Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-03-2005, 04:32 PM
the_dr38 the_dr38 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 480
Default P,Q codes.

Does anyone know of a relatively cheap programme that can generate P,Q codes? Does such software exist? I am assuming this is something you can't do in PT LE??? Thanks for any suggestions.

L.Dudley
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-03-2005, 05:19 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: P,Q codes.

PQ codes tell a CD player where each track and sub-index starts and stops, and are accurate to the CD frame, which is 1/75th of a second. This information is stored in the P and Q bits of the CD word. Since Pro Tools doesn't have any CD writing capabilities, it definitely would not have the capability to generate PQ Codes.

Quote:
Does such software exist?
No, mastering engineers usually rely on black magic and voodoo to do their work.

Sorry for the sarcasm, but seriously, that's a silly question.

A google search for PQ Codes will put you in the right direction. Common programs such as Wavelab, CD Architect, et al will all do what you are looking to do.

I definitely would recommend a professional mastering engineer, though.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-03-2005, 05:57 PM
the_dr38 the_dr38 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 480
Default Re: P,Q codes.

Yeah, just starting to experiment with mastering. I have a reasonable understaning of what they are, just never used them. My reason for wondering about software is that I just assumed there would be some old reliable piece of trusty hardware that did the job better??? Thanks for the advice about using Google though.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-03-2005, 05:57 PM
the_dr38 the_dr38 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 480
Default Re: P,Q codes.

Yeah, just starting to experiment with mastering. I have a reasonable understaning of what they are, just never used them. My reason for wondering about software is that I just assumed there would be some old reliable piece of trusty hardware that did the job better??? Thanks for the advice about using Google though.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-03-2005, 06:00 PM
the_dr38 the_dr38 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 480
Default Re: P,Q codes.

PS no offence but how is that a silly question to someone that doesn't know the answer? People can't just assume things. Don't mean to be too obnoxious.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-04-2005, 12:01 AM
aliengroover aliengroover is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 289
Default Re: P,Q codes.

I believe the question was, "is there a cheap program that allows you to do PQ codes?" not, "is there a program that allows you to do PQ codes?" Correct me if I'm wrong. Nonetheless...

If you need to split a long recording into tracks (e.g. a live recording or DJ mix), then the cheapest way in is Audacity. It's free, to boot. I used it to prep an album I didn't have time to babysit whilst it was recording. It's fairly easy, though not as easy as CD Architect or Wavelab. I was very pleased with the results. It did what I needed.
Peace
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
where are codes? Fabulous Getting Started 2 10-16-2013 05:56 AM
Authorization codes bilug 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 03-11-2012 12:43 AM
Error codes shultzee13 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 2 06-13-2009 08:20 PM
cd pq codes ModaRecords Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 06-01-2005 09:54 AM
ISRC codes poppy Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 04-06-2004 12:07 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:55 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com