Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > ProControl, Control|24, Command|8

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-27-2004, 04:34 AM
Jsalam112 Jsalam112 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Bucks County, PA
Posts: 313
Default 002 compared to Command8

002 is firewire and the Command8 is USB. Both have MIDI and are portable.

I own a 002 for my LE system. I like everything about it with the exception of it lacking a talkback function.
I also use it in satndalone mode frequently with my HD3 Accel system when it's at home. At that point it's a little frustrating because I find myself reaching for faders, buttons and knobs that do not control the system. It's basically my volume control.

The Command8 would appear to rectify this in it's ability to run LE and TDM systems. It also has a talkback function and looks a little more like my Control 24 (in some respects). Downside...no mic pres or line ins.

I can rig a talkback system for the 002 and I can bring mic pres for the Command8.
They both have an upside and a down side. I have to weigh those out.

My question(s):
- Is USB fast enough to handle TDM comfortably?
- Is USB better, worse, the same as firewire in this application?
- Is owning both in order to handle LE and/or TDM along with portability a little on the overkill side?
- Does selling the 002 in order to purchase the Command8 make more sense.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-02-2004, 01:07 PM
silverlode silverlode is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 347
Default Re: 002 compared to Command8

I have never used an 002 or a Command|8, but I know that the USB/Firewire comparison is meaningless. The 002 (and 002r) use Firewire because they need the bandwidth for audio and MIDI i/o. The Command|8 only sends and receives MIDI, so USB provides more than enough throughput. So the Command|8 USB doens't "handle TDM" or LE for that matter. All it needs to do is send and receive fader and pan positions, etc. It works the same for TDM as for LE. It's just a control surface, not an audio interface for your computer. The 002 is both.

Sorry if that's worded strangely...does it make sense?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-14-2004, 10:28 AM
theMeanTeam theMeanTeam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: LSU - Baton Rouge, La
Posts: 29
Default Re: 002 compared to Command8

Yeah, the 002 and command|8 are totally different beasts. the command|8 is only supposed to be the 'physical' control surface for the rackmount 002 which has no faders and whatnot. Thats why its usb, is because all it passes back and forth is the info about the position of the faders on the board.

002 rack + command|8 = 002
__________________
*/
Build a man a fire and he'll be warm for a day.
Set a man on fire, and he'll be warm for the rest of his life.
/*
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-15-2004, 02:08 AM
norm14 norm14 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 18
Default Re: 002 compared to Command8

I want to know as well...so which one is the best choice for now? why?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-14-2004, 07:34 AM
Jsalam112 Jsalam112 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Bucks County, PA
Posts: 313
Default Re: 002 compared to Command8

So I understand...
The 002 has 4 mic and 4 line inputs but it does not have a talk back.
The Command 8 has a talkback but no audio inputs.

Is it then even possible to use only the Command 8 to control Pro Tools LE?
Where do you get the audio inputs?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-14-2004, 10:50 PM
cabuford cabuford is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 151
Default Re: 002 compared to Command8

The command8 is something you buy in ADDITION to an LE system. Your audio will come from your 001, 002, 002R or MBox.
__________________
QS G4 Powerlogix Dual 1.6Ghz 1.5GB RAM
Digi001 10.3.9 PT 6.4
Powerbook 1.5GHz 1.25GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-17-2004, 04:28 AM
macr0w macr0w is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Charlotte N.C.
Posts: 1,449
Default Re: 002 compared to Command8

Quote:

The Command 8 has a talkback but no audio inputs.


The C/8 has no talkback built in. Only monitor output.
__________________
Intel I7 920
Asus P6T
Digi 002R.
Command/8
PTLE 7.1 MPT
www.clearspotrecording.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-18-2004, 06:51 AM
Jsalam112 Jsalam112 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Bucks County, PA
Posts: 313
Default Re: 002 compared to Command8




[/QUOTE]
The C/8 has no talkback built in. Only monitor output.

[/QUOTE]

So the C8 has no audio inputs nor does it have a talkback.

I have a 002 and a Control 24. Initially, the C8 looked as if it took the footprint from the 002 and some of it's function from the C24. Maybe I was just hoping.
If Digi made an 8 channel control surface that controlled LE and TDM with some of the C24 button functions, talkback, MIDI and mic/line inputs...I would have to have one.
No...don't tell me it's a Pro Control. I'm suggesting another step forward for the 002. How big of a step could it be on Digi's part?
The HUI is very functional and has a talkback built in.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-15-2004, 03:05 AM
CroqueMadame CroqueMadame is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Paris
Posts: 48
Default Re: 002 compared to Command8

Quote:
...
The Command8 would appear to rectify this in it's ability to run LE and TDM systems.
I find the command 8 quite snappy with PT LE (I use the 002r). It doesn't insert plug-ins (it controls only already asigned insert plug) nor perform automation control.
I chose this control going for total compatibility with latest PT soft. A future firmware update may improve that or may not.

__________________
Help, this is hopefull
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-18-2004, 11:04 AM
silverlode silverlode is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 347
Default Re: 002 compared to Command8

Quote:
It doesn't insert plug-ins (it controls only already asigned insert plug) nor perform automation control.
Is this true? I find it hard to believe that the C|8 can't record automation.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MDW V3.0 compared to V2... acacia Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 09-29-2008 05:47 PM
10.4.2 as compared to 10.4.9 Muzoid Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 05-29-2007 04:20 AM
PT LE COMPARED TO... mykhal c 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 01-10-2007 09:29 PM
002 compared to Command8 Jsalam112 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 05-27-2004 04:35 AM
888 compared to 192 sukks2bu Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 04-01-2004 01:24 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:51 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com