Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-09-2010, 07:49 AM
skabuddah skabuddah is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Florida keys
Posts: 16
Default Memory increase

I have I mac 2.66 intel duo core OS X 10.5.8 4 gig ram PT LE 8.0.3cs1 oo3 rack factory + glyph external drive I am thinking of adding more memory Will I see any improvment in in elimiminating hardware buffer slow ups also will it allow me to run more tracks if I add the music production pack Thanks for any suggestions
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-09-2010, 01:40 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,697
Default Re: Memory increase

I thought the iMac topped out at 4gb of RAM? How do you have the 003 and Glyph patched in?
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-09-2010, 06:54 PM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,775
Default Re: Memory increase

Macsales.com is offering ram configurations for more than what was thought possible on some of the older Imacs. According to the site, on his Imac he can install 2 4gb modules, for 8 gigs.


However, I don't think more memory is going to help with your particular problems. It's likely to help with VI's and more plugins.

Can you tell us what your limitations are and what's happening? I've got an older, slower Imac and I can do quite a bit with it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-10-2010, 05:26 AM
skabuddah skabuddah is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Florida keys
Posts: 16
Default Re: Memory increase

Thank you for reply I am doing well no real problems as I only use plugins that are 100% compatible sometimes I go a little too fast when editing so I get some error messages telling me hardware buffer is not responding but knock on wood my system is doing well I am currently doing a new album with Paul Cotton from POCO so we are not using much vi just a ton of audio tracks. I wanted to buy the upgrade for more tracks and was wondering if I go from 4 gig to 8 gig would it help when I run a larger track count ? as for set up Imac Glyph 003 rack my out board synths are all on audio tracks and so far I have been able to track 24 bit 48 with playback set to 64
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-10-2010, 07:05 AM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,775
Default Re: Memory increase

As far as I know, more ram won't really make a difference on track count. I think that's more about processor speed, which you can't change. But with ram being so cheap these days, I would still do it. It can only help, not harm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AAE's memory is running low. Please try to increase AAE's preferred size ? Scruffy1012 Getting Started 20 08-17-2013 04:53 AM
Question about memory increase. Greene Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 01-25-2008 12:28 PM
Playback Engine - how do you increase system memory? dopplah Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 2 08-24-2007 02:25 PM
Why can't you increase the system memory? Bobby Peru Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 01-16-2006 12:36 PM
Increase memory allocation Critical Bill 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 01-16-2004 09:45 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:17 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com