Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-12-2014, 03:31 PM
propower propower is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 2,198
Default 12V power for HDN Thunderbolt box - when is it advisable?

When is the 12V power for this better to be done externally?

What is the actual draw on the 12V line?
__________________
2017 27" iMac 3.8GHz i5, 1TB SSD, MC Mix+Control
Logic ProX, Studio One V3, PT12.8 Orion Studio 2017, Zen Tour, Dangerous Source
Musician: http://www.ivanlee.net/
Design Engineer: http://www.propowerinc.com/resume.html
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-13-2014, 12:08 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 15,470
Default Re: 12V power for HDN Thunderbolt box - when is it advisable?

If you for some mysterious reason need to daisy-chain TB boxes and the chain is too long for HDN, then that power input works as a backup.

I have my HDN daisy-chained behind an Apple TB Display and it's just fine.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD native thunderbolt through Echo Express SE Thunderbolt Chassis hkj1 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 1 11-06-2013 06:49 PM
Until Someone Makes a Thunderbolt Hub, Thunderbolt is a (1/2 Useless) Dead End Street relaxo Pro Tools 10 7 11-12-2012 12:43 PM
Thunderbolt-Sonnet’s Echo™ Express PCIe 2.0 Expansion Chassis with Thunderbolt™ Ports Barry Johns Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 29 08-11-2012 08:01 AM
Would this UPS (Uninterrupted Power Supply) protect and power my gear? D_Japan Pro Tools Software (Mac) 4 07-24-2011 05:23 PM
002 rack power harness power suplly issue rockstah 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 12-07-2004 12:04 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:14 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com