Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 11-25-2014, 06:03 PM

Default Clipping master fader

I know it has been discussed a lot before, but anyways... I'm on PT HD Native w/ PT 10 HD (not tested this on 11 HD yet).
All my mix's tracks and auxes go to a mix bus (aux stereo input set to 0), where I have a few master plugs, and this bus's level is not clipping.
Then I route this bus to a stereo track (I usually don't BTD), and the level on this stereo track is exactly the same (obviously) as the mix bus, so again no clipping.
Of course I have nothing on the master nor the audio track.
BUT.. my master fader is clipping.
Why ???
Thanks
Old 11-26-2014, 10:11 AM

Default Re: Clipping master fader

The internal mixer is floating point in Pro Tools 11, so there's no hard clipping. The internal mixer in Pro Tools 10 is 48 bit fixed point (I think), which has a much higher dynamic range, so it rarely hard clips. Once it reaches the master, then you have the 24 bit hard clipping going on - and you can always clip the D/A that way, no matter what your internal levels look like.

I've encountered the problem where the internal (yellow) clip lights don't show up in Pro Tools 11. I don't know if that's what you're referring to.
Old 11-26-2014, 11:32 AM

Default Clipping master fader

Steve think of it like this (I maybe wrong) if all your mix tracks and auxes are set to 0db this will all end up adding up to more than 0db, like a motorway all lanes might be running ok but you come to a single lane and it gets congested. So all my sub mixes which feed to the master bus are turned down to around -10 hoping this will prevent clipping. Again I maybe wrong but this is what I do :)