Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-02-2009, 07:03 PM
citysoundman citysoundman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: New York City
Posts: 535
Default What is TV broadcast specs for the UK?

Hi everyone,

On Monday I'll be mixing some commercial TV spots for broadcast in England. I'd like to ask about broadcast specs - what is the reference level (-20 or -18dBFS?) and what is the peak max level (is it -10dBFS like U.S.?)

Thanks in advance!
__________________
Bob Kirschner
Chief Engineer
Creative Media Design, NYC
http://cmdnyc.com
bob@cmdnyc.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-02-2009, 07:43 PM
Chief Technician's Avatar
Chief Technician Chief Technician is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,946
Post Re: What is TV broadcast specs for the UK?

Quote:
Originally Posted by citysoundman View Post
what is the reference level (-20 or -18dBFS?)
-18dBFS.
__________________
Jonathan S. Abrams, CEA, CEV, CBNT
Apple Certified - Technical Coordinator (v10.5), Support Professional (v10.6 through v10.10)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-02-2009, 07:59 PM
citysoundman citysoundman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: New York City
Posts: 535
Default Re: What is TV broadcast specs for the UK?

Thanks Jonathan.

So would you keep the headroom at 10dB? Peaks at -8dBFS?
__________________
Bob Kirschner
Chief Engineer
Creative Media Design, NYC
http://cmdnyc.com
bob@cmdnyc.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-02-2009, 08:18 PM
Chief Technician's Avatar
Chief Technician Chief Technician is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,946
Exclamation Re: What is TV broadcast specs for the UK?

Quote:
Originally Posted by citysoundman View Post
Thanks Jonathan.
You are welcome.

Quote:
So would you keep the headroom at 10dB? Peaks at -8dBFS?
I do not have enough confidence in my memory to answer this question.
__________________
Jonathan S. Abrams, CEA, CEV, CBNT
Apple Certified - Technical Coordinator (v10.5), Support Professional (v10.6 through v10.10)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-03-2009, 03:25 AM
Pete Gates Pete Gates is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 1,060
Default Re: What is TV broadcast specs for the UK?

Quote:
Originally Posted by citysoundman View Post
On Monday I'll be mixing some commercial TV spots for broadcast in England. I'd like to ask about broadcast specs - what is the reference level (-20 or -18dBFS?) and what is the peak max level (is it -10dBFS like U.S.?)
UK TV broadcast line up is PPM4 (-18dBFS as you say), peaking at PPM6 either channel (-10dBFS as you also say). This is for the main programming, spots/adverts often have a different peak limit though (it used to be So much more straightforward before the loudness wars) - sometimes PPM5+1/2. You'll need to get a pdf/printed delivery spec unfortunately.

All the best,
Pete
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-03-2009, 06:41 AM
Gary Nattrass Gary Nattrass is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Durham UK
Posts: 260
Default Re: What is TV broadcast specs for the UK?

As the guys say 1khz line up tone at -18dbfs and peaks max at -10dbfs.

Here is some useful related settings:

-18dbfs=4ppm=0db=-4vu

-10dbfs=6ppm=+8db=+4vu

Also this PPM plug in may be useful for setting to BBC or UK broadcast levels:
http://www.rawmaterialsoftware.com/ppm.php

Personally I set up my compressors so that I am peaking around 5 and a half PPM which is around -12dbfs=5.5ppm=+6db=+2vu

Line up tone for stereo also needs to be idented with a break on the left leg (the BBC spec is single break on the left leg and two breaks on the right)

Mono=lt+rt -6db

Also make sure that the record deck is calibrated for -18dbfs as a lot of the NTSC models are factory set at -20dbfs
__________________
Over 30 years in Broadcast Film and TV: www.HDProductionSolutions.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-03-2009, 04:39 PM
spoons's Avatar
spoons spoons is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 245
Default Re: What is TV broadcast specs for the UK?

Your 'Phasescope' has a BBC ppm settting.

But the "rawmaterials" ppm is the best choice, it's actually used inside the the beeb so it's right on the money. Plus it will write you a bit of ppm4 tone too.

I say hit 6ppm like you would -10dbfs.

Also you will need to leave 12 frames (at 25fps) mute top and tail.
__________________
Richard Spooner

www.spoonsound.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-04-2009, 07:19 AM
infiniteloop infiniteloop is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 436
Default Re: What is TV broadcast specs for the UK?

All the advice above is sound, but I would definitely get a spec from the client, as there has very recently been a lot of discussion and rulings on commercial spot levels. Loudness meters are being used in addition to PPMs, thanks to years of abuse with DBMaxes and the like. Unfortunately, no-one except your client can tell you for sure. If it were me and unable to get advice, i'd limit it to 5PPM on the Phasescope BBC setting.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-04-2009, 08:44 AM
citysoundman citysoundman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: New York City
Posts: 535
Default Re: What is TV broadcast specs for the UK?

Thanks everyone - I feel pretty confident with 0vu= -18dB and peaks under -10dB. But I will definitely ask the client if he has specifics.

Quote:
Originally Posted by spoons View Post
Also you will need to leave 12 frames (at 25fps) mute top and tail.
This is interesting - Do you leave black/mute from timecode top of the hour until 12 frames in? what's the reason for this?
In my session I'll be delivering files - no tape involved. So I'll have to ask about this as well.
__________________
Bob Kirschner
Chief Engineer
Creative Media Design, NYC
http://cmdnyc.com
bob@cmdnyc.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-04-2009, 09:29 AM
Gary Nattrass Gary Nattrass is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Durham UK
Posts: 260
Default Re: What is TV broadcast specs for the UK?

In my experience of spots pic always starts at 10:00:00:00 but the sound should start 12 frames in and for a 30 sec spot end at 10:00:29:12

This is so the start and end of the spot audio is not clipped off by the auto scheduling play back machines.

Hope this helps but as said a full spec from the broadcaster is best bet.
__________________
Over 30 years in Broadcast Film and TV: www.HDProductionSolutions.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Australian Broadcast Specs "Crackdown" Matt82au Post - Surround - Video 6 02-01-2008 12:44 AM
Sound Broadcast Specs in UK tj_davies Post - Surround - Video 9 01-10-2008 08:29 AM
Questions on Broadcast Specs sundontlie Post - Surround - Video 8 01-07-2008 12:48 PM
Audio Specs for Television Broadcast TheMixShop Post - Surround - Video 12 04-22-2005 10:38 AM
Broadcast Specs Pirate Post Post - Surround - Video 3 09-21-2003 10:28 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:15 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com