Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-23-2019, 07:30 AM
Soliloquay Soliloquay is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: New York
Posts: 112
Default upgrading 002 preamplifiers

Does anyone know where to get 002 preamps. changed out in New york?


I am in New York.



Thanks
__________________
Soliloquay
  #2  
Old 05-23-2019, 12:17 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,015
Default Re: upgrading 002 preamplifiers

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soliloquay View Post
Does anyone know where to get 002 preamps. changed out in New york?

I am in New York.

Thanks

Black Lion Audio was the only place I ever knew advertising an upgrade service for the 002 and other interfaces.
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Sierra 10.12.6.

Pro Tools HD 2018.12, Focusrite Red 8Pre, Mbox 3 (Mac)
Pro Tools 11.3.2, Mbox2 (Win 7)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
  #3  
Old 05-23-2019, 02:14 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,589
Default Re: upgrading 002 preamplifiers

Indeed, if you HAVE an 002, I would use the lightpipe input with any of several 8-channel preamps available. On the cheap side of things, the Behringer ADA8200 is great bang for the buck(talking about the red one, not the older ADA8000). Focusrite OctoPre is a mid-priced option(but having used both, I'd still take the Behringer). At the top of the price range, the Focusrite ISA428 or 828 with the optional digital card is really nice(but its a lot of money).

You can also use the LINE inputs with most any external preamp(I ran a lunchbox of 4 here and it worked great). As said, if you are shopping, or have a broken 002, the price of repair is likely not worth it(when you can buy a used 003 for $100).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
  #4  
Old 05-23-2019, 02:23 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 12,944
Default Re: upgrading 002 preamplifiers

I hear the Grace Design m108 kicks ass as an ADAT preamp... (if you like that Grace Design super-clean preamp thang).
  #5  
Old 05-23-2019, 05:39 PM
Soliloquay Soliloquay is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: New York
Posts: 112
Default Re: upgrading 002 preamplifiers

Quote:
Originally Posted by Top Jimmy View Post
Black Lion Audio was the only place I ever knew advertising an upgrade service for the 002 and other interfaces.

Thanks for your answer they might not be doing it anymore but thanks anyway. I will look into it.
__________________
Soliloquay
  #6  
Old 05-23-2019, 05:50 PM
Soliloquay Soliloquay is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: New York
Posts: 112
Default Re: upgrading 002 preamplifiers

I Just checked they are doing it.


That was easy now a lot of people know that this kind of upgrade exists and it is up to them if they think its worthwhile or not.




Thanks
Knowledge is power!
__________________
Soliloquay
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading from pt9 to pt11 and upgrading macbook pro daylomusic Pro Tools 11 0 12-20-2013 02:35 PM
Upgrading interface without upgrading software? michaelkevin 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 09-16-2008 09:37 PM
MBOX and external Microphone Preamplifiers V Mingle 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 14 03-15-2006 07:04 PM
Will upgrading OSX necessitate upgrading ProTools? OBwan50 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 02-27-2006 01:24 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:59 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com