Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Third Party Interfaces

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-04-2017, 08:36 AM
Popmeise's Avatar
Popmeise Popmeise is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Bingen, Germany
Posts: 19
Default What is loopback?

Hi,

I was searching in internet, googling and searching the threads. I really don't understand what loopback is. It's on my Steinberg ur22mk-Interface a key, I can choose. It is explained as two ways are going in one way and so on, but I didn't understand anything.

Can you give me a clear example, what loopback means?
__________________
Pro Tools 12.5.1
Win 10
Eleven Rack
Asio4All
M-Audio Oxygen 49 mk4
TLM 102
Gibson Classic Rock Marble
AKG K 271 MKII
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-04-2017, 11:25 AM
Popmeise's Avatar
Popmeise Popmeise is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Bingen, Germany
Posts: 19
Default Re: What is loopback?

Hey to all ,

I got it. I found this here. For all people who want to know what it is just the explanation:

Loopback activated: If I record something, I record the sounds on my Computer AND the sounds of the instruments over Interface.

For example: If I open a mp3-Song in my Computer and to the same time am singing in a mic, which is connected over interface to my Computer, then I can record both together in one file or track.
__________________
Pro Tools 12.5.1
Win 10
Eleven Rack
Asio4All
M-Audio Oxygen 49 mk4
TLM 102
Gibson Classic Rock Marble
AKG K 271 MKII
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-15-2017, 08:20 AM
panamajack's Avatar
panamajack panamajack is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Miniappleapolis
Posts: 710
Default Re: What is loopback?

Danke.
__________________
PT10.3.10HD(Tyan s2932 [8core Shanghai 2.7GHZ] 32GB,Win7 SP1); PT10HD(Tyan s2892 w/10GB, Win7 SP1);PT8HD(Dell 690 quad Xeon 3.0, 8GB, Win7,192 I/O, 96 I/O);MacBook Pro: 11R, Apogee Element 46, Focusrite 8PreX PT HD 11.3.2; Mac Pro 3.47 Hex 32GB, OSX 10.12.6/L10.4.2;L9.1.8, 2.64TB; G5 D2.3 4GB, 10.4.11/L8; 12c MP 2.66/32GB PT12.4; Structure, GigaGS3, Kontakt 5, Garratin, Sibelius 8.7+, Finale26,EMU,Vegas Pro 16-10/; RME HDSP9652,MOTU 2408 MKIII/1224/308, FX,Kurz,L5s,Strat,ASAT,JB,Zon
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-15-2017, 11:05 AM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 2,979
Default Re: What is loopback?

I found the user manual via google in seconds:
UR22mkII Operation Manual - Steinberg
…and it says:
Quote:
What is loopback?
Loopback is a convenient function for broadcasting over the Internet. It mixes the input audio signals (such as microphone and guitar) with the audio signals playing back in the software in the computer into two channels in the UR22mkII, and sends them back to the computer.

When using the loopback function, turn off the monitor functions on your DAW software. If the loopback function is on while you are monitoring input signals form the UR22mkII via DAW software, it will cause loud noise. This is because an infinite loop of the audio signal is generated between the UR22mkII and the DAW software.

Last edited by Ben Jenssen; 12-15-2017 at 11:08 AM. Reason: Link error
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-15-2017, 01:32 PM
64GTOBOY's Avatar
64GTOBOY 64GTOBOY is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Houston
Posts: 697
Default Re: What is loopback?

Another old tape op term.
__________________
Dell XPS 8900 i7-6700K CPU @ 4.00GHz 32 Gig Memory:Seagate 2 TB,1TB,4TB,500gb EVO OS Windows 7 Ultimate
PT 2019.6 Native through A&H Qu-32
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Loopback setup desol 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 04-20-2014 05:18 PM
AD-DA loopback shootout - anyone? Righty27 Eleven Rack 3 07-18-2012 11:37 AM
How to create loopback? Strawberry89 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 05-28-2011 08:27 AM
adat loopback uri 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 05-21-2003 11:28 AM
Midi Loopback For Xp? joncor 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 09-29-2002 05:12 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:47 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com