Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Avid Pro Mixing General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 12-18-2017, 12:22 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,311
Default Getting a clearer voice in my mix

I had an AT-3050 for years before I could afford a nicer mic.

Actually now that I think about it I probably could’ve afforded it but I didn’t get one.

I have a Miktec CV4 now and it’s amazing

Point is, save the money and buy a really good mic even if you think you can afford it.

Neuman’s are TL103’s and 107’s are both under $1k and are really worlds apart from the AT-2020
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-18-2017, 01:33 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 33,792
Default Re: Getting a clearer voice in my mix

I agree that a better mic is your best bet, but while you are saving up to buy one, make the most of what you have. Use a pop screen and back up about 6-8" off the mic. Or maybe try rotating the mic and place it off to one side a bit so when you sing, you aren't blowing straight onto the capsule. Its too bad you live so far from the US as we have tons of options(including a really good modification of the NT-1A by okatavamod.com that gives a cheap mic a sound quality that really rivals a U87). Another less-pricey option is the Miktek C-1. Its the same capsule as their C7(a favorite of Keb' Mo') in a cardioid-only form for $599US
__________________
Asus x99, Intel i7 6800K, 32 gig DDR4, GeForce 750 Ti, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works
www.capricornsoundworks.com

The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-18-2017, 01:49 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 10,655
Default Re: Getting a clearer voice in my mix

We all know Dave works for Miktek

Dont waste money on a NT-1 as its a bag of crap. Look into a used
AKG 414 BULS or 414 XILS or a Neumann TLM-103 or 105 as thats a rap vocal mic
used by many rappers.

PS Whats a KEB' MO'
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher


South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
SOUTHSIDEPUB

#ninjakittenshatecrunchyleaves

Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-18-2017, 01:56 PM
64GTOBOY's Avatar
64GTOBOY 64GTOBOY is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Houston
Posts: 403
Default Re: Getting a clearer voice in my mix

^^^ +1
__________________
Dell XPS 8900 i7-6700K CPU @ 4.00GHz 32 Gig Memory:Seagate 2 TB,1TB,4TB OS Windows 7 Ultimate
PT 18.1 Native through A&H Qu-32
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-18-2017, 02:17 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,311
Default Getting a clearer voice in my mix

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
We all know Dave works for Miktek


PS Whats a KEB' MO'
They are great mics for sure


Keb Mo? Surely you jest?
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 12-18-2017, 03:01 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 33,792
Default Re: Getting a clearer voice in my mix

I actually don't work for Miktek, but they do treat me quite well. Maybe has something to do with getting that producer guy hooked up.....Alan somebody.....
__________________
Asus x99, Intel i7 6800K, 32 gig DDR4, GeForce 750 Ti, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works
www.capricornsoundworks.com

The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 12-18-2017, 10:11 PM
Kurout Kurout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 16
Default Re: Getting a clearer voice in my mix

Quote:
Originally Posted by EGS View Post
Neither of those mics are very good ... save up for a better mic. My opinion.
Better like?? I even have a AT 4040 I guess. How about that??
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 12-18-2017, 11:20 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,311
Default Getting a clearer voice in my mix

Let’s Put it like this

You could have a mic that costs $5k, and if you cannot set it up and utilize it right, it won’t give you the results you want

You could use a mediocre mic (AT’s are that at best) and still get close to the sound you want (75%) by using what you have but using it “Well”


Don’t think that it will all come together once you have that new expensive piece of gear you have been dreaming about


It’s a trade off, yes you want better gear but you need to learn the craft as well
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 12-19-2017, 02:19 AM
Kurout Kurout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 16
Default Re: Getting a clearer voice in my mix

Alright everyone thank you so much. I hope I can post a link to my song once it's mixed and ready.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 12-19-2017, 08:44 AM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 2,517
Default Re: Getting a clearer voice in my mix

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kurout View Post
Better like?? I even have a AT 4040 I guess. How about that??
I am not familiar with the AT4040, but the AT4050 is a pretty nice mic. I would expect the AT4040 to out-perform your NT1-A and AT2020. Try it out, but be sure to follow all the mic placement and pop filter ideas given above.
__________________
Desktop: Win 7 / GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R / i7-980X / 32GB / 3 int Samsung SSDs / PT 9.0.3 / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: Win 7 / HP ProBook 4730s / i7-2630 / 8GB / int Samsung SSD / PT 9.0.3 / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Info/Services link
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ideascale for making Marker Numbers clearer Jon_Atkinson Pro Tools 12 7 02-07-2016 11:23 PM
Req: Clearer Logo/Splash Screen & Smoother Dashboard Icons take77 Pro Tools 12 0 10-09-2015 10:55 PM
voice band multitrack instruments and vocals all from voice input for iphone crizdee Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 01-12-2010 02:56 PM
Can we get a NEW and CLEARER Best Desktop thread? TheBaron 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 01-09-2008 09:27 PM
How to make your 001 sound clearer and crisper for $5.00!! Jayman#9 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 24 01-09-2003 03:02 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:46 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com