Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-12-2011, 10:36 AM
Rhythm_Writer Rhythm_Writer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 4
Default Pro Tools and Apogee Duet

I am planning on buying either the Apogee Duet One or Apogee Duet 2 to run Pro Tools 9. I am concerned about Apogee Duet 2’s USB 2.0 connection (As opposed to FireWire in Duet One). The latency on the spec suggests Duet 2 to be better. My question is, since I work with projects that have 50+ tracks will Duet 2 be a better buy? Or should I go with the Duet One and the FieWire connection? Thanks for any input regarding this.

Duet One: http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/One/

Duet 2: http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/Duet2/
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-12-2011, 11:26 AM
promixr promixr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 859
Default Re: Pro Tools and Apogee Duet

The fact that you are working with 50+ tracks has nothing to do with your audio interface, or USB vs. Firewire. The Duet series is only capable of a few simultaneous tracks in and out- and both USB 2.0 and Firewire have plenty of bandwidth to accomplish this. I would go with the Duet 2- because it's current, and has the best chance of being supported by Apogee long into the future (drivers, etc...) There are some other advantages to the Duet 2 like higher sample rate, etc... the advantages to the ONE is the built in mic (if you need that)- the Duet 2 has 2 built-in pre's though...

http://imsproav.com/main/APOGEEDUET2.html

Feel free to contact me if you have any questions about this...
__________________
Eddie Sullivan
Long Island Mac Tech
http://long-island-mac-tech.com
long.island.mac.tech@gmail.com
631 786 3924

Freelance Mac/Pro Tools tech for hire. Metro New York Area.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-12-2011, 11:48 AM
Carl Lie Carl Lie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New York City
Posts: 987
Default Re: Pro Tools and Apogee Duet

Quote:
Originally Posted by promixr View Post
The fact that you are working with 50+ tracks has nothing to do with your audio interface, or USB vs. Firewire.
Not true. It will affect how well how well his computer performs. If you purchase the original Duet you won't be able to run below a buffer of 256 without getting DAE errors. So even though it's firewire it won't be a good choice.

I have no idea whether this will get better with the new Duet.

I would look into something from RME personally.

Carl
__________________
PT 2018.7 HDX OMNI+HDX8x16 -Mac Pro 12 Cores 48 GB RAM OS 10.12.5 - API 16 channel - AMS Neve 16 channel, AMS-Neve-SSL-GML -Pres/Processing, Bock Audio, BLUE Bottle, Neumann, Josephson -Mics, Bogner, Kemper- Guitar, Chandler Zener-Curve Bender Outboard/Master. UAudio, Waves, Plugin Alliance etc.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-12-2011, 12:04 PM
promixr promixr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 859
Default Re: Pro Tools and Apogee Duet

@Carl- it does not have to do with how well the 'computer performs' in this case, because the Duet series is only capable of a couple of ins and outs, and both Firewire and USB have plenty enough bandwidth to handle this amount of audio I/O in a modern computing environment.

How well his computer performs is all about his computer, mainly his processor and the speed of his recording drives.

For more information on buffer sizes, etc.. check out Appendix 'A' in the Pro Tools FAQ and Troubleshooting guide. This is a pretty good explanation of what buffer sizes mean for host-based audio recording and processing.
__________________
Eddie Sullivan
Long Island Mac Tech
http://long-island-mac-tech.com
long.island.mac.tech@gmail.com
631 786 3924

Freelance Mac/Pro Tools tech for hire. Metro New York Area.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-12-2011, 12:23 PM
Carl Lie Carl Lie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New York City
Posts: 987
Default Re: Pro Tools and Apogee Duet

Not all devices are equal and the Duet craps out at a buffer under 256. It's just not as stable as other devices. We're not talking about his computer but his computer's perfomance with ProTools.

If he needs to go below a buffer of 256 the Duet is not the answer.

It's not just the interface but the driver for it that affects PT performance. It's common knowledge that some devices work better than others with regards to PT (regardless of how many I/O thay have). To tell some otherwise is not right.

Carl
__________________
PT 2018.7 HDX OMNI+HDX8x16 -Mac Pro 12 Cores 48 GB RAM OS 10.12.5 - API 16 channel - AMS Neve 16 channel, AMS-Neve-SSL-GML -Pres/Processing, Bock Audio, BLUE Bottle, Neumann, Josephson -Mics, Bogner, Kemper- Guitar, Chandler Zener-Curve Bender Outboard/Master. UAudio, Waves, Plugin Alliance etc.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-12-2011, 03:19 PM
Rhythm_Writer Rhythm_Writer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 4
Default Re: Pro Tools and Apogee Duet

Thanks guys for the feedback. I am in the process of upgrading my system. So when it is all said and done it will be running on a Mac Pro 2.4 GHz 8 Core with 8 GB RAM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-12-2011, 04:58 PM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,794
Default Re: Pro Tools and Apogee Duet

You might consider looking at interfaces that have more I/O. Maybe you don't need them today but at some point you might. If you're investing in a MacPro, then you are probably looking for an expandible system and more I/O is a good investment. Often people who get a 2 input interface run ou of inputs as soon as they try to track drums or a small band. The interface may cost more in total but actually cost less per channel of input.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro14,3
Processor Name: Intel Core i7
Processor Speed: 3.1 GHz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 4
L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
L3 Cache: 8 MB
Memory: 16 GB
MacOS 10.13.6 running Protools 2018.7.0
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-12-2011, 10:23 PM
rosemeister rosemeister is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 117
Default

If your decision is between the One and Duet 2, I would go with the Duet 2, as the connectors are all on the breakout cable as opposed to the One, where the mini jack on the front is for stereo output, plus a breakout cable for the inputs. It makes for a cleaner desk with the Duet 2.

Sound wise, I believe the Duet has 75db in the preamps as opposed to 65db with the One. Conversion quality on both would be high.

I have the original Duet and quite like the sound quality. It's amazing what a difference it made over my older Presonus Firebox.

I would also consider the RME products as well.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-13-2011, 08:31 AM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,603
Default Re: Pro Tools and Apogee Duet

Quote:
Originally Posted by promixr View Post
@Carl- it does not have to do with how well the 'computer performs' in this case, because the Duet series is only capable of a couple of ins and outs, and both Firewire and USB have plenty enough bandwidth to handle this amount of audio I/O in a modern computing environment.
You've missed Carl's point, which is entirely valid. Simultaneous I/O is not the issue he raised.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-13-2011, 07:01 PM
mikebeck mikebeck is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 18
Default Re: Pro Tools and Apogee Duet

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carl Lie View Post
Not all devices are equal and the Duet craps out at a buffer under 256. It's just not as stable as other devices. We're not talking about his computer but his computer's perfomance with ProTools.

If he needs to go below a buffer of 256 the Duet is not the answer.

It's not just the interface but the driver for it that affects PT performance. It's common knowledge that some devices work better than others with regards to PT (regardless of how many I/O thay have). To tell some otherwise is not right.

Carl
I haven't kept up with discussions regarding the original Duet and PT9, but I routinely track my guitar at a 64 or 128 buffer with the original Duet in PT9. Is this a common issue - not being able to go below 256 with the Duet?
I'm using OSX 10.6.4 on a Core i3 iMac with 12 gigs of ram.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro tools 10 with Apogee Duet ? Vides7 Pro Tools 10 1 01-02-2012 12:20 PM
Pro Tools 9 and Apogee Duet Rhythm_Writer Pro Tools Software (Mac) 1 04-12-2011 12:08 PM
Pro Tools 9 with an Apogee Duet Crow74 Pro Tools 9 24 12-27-2010 04:34 PM
Apogee Duet & Pro Tools 9? bradweeks80 Pro Tools 9 4 12-24-2010 10:47 PM
Is PPro Tools LE compatible with Apogee Duet? Jose Alva 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 23 12-23-2008 12:50 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:34 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com