Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-03-2015, 03:52 PM
JoeLouis JoeLouis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 36
Default MBox Pro 3 or Focusrite Siffire Pro 26?

Hi, I'm buying a new Mac Mini i5 and Pro Tools 11/12. I'd like to get some advices about what interface to buy: MBox Pro 3 or Focusrite Siffire Pro 26?
Thanks in advance
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-03-2015, 04:21 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,104
Default Re: MBox Pro 3 or Focusrite Siffire Pro 26?

~$350 - $800 price range there.

People here can't really give you much help if they have no clue at all what you are doing with this hardware, or what you need in terms of analog and digital IO? What type of music/instruments you are recording, what other gear you have that it has to work with, etc.

I'd generally avoid any consumer interfaces from Avid. Just not great support.

Both these interfaces are fairly long on the tooth and it's not clear if they will even be in the market much longer.

Why not look at Thunderbolt interfaces?

There are multiple other threads asking for interface advice recently that you can also look at.

What hardware monitoring/mixing capabilities do you need? How many preamps? What digital inputs? Outputs? How many monitor outputs? How many headphone main outputs? How many headphone (or line out) separate cue mix outputs? What motioning control features do you want in the interface if any? Budget?

You do know the general advice to get an i7 for Pro Tools use right? You can option up that processor in the Mac Mini to an i7 when you order it... I would do that if you are going to be doing much with plugins. It's a real pity that Apple crippled the Mac Mini so much in this recent generation.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-03-2015, 07:17 PM
Seafoam_Green's Avatar
Seafoam_Green Seafoam_Green is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Bali - Indonesia
Posts: 788
Default Re: MBox Pro 3 or Focusrite Siffire Pro 26?

DO NOT by an Mbox 3 (or any other Avid interface) if your using Yosemite....,

and....., if you intend to use Native Instruments plugins that are capable of hardware utilisation as these rely on a BUGGY Avid CoreAudio Plugin which does not work correctly and will crash your pro Tools session

Some of these effected N.I apps include....,

- Guitar Rig
- Machine
- Tractor
- Remote Control , their keyboards etc ..., and more,

also not working is ; Audiofile TRIUMPH 2.5



Almost a year has passed and this BUG is still not fixed
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-03-2015, 08:16 PM
Eric Seaberg's Avatar
Eric Seaberg Eric Seaberg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,815
Default Re: MBox Pro 3 or Focusrite Siffire Pro 26?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeLouis View Post
Hi, I'm buying a new Mac Mini i5 and Pro Tools 11/12. I'd like to get some advices about what interface to buy: MBox Pro 3 or Focusrite Siffire Pro 26?
Thanks in advance
DO NOT BUY an i5!! ProTools will waste away and you won't be happy. Minimum requirements are an i7.

Regarding the comment to NOT buy an Avid interface if you're using Yosemite, I've been using a MBox 3 Pro for several years on a 2011 iMac i7 without any issue, and I'm running Mavericks and ProTools 12.

Your first priority it to spend more money on the Mini and get that i7 chip!!
__________________
Eric Seaberg • San Diego, CA
A.E.S., I.E.E.E., S.M.P.T.E., S.P.A.R.S.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Focusrite vs. MBox? danander11 General Discussion 3 09-14-2011 05:40 PM
MBox 3 or a Focusrite ISA One jimst57 General Discussion 3 01-25-2011 04:33 PM
using a focusrite isa 428 with mbox 2 bapadadadada 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 07-27-2006 03:32 PM
Focusrite Octopre / Mbox PRS4LIFE 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 08-07-2005 05:30 PM
Mbox through focusrite voicemaster?? I hate avril 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 05-27-2003 02:13 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:32 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com