Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-29-2014, 11:04 AM
Connie Scott Connie Scott is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 6
Default iLok License & PT 9

Hi, this is my first post here, but really trying to get things working on my system. A couple of years ago, I purchased the crossgrade for PT9 and loaded it onto my computer and did the iLok connect with it and such... had zero issues. Since, I deleted from that computer, but want to reload the software to a new computer and such.

Here is the issue... I get everything plugged into my computer - the digi, the ilok key, etc... I load the software, but the iLok key that is attached to this software only (and it shows on my Avid account) does not show the license on the iLok key, so it won't allow me to fully load the software now.

So, if anyone can give me suggestions on how to get that license back on my iLok key, I would be quite thankful.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-29-2014, 11:20 AM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,622
Default Re: iLok License & PT 9

Do you have the iLok License Manager installed? And you logged into your account and did a sync of the iLok correct?

What does it show?

Where did you buy the license? I only ask because there was a big dust up with iLok awhile back.

Do you have a receipt or anything? If you purchased from the Avid web store you should be able to call them and rectify it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-29-2014, 11:24 AM
Connie Scott Connie Scott is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 6
Default Re: iLok License & PT 9

Yes, iLok manager is installed. It has been a little while, but I did attempt the sync and had no results. I purchased the crossgrade through the Avid store.

I actually sent them an email (Avid) and they told me to come here...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-29-2014, 12:08 PM
Connie Scott Connie Scott is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 6
Default Re: iLok License & PT 9

So, I just updated the iLok manager, signed back into it, plugged my iLok key that is connected with my PT 9 and it shows zero licenses and when I did sync, it made no change. Any other thoughts....
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-29-2014, 12:12 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,720
Default Re: iLok License & PT 9

In the ILM do you see the PT9 license under the unactivated tab and if so, right click the PT license and choose activate then choose the ilok you have connected.

Chris
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-29-2014, 12:28 PM
Connie Scott Connie Scott is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 6
Default Re: iLok License & PT 9

Nope, there is nothing listed...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-29-2014, 02:04 PM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,622
Default Re: iLok License & PT 9

If you had the license on your iLok, when did you notice it was gone? I ask because licenses don't just disappear from an iLok unless they are removed or moved in the sync process..... unless maybe you have a damaged iLok.

Either way, no one here (users) can help you, this is something that Avid and iLok must be involved in.

It would be best to call them. Make sure you have your iLok user ID handy, your Avid Account details, and any info you have that proves you purchased the Upgrade.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-29-2014, 02:12 PM
Bruce Paine Bruce Paine is offline
Admin Emeritus
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Carmel, CA
Posts: 2,819
Default Re: iLok License & PT 9

Hi Connie, I will look into it and see what I can find.
__________________
Bruce Paine
System Details
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-29-2014, 02:51 PM
Connie Scott Connie Scott is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 6
Default Re: iLok License & PT 9

Bruce - thanks! I just went through the entire process again... Reinstalled PT9 (downloaded from my account at Avid), installed updated drivers, plugged in the iLok and attempted to load PT. First I go an error message stating that: system contains drive(s) formatted with NTFS, which have volume names longer than 11 characters...

Not sure where to find these files - any idea?

Then when it does try to launch, I get a message that says no iLok key found, but it is plugged in.

When I load the iLok Manager, I see the iLok key (both of the keys that I have). The one that is attached to the account, has no license on it. The other has the plug-in licenses that I've had.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-29-2014, 06:26 PM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,622
Default Re: iLok License & PT 9

Quote:
Originally Posted by Connie Scott View Post
Bruce - thanks! I just went through the entire process again... Reinstalled PT9 (downloaded from my account at Avid), installed updated drivers, plugged in the iLok and attempted to load PT. First I go an error message stating that: system contains drive(s) formatted with NTFS, which have volume names longer than 11 characters...

Not sure where to find these files - any idea?

Then when it does try to launch, I get a message that says no iLok key found, but it is plugged in.

When I load the iLok Manager, I see the iLok key (both of the keys that I have). The one that is attached to the account, has no license on it. The other has the plug-in licenses that I've had.
The 11 character error refers to the NAME you have for a hard drive.

Example drive R: (RECORDING DRIVE) that is too many characters, so I will right click the drive and re-name it to just (RECORDING). Keep in mind spaces count as a character.

If you have two iLoks are you certain that the license is not on the other key? You can plug both in at the same time and check.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
License problems with iLok License Manager musicman691 General Discussion 261 03-04-2015 11:05 AM
Will PT10/11 License Overwrite PT9 License On iLok? rmccam macOS 12 06-30-2013 11:53 AM
iLok License Manager - LICENSE TRANSFER ERROR MESSAGE jzacks524 General Discussion 6 06-26-2013 05:43 PM
ilok - Cannot download license: Pro Tools 10+9 Bundle requires surrender of license soukotta Pro Tools 10 10 09-25-2012 07:22 AM
NO iLok License Card with GSM format license chip willy wonka 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 04-19-2007 10:26 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:04 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com