Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid @ NAMM 2018

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Avid Cloud Collaboration

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-10-2016, 12:25 PM
clausiii's Avatar
clausiii clausiii is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 1,726
Default Cloud Collab bug with plugin automation

This canīt be normal! when PT reads plugin automation during playback it changes the "upload changes" arrow into green (e.g. something has changed). But it was only an automation read, not an auto-write.
It does not happen with track automation (vol, pan etc) only if you auto-enable a parameter of a plugin. Tried it with Air VIs Air plugins and Avid EQ7.

This is not the correct behaviour isnīt is? Makes no sense!

http://protools.ideascale.com/a/dtd/257559-3779
__________________
My ears! My ears!
clausiii
-----------------
MacBook Pro i7 Quad 2.6GHz 8GB RAM
ProTools 12.8.1
MacOS 10.12.3
MOTU 4pre
MOTU 8pre USB
Axiom Pro 25

Last edited by jeffro; 04-12-2017 at 08:29 AM. Reason: Added link to the bug report.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-11-2016, 02:51 PM
clausiii's Avatar
clausiii clausiii is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 1,726
Default Re: Cloud Collab bug with plugin automation

can someone chime in please and/or confirm this bug?
Itīs quite urgent because this bug results in CC conflicts when collaborators work at the same time (both "update" the track with only playing back the track).

Thanks
__________________
My ears! My ears!
clausiii
-----------------
MacBook Pro i7 Quad 2.6GHz 8GB RAM
ProTools 12.8.1
MacOS 10.12.3
MOTU 4pre
MOTU 8pre USB
Axiom Pro 25
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-14-2016, 11:19 AM
clausiii's Avatar
clausiii clausiii is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 1,726
Default Re: Cloud Collab bug with plugin automation

Does really nobody use CC? Or even care about? Avid?
__________________
My ears! My ears!
clausiii
-----------------
MacBook Pro i7 Quad 2.6GHz 8GB RAM
ProTools 12.8.1
MacOS 10.12.3
MOTU 4pre
MOTU 8pre USB
Axiom Pro 25
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-18-2016, 07:20 AM
clausiii's Avatar
clausiii clausiii is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 1,726
Default Re: Cloud Collab bug with plugin automation

Hi!

Can someone confirm that plugin automation read-outs lead to a "CC change" so that the upload arrow of the given SHARED track goes green?

1. create a track
2. insert any plugin
3. make an automation of any parameter of the plugin
4. upload/share the track
5. play the automation

now the green arrow which shows changes to upload is green, but it shouldn't!
__________________
My ears! My ears!
clausiii
-----------------
MacBook Pro i7 Quad 2.6GHz 8GB RAM
ProTools 12.8.1
MacOS 10.12.3
MOTU 4pre
MOTU 8pre USB
Axiom Pro 25
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-18-2016, 12:05 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 11,524
Default Re: Cloud Collab bug with plugin automation

Quote:
Originally Posted by clausiii View Post
Does really nobody use CC? Or even care about? Avid?
Yes many indications on DUC are that few people use or care about Cloud Collaboration. You are at the bleeding edge here... and it looks like you blood that is flowing.

I would hope that Avid Customer support is super-responsive to folks in your situation willing to play with these new features. Did you try contacting them? Maybe Jeffro or others here can escalate a support case. Yes I know phone support from Austria must be a total pain, but you could open an email support case. I pinged a DUC moderator to see if they can get you help from support.

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 12-18-2016 at 12:40 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-18-2016, 01:33 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 10,431
Default Re: Cloud Collab bug with plugin automation

Hey guys

I have escalated this thread to Avid support and will await a response from them. I don't know anyone who uses CC so I can't help you there unfortunately but Avid themselves should most definitely be able to help
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher


South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
SOUTHSIDEPUB

#ninjakittenshatecrunchyleaves

Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-18-2016, 02:37 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,307
Default Re: Cloud Collab bug with plugin automation

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
Hey guys

I have escalated this thread to Avid support and will await a response from them. I don't know anyone who uses CC so I can't help you there unfortunately but Avid themselves should most definitely be able to help
Thanks Christoper, I was about to do the same. I, like you, don't use CC. So I can't be much help here either.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools HDX~HDN 12.4~12.8.3
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-18-2016, 03:52 PM
clausiii's Avatar
clausiii clausiii is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 1,726
Default Re: Cloud Collab bug with plugin automation

Thanks guys! really appreciate it!
__________________
My ears! My ears!
clausiii
-----------------
MacBook Pro i7 Quad 2.6GHz 8GB RAM
ProTools 12.8.1
MacOS 10.12.3
MOTU 4pre
MOTU 8pre USB
Axiom Pro 25
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-18-2016, 03:55 PM
clausiii's Avatar
clausiii clausiii is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 1,726
Default Re: Cloud Collab bug with plugin automation

Quote:
Originally Posted by TOM@METRO View Post
Thanks Christoper, I was about to do the same. I, like you, don't use CC. So I can't be much help here either.
well, everyone with 12.5+ can create a CC Project in PT and click the "share" button (as described) and see what the upload arrow does. you donīt even need another collaborator.
__________________
My ears! My ears!
clausiii
-----------------
MacBook Pro i7 Quad 2.6GHz 8GB RAM
ProTools 12.8.1
MacOS 10.12.3
MOTU 4pre
MOTU 8pre USB
Axiom Pro 25
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-18-2016, 10:27 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 10,431
Default Re: Cloud Collab bug with plugin automation

Thats true but I know Tom is on 12.4 HD as are we here.

I have a rMBP with 12.6.1 but I have had a few weird midi errors and we are finishing up this year with a few productions still so I am too afraid to mess something up when 12.4 kixx azz
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher


South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
SOUTHSIDEPUB

#ninjakittenshatecrunchyleaves

Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cloud Collab bug with plugin automation clausiii Pro Tools 12 Discussion 2 12-09-2016 12:15 PM
Pt 12.5 cloud collab says my projects are used up but i havent used any yet HALO1THEGREAT Pro Tools 12 Discussion 2 05-09-2016 03:51 AM
Removing Application Manager and Cloud Collab? jjnssn Pro Tools 12 Discussion 2 05-01-2016 11:35 AM
PT Cloud Collab Webinar 3/15 Tom Graham General Announcements 0 03-04-2016 10:46 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:41 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com