Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Eleven Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-23-2014, 09:49 AM
RogerWilco RogerWilco is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: CT
Posts: 9
Default Working Mac 11R SPDIF config?

Spent last two days trying to get 11R with SPDIF to work...

Can someone please post their versions and drivers for a working SPDIF 11 Rack setup in PT on a Mac?

On a Mac Mini 8GB, 2 drives I've tried:

Clean install of Mountain Lion 10.8.5
PT 11.0.2 & 11.1.2
003 Console - 11.0.0 & 11.1.0
11R - 1.1.1 & 1.2.0

-AND-

Clean install of Mavericks 10.9.1
PT 11.1.2
003 Console - 11.1.0
11R - 1.2.0

Not matter what combination I've tried of the above I cannot get the 11R as audio input to my session.

I know the clock and SPDIF are working between the 003 & 11R, I can change sample rate on 003 and I can see it updates on the 11R.

I'm about ready to give up on the 11R and go back to Amplitude plug-ins.

Would love to hear of anyone that has a working Mac SPDIF config. with the 11R out there.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-23-2014, 02:44 PM
DAR Fritz DAR Fritz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 130
Default Re: Working Mac 11R SPDIF config?

Sorry to hear your SPDIF isn't working.

I'm running my 11r (driver 1.2.0) SPDIF out to my Focusrite Pro40 SPDIF in to my MacOS 10.9.1 via Firewire with no problems other than having to toggle my clock setting now and then from SPDIF to internal in my Saffire Pro40 software. Not sure if you can change your clock setting back and forth somewhere in your setup but if you can give it a try.

Also, I use Logic ProX and my channel inputs are 9&10 for SPDIF. You might see if it shows up in ProTools on channel 9&10 inputs too. Or maybe enable some other inputs.

Hope this helps!
__________________
MacMini with 16GB ram
Mac OS X 10.10.5
Logic Pro X
Seagate 500GB GoFlex Pro 7200rpm Firewire 800 Ultra Portable Drive
Audient iD22 and Focusrite Pro 40 Interfaces
Focusrite Red 3 compressor
Lexicon 300
Digidesign Eleven Rack
Waves Gold Bundle • CLA Classic Compressors • Slate FG-X, VBC, VCC, VTM
Slate Trigger EX • Superior Drummer 2.0
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-23-2014, 03:47 PM
junkgear's Avatar
junkgear junkgear is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,220
Default Re: Working Mac 11R SPDIF config?

11R S/PDIF works fine for me.
Most of my setup (OS and driver versions) are the same. Only difference is that I'm using a Presonus Firestudio interface as the master.

Mavericks 10.9.1
PT 11.1.2
Presonus Firestudio Project
11R - 1.2.0
__________________
Will K

System Details
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-24-2014, 06:53 PM
NoiseRoom NoiseRoom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: San Mateo, CA
Posts: 132
Default Re: Working Mac 11R SPDIF config?

After updating to PT 11.1.2 my SPDIF wasn't working either. I eventually did a clean install of everything (OS, Pro Tools, Drivers) and still had the problem. I finally started playing with my I/O settings and noticed that the SPIDIF weren't showing up properly. I defaulted everything in the I/O then made sure all paths we active and got it to work. You might want to look in that direction.

Also, here was the thread I posted last week with my problem:

http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=351255

Good luck!
__________________
the noise room

twitter: @thenoiseroom
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-01-2014, 06:40 PM
RogerWilco RogerWilco is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: CT
Posts: 9
Default Re: Working Mac 11R SPDIF config?

I'm pleased to be able to post that I now have a working 003 Console, 11 Rack via SPDIF setup.

My key issue turned out to be the SPDIF cables - I have bought new ones thinking (assuming) I was set, but turned out they were the source of my problem.

My working setup is (all clean installed, fresh format)
OS X 10.9.2 (updated Mavericks)
Pro Tools 11.1.2
OO3 Console driver 11.1.0
11 Rack driver 1.2.0

Key lessons:
1) BEFORE loading PT make sure SPDIF is working between the 003 & 11R; Install drivers for 003, repair permissions, reboot, do the same for the 11R. 003 Console should be set to internal, ADAT, 48k (or what you want) - 11R set to SPDIF and must show valid external clock / connected device. A change to the clock speed on the 003 must be reflected on the 11R.

2) I had to go back to basics a couple of times...unplugged everything from computer, console and rack and tested things for basic functionality, before moving on.

3) Install order / steps used:
- Clean OS X, updated via App store
- Do PT Mac optimizations, includes install of iLok driver / interface
- Install 003 driver, repair permissions, reboot
- Install 11R driver, repair permissions, reboot
- Make sure SPDIF is connected (see #1 above)
- Install PT 11.1.2, repair permissions, reboot
- Do 003 test session, 003 as playback engine, default I/Os, buses, etc - test record audio input, save, close reboot
- Do 11R test session, 11R as playback engine, default I/Os to the 11R etc confirm ability to record, save close reboot.
- New session, set 003 back playback engine, I/Os defaults, test SPDIF stereo input (11R set to digital split output: left wet, right dry). Good to go!

I have not loaded the 11R editor yet, but not concerned - its never been an issue in the numerous tries I made to get here.

I know I'm probably late to the game here with this setup but figured I share my experience since I find the ability to read and learn from other's posts here invaluable. Thanks to all to posted and helped my directly or indirectly.

Cheers!
Roger
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-16-2014, 06:16 PM
HackersDna HackersDna is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 9
Default Re: Working Mac 11R SPDIF config?

Thanks for the input Roger. I to am just running this setup and yes the problems came right along with it, hence how i found your post. Mines a little different though. I had to set my 003 to SPDIF and my 11R to internal. With out this setting the SYNC light on the 003 would never light up nor was i ever getting an option for SPDIF in PT. Wonder why?? I followed your layout to the letter "Drivers etc:" but had no luck. It was by accident that i tried what i did.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SPDIF (OPT) IN NOT WORKING!!! studiouniverse26 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 04-10-2003 04:17 PM
Working Config.... limelight409 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 10-18-2001 01:13 AM
My New Working Config...Thanks for the Help. Canteenboy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 03-06-2001 07:32 PM
Working config. help Dolly 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 03-02-2001 09:45 AM
What working Config. are You running? simnimbus 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 30 02-27-2001 09:59 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:08 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com