Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-27-2020, 10:52 AM
johnbarnesiii johnbarnesiii is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 149
Default MOTU 828 MKIII - Mac Compatibility

Hi guys,

I’ve been running PT 12.5 on an older MacBook Pro (late 2011) using the MOTU 828 MKIII as interface. Now I need to upgrade my MBP due to a logic board problem, so I’m wondering...

which MAcBook Pro models will be compatible with the 828 MKIII? Is it only the ones with FireWire and USB 2.0 ports, or will the newer Macs work too if I used adapters (ie FireWire to lightning or usb 3.0)?

Just want to make sure the newer Mac I get will recognize the 828 MKIII.

Thanks for any tips!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-27-2020, 12:38 PM
ChuckS ChuckS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,247
Default Re: MOTU 828 MKIII - Mac Compatibility

Something like this: Apple Thunderbolt 3 (USB-C) to Thunderbolt 2 adapter with an Apple Thunderbolt 2 to firewire adapter. There are plenty of threads out there about using older FW devices.
__________________
PT 2020.12 DP 10.13 MOTU M4 HP Envy 8G i7 Quad Laptop Win10
PT 2020.12 DP 10.13 828mkII ADA8200 MTP-AV HP Z2 G4 Xeon Workstation Win10
2011 Mac Mini i7 Quad High Sierra.6 VEP 7.x hosting various VIs
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-28-2020, 05:32 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 18,034
Default Re: MOTU 828 MKIII - Mac Compatibility

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnbarnesiii View Post
Hi guys,

I’ve been running PT 12.5 on an older MacBook Pro (late 2011) using the MOTU 828 MKIII as interface. Now I need to upgrade my MBP due to a logic board problem, so I’m wondering...

which MAcBook Pro models will be compatible with the 828 MKIII? Is it only the ones with FireWire and USB 2.0 ports, or will the newer Macs work too if I used adapters (ie FireWire to lightning or usb 3.0)?

Just want to make sure the newer Mac I get will recognize the 828 MKIII.

Thanks for any tips!
Connecting your 828 is only part of the problem. Make sure the drivers for it are compatible for whatever OSX (or Big Sur) comes on the new machine. I just checked on the MOTU site and as of right now they're not announcing compatibility with BS although we're told that is being worked on with Apple.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT 12.5: Inputting bass signal into MOTU 828 mkiii johnbarnesiii Pro Tools 12 4 07-19-2018 04:06 AM
useable inputs using a motu 828 mkiii skwad Windows 4 02-05-2013 08:33 AM
MOTU compatibility with PT9 alithomas66 Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 5 10-25-2011 07:59 PM
New MOTU 2408 MKIII for trade DigiMixStudios 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 10-17-2003 06:37 PM
Motu Compatibility with PT sukks2bu General Discussion 3 06-24-2001 08:03 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:05 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com