Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > ProControl, Control|24, Command|8

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 05-17-2013, 08:54 AM
louieshowers louieshowers is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 569
Default Re: Control|24 with Pro Tools 11?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nst7 View Post
Louieshowers,

The Control 24 was announced as being End of Life a year and a half ago, and that it would not be compatible with PT11, along with several other products. A year and a half is plenty of time for owners to make decisions and make other plans.

Avid is not responsible to test anything they already stated was end of life that long ago.
OK...thanks for the info...

again, I don't own one, but it seems that many of these are still circulating about. Some people may want to continue using them. End of life does not mean they vanish off of the earth. In a perfect world, older stuff should be able to be handled by newer stuff...just like pt10 can open pt 9,8,7 etc. Not looking for a debate here, just voicing.
__________________
Windows 7 64 Ultimate: SP1
PT 10.3.8

------------------------------------------------------
¨WHERE´S MY CHECKBOOK?¨
https://soundcloud.com/louieshowers
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 05-17-2013, 10:20 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,445
Default Re: Control|24 with Pro Tools 11?

Quote:
Originally Posted by louieshowers View Post
...again, I don't own one, but it seems that many of these are still circulating about. Some people may want to continue using them. End of life does not mean they vanish off of the earth. In a perfect world, older stuff should be able to be handled by newer stuff...just like pt10 can open pt 9,8,7 etc. Not looking for a debate here, just voicing.
Thanks for your perspective. If we could maintain support/compatibility with every existing product while adding new ones and changing code to work with new Operating Systems and devices we would. It's just not practical. The test grid alone would eventually prevent us from shipping a product. Technology moves on, and we do our best to balance new products & features with support of existing ones for a reasonable amount of time.

Regarding the Control|24, as previously stated... we stopped selling them in 2007 and it was added to the KB with a 12/31/2012 End of Support date.

There are trade-in offers available to Control|24 owners that want to move to newer console or version of Pro Tools.
Quote:
I am sure that a definitive yes or no regarding support would go a long way for people
The code for Control|24 was not re-written for Pro Tools 11 or Pro Tools HD 11 so unfortunately that answer would be no.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 05-17-2013, 10:42 AM
CME CME is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Ardmore OK
Posts: 3,205
Default Re: Control|24 with Pro Tools HD 11?

And if something is in the untested section I would at least test it myself. I see that section as "stuff we think should work as we didn't remove anything it needs, but we have a lot of stuff to test as it is and won't be testing this particular item to confirm it works". Maybe control 24 owners will be pleasantly surprised.

I also don't have a horse in this race. I do hope it works out though.
__________________
2009 Mac Pro - Dual X5650 Xeon 6-core 2.66Ghz procs, 48GB of Ram, SATA 3 and USB 3.0 PCIe cards. R9 280X video card. macOS Sierra. Harrison Mixbus 32C, Studio One 3, Reaper, and pro tools 12 when I have to.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 05-17-2013, 12:18 PM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,341
Default Re: Control|24 with Pro Tools HD 11?

http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/c...nd-Peripherals

Docs have been updated. Control 24 WILL NOT WORK.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 05-17-2013, 01:13 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 10,581
Default Re: Control|24 with Pro Tools 11?

Quote:
Originally Posted by marianna View Post
Lou....

Ping me any time - I an only an email or a tweet away. As for Control 24 - the product is End of Life (EOL) so the testing team has to make a decision. Test the EOL gear or test "Current" gear, CPU's, Laptops, Controllers, OS's etc.....

That isn't irresponsible.... its the way it is with most companies.

Maybe if an when the testing team comes up for air - they can rethink that but it is what it is... today.

Marianna
+1

Maybe Avid should test the old Mix Farm cards aswell seeing that many people still use those

Avid has to draw the line somewhere but "some people" clearly don't get it..
They expect you guys to just please every single user and that is BS!
It is not like The EOL products has come as a surprise and we have known this for quite some time now.
However, Of course I too hope that Control 24 works in PT11 for the people who invested 5-6-7-8-10 thousands of dollars on them but reality is they are becomming quite old so if it is not today it will be one day soon but as I said, I hope they work for the users who have one. We had one too but sold it when 10 came out and I really loved the Control 24. It made us alot of money and has paid for itself 20 times before we parted ways and it is a good piece of mashinery even today

And to Marianna : A BIG Thank You for all your involvement and taking time to be here for us in person is really a Big Leap forward Great Job
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher


South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
SOUTHSIDEPUB

#ninjakittenshatecrunchyleaves

Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 05-17-2013, 04:44 PM
CME CME is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Ardmore OK
Posts: 3,205
Default Re: Control|24 with Pro Tools HD 11?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drew Mazurek View Post
http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/c...nd-Peripherals

Docs have been updated. Control 24 WILL NOT WORK.
Well I guess that settles it. Hate to hear that for those who own one. :-/
__________________
2009 Mac Pro - Dual X5650 Xeon 6-core 2.66Ghz procs, 48GB of Ram, SATA 3 and USB 3.0 PCIe cards. R9 280X video card. macOS Sierra. Harrison Mixbus 32C, Studio One 3, Reaper, and pro tools 12 when I have to.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 05-17-2013, 06:15 PM
louieshowers louieshowers is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 569
Default Re: Control|24 with Pro Tools 11?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
+1

Maybe Avid should test the old Mix Farm cards aswell seeing that many people still use those

Avid has to draw the line somewhere but "some people" clearly don't get it..
They expect you guys to just please every single user and that is BS!
It is not like The EOL products has come as a surprise and we have known this for quite some time now.
However, Of course I too hope that Control 24 works in PT11 for the people who invested 5-6-7-8-10 thousands of dollars on them but reality is they are becomming quite old so if it is not today it will be one day soon but as I said, I hope they work for the users who have one. We had one too but sold it when 10 came out and I really loved the Control 24. It made us alot of money and has paid for itself 20 times before we parted ways and it is a good piece of mashinery even today
Wow, congratulations with all of your success, forsight and good decision making. Glad YOU are happy.
__________________
Windows 7 64 Ultimate: SP1
PT 10.3.8

------------------------------------------------------
¨WHERE´S MY CHECKBOOK?¨
https://soundcloud.com/louieshowers
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 05-17-2013, 08:33 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 10,581
Default Re: Control|24 with Pro Tools 11?

Quote:
Originally Posted by louieshowers View Post
Wow, congratulations with all of your success, forsight and good decision making. Glad YOU are happy.
Why thank you Louie
.. you don't seem to be able to post anything nice here and every post I read you are complaining and demanding and insulting Avid, their business ethics and other users! Really NOT helpful at all guy!
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher


South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
SOUTHSIDEPUB

#ninjakittenshatecrunchyleaves

Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines

Last edited by Southsidemusic; 05-17-2013 at 08:45 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 05-20-2013, 09:51 PM
zedhed's Avatar
zedhed zedhed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 3,827
Default Re: Control|24 with Pro Tools 11?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
Why thank you Louie
.. you don't seem to be able to post anything nice here and every post I read you are complaining and demanding and insulting Avid, their business ethics and other users! Really NOT helpful at all guy!
LOL so I'm not the only one who's noticed. Get's a bit boring tho huh
__________________
Too much blood in my drugstream

Gigabyte X99 SOC Force Mobo Bios vF6d
Intel Core i7 5930k socket 2011 v3 @ 3.50GHz
32GB DDR4 Crucial RAM
System Drive: Samsung SSD 840 Evo 512GB
Recording Drive: Samsung SSD 840 Pro 512GB
Samples Drive: Samsung SSD 840 Pro 512GB
StorageDrive: 3 x1TB WD Caviar Black 64mb Cache
EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Graphics
PT 11HD (v11.2.1) Omni s/pdif w Eleven Rack
HD 96I/O
Win 8.1 Pro

Last edited by zedhed; 05-20-2013 at 10:01 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 05-21-2013, 08:19 AM
louieshowers louieshowers is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 569
Default Re: Control|24 with Pro Tools 11?

Quote:
Originally Posted by zedhed View Post
LOL so I'm not the only one who's noticed. Get's a bit boring tho huh
And your posts are all cheerie o! give it a rest will you! You both have no right to complain about my posts' tone..look in the mirror. I HAVE ALWAYS PROMOTED RESPECT AND GOOD VIBES amongst users on this forum (who show the same ). I have a right to voice my dissatisfaction as others do too. Go have a tea together and relax. I am not apologizing for critiquing this company..Especially when I have been thanked personally for doing so by Marianna. I did not create the customer dissatisfaction. It took years and I am still here optimistically hoping for change. Remember that.
__________________
Windows 7 64 Ultimate: SP1
PT 10.3.8

------------------------------------------------------
¨WHERE´S MY CHECKBOOK?¨
https://soundcloud.com/louieshowers

Last edited by louieshowers; 05-21-2013 at 09:20 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vote for Control 24/ProControl drivers for Pro Tools 11 tekis ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 14 05-10-2015 05:14 AM
ProControl Vs Mc Control? surroundnoob ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 2 08-13-2011 04:05 PM
Should I get a Control 24 or ProControl??? A Spooner ICON & C|24 3 03-23-2005 10:59 PM
Should I get a ProControl or Control 24??? A Spooner ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 6 03-17-2005 10:48 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:08 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com