Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > ProControl, Control|24, Command|8

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-28-2018, 01:44 AM
tekis tekis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 171
Default Command 8 or 003 console?

My blue D-command is not working. It's not totally dead. It will do Vegas but will not run PT. My buddy swapped out a Power supply or two to no avail.

Since it seems that either of these smaller control surfaces work fine with 2018.10, which one would you choose? Why?

Thank-you.
__________________
2009 Mac Pro 12-core 3.33 Westmere (was 8-core 2.26 Nehalem), OS 10.12.6, 64 gig of ram, SSD system drive, PT Ultimate 2018.7 HD Native

_____________________________________________
Some credits:

http://www.allmusic.com/artist/john-...s/date-asc/100

http://soundbetter.com/profiles/3845-john-siket
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-28-2018, 08:34 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,232
Default Re: Command 8 or 003 console?

Te answer depends on a few details.



#1-While I think the 003 is a better control surface, will you be able to use it as ONLY a controller, or will you have to use it INSTEAD of your current interface?


#2-what functions do you need? After using a D-Command, either of these options may leave you seriously wanting(maybe to the point that you bite the buller and either get the old beast repaired, or replace with another used D-Command(not too expensive on the second hand market these days)


#3 back to what you really need, is there a current(IOW, new) controller that would fit you budget? Thinking about the Presonus Faderport 8(or 16) or maybe an Artist MIX, along with the baby Faderport(new or the old version)(I have exactly this combination working fine here)
__________________
HP z820 12 core, 64GB RAM, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs, Warm Audio and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
D-Command users- What do you use for a console stand? Will Russell ICON & C|24 19 11-25-2012 03:42 PM
D-command and digital console nobi71 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 08-02-2010 12:31 PM
Command 8 vs. 002 Console Yodah ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 3 12-11-2008 10:55 AM
command period equivalent on 003 console Traveler 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 08-30-2007 04:31 PM
New D-Command Studio Console Rezman ICON & C|24 18 07-30-2005 10:30 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:06 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com