Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Eleven Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-01-2012, 01:43 AM
starplayertv starplayertv is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 5
Default Recording acoustic guitar with 11R

Hi,

in my situation i cannot mic up my acoustic, only line in is available. I tried to bypass the amp on the presets to record, only compressor and reverb is on. however the acoustic recorded is blurry not so defined sounding. Any tips you guys can advise me on that? thanks x100000000.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-01-2012, 02:23 AM
madgt621 madgt621 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Current: Ikebukuro, Tokyo, Hails from: San Francisco
Posts: 486
Default Re: Recording acoustic guitar with 11R

did you bypass the cabinet as well?
__________________
Macbook Pro OSX 10.6.8, 2.53 GHz Core 2 Duo, 8 GB RAM
Pro Tools 10.0.0
Ableton Live 8.2.1
RME Fireface 800
Eleven Rack
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-01-2012, 07:50 AM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,775
Default Re: Recording acoustic guitar with 11R

Yes, you should actually bypass everything and don't record with the compressor or reverb either. If you want this to sound natural, your best bet is to record it dry.

Then, during mixing, you can add whatever effects you want. If you record with reverb, it may not be the best mix by the time it sits with everything else, but you'd be stuck with it. Better to add it afterwards.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-01-2012, 09:59 AM
starplayertv starplayertv is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 5
Default Re: Recording acoustic guitar with 11R

Cool I'll try again tomorrow! thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-01-2012, 03:30 PM
dawnsman1 dawnsman1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 153
Default Re: Recording acoustic guitar with 11R

You can sort of build a warm acoustic amp if you tinker with an old fender amp model and bypass the cab. I found this works really nice for my Taylor T5 at least.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-03-2012, 08:23 AM
PatriotsBiker PatriotsBiker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Mid-Atlantic
Posts: 832
Default Re: Recording acoustic guitar with 11R

I would love to have some dedicated acoustic processing (acoustic amp, etc) in a future release. I don't have a good live room, so I do my acoustics through the pickup (piezo types) in through a sansamp direct input. I guess it's good enough. I could probably get better with more practice and experimentation.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
recording acoustic guitar Bender 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 18 10-01-2010 09:07 AM
recording acoustic guitar xtratorque 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 09-16-2010 12:36 AM
recording acoustic guitar Avianer Tips & Tricks 8 03-17-2008 02:06 PM
Recording acoustic guitar sykobilly65 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 5 08-12-2006 12:03 PM
Recording acoustic guitar lonestarparis 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 32 07-27-2004 01:13 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:18 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com