off my monitors any time I want to listen through only headphones?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-01-2012, 12:04 PM
DJKeys's Avatar
DJKeys DJKeys is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 154
Default Re: Mbox 3 Pro Standalone Headphone Volume

You can change this in the MBox control panel. You can choose to have individual output pairs controlled by Master Volume.
__________________
iMAC 3.2GHz 6-core i7
250GB SSD (internal)
1TB SSD (external)
16GB RAM
OSX 10.14.5
PT 2019.6
Waves Gold/RenMaxx v10.1
iZotope Ozone 8
Focusrite Clarett 8Pre

Nord Stage 3
Nord Lead A1
DSI Mopho X4
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-01-2012, 12:38 PM
serio serio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SWFLA
Posts: 384
Default Re: Mbox 3 Pro Standalone Headphone Volume

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJKeys View Post
You can change this in the MBox control panel. You can choose to have individual output pairs controlled by Master Volume.
This is true for when the Mbox Pro is running as an interface. Stand alone mode is different. jrk, you will have to add extra hardware to be able to listen to the headphones without having your speakers playing as well.
Does the power amp not have a volume control? If it did you could keep the Mbox turned up and just use the amp's volume control to turn your speakers up and down. If not, any type of attenuation device post Mbox, pre monitor amp, can serve as your monitor control, letting you keep the Mbox level up so that you can control your headphone level while lowering the monitors with the attenuation device.
__________________
21.5" Mid-2011 iMac i5 QUAD 2.5GHZ 4G RAM ML 10.8.5--Pro Tools 10.3.9--Avid Mbox Pro / 003R--ICY DOCK MB664UEA-1S FW400 With: 500GB Samsung HD502HJ
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-01-2012, 07:03 PM
GregV GregV is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Posts: 405
Default Re: Mbox 3 Pro Standalone Headphone Volume

Not an ideal fix, but I've got a power strip on my desk so I can turn on and off certain things that I don't always need/use.
My monitor speakers are connected to that strip so that when I want headphones only, or I'm tracking with a mic, I can just hit the button and shut them both off.
Again, pretty low-tech, but it works for me.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Low headphone volume on mbox 3 pro gregpetre FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Mac) 3 11-27-2013 07:01 PM
Headphone b volume low....Mbox 3 Pro Mahkyb 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 09-29-2012 08:31 PM
Eleven Rack headphone port versus MBOX and other interface headphone ports World Spirit Eleven Rack 3 02-13-2012 12:34 AM
Low headphone volume MickFowler Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 10-20-2010 11:48 AM
Headphone/Monitor Volume on Mbox 2 Mini idylldon 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 03-01-2007 10:18 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:37 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com