Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid @ NAMM 2018

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-10-2018, 01:48 PM
EddieStrange EddieStrange is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Bay Town TX
Posts: 2
Default LG 50" HDMI TV Monitor P/T 12.8.3

My P/T MIX and Track windows inside the main window are small I adjusted the TV to fit screen ...that worked for the opening window Once I open a session I cant read my top tool bar and the windows are super fat but the tracks are small I clicked the tracks size control and made them large but somethings not rite

Lenova Desktop
Processor ADM A10-7800 R7,12 Compute Cores 4C +8G 3.5 GHz
64-Bit O/S, x64- based processer
windows 10 up to date 1/10/2018

HDMI out of P/C into LG 49" Class 4K smart LED TV

Last edited by EddieStrange; 01-10-2018 at 10:19 PM. Reason: not enough info
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-10-2018, 03:24 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 10,415
Default Re: LG 50" HDMI TV Monitor P/T 12.8.3

Uh-hu ...

So whats your question here and how are we supposed to help figure anything out with less than zero info on what setup you have and whats connected to what withwhat connectors and kinda important stuff like OS/Computer/Graphics card/Drivers etc etc etc ...

Start here and give as much info as you can. The more the merrier

http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=300050
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher


South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
SOUTHSIDEPUB

#ninjakittenshatecrunchyleaves

Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-10-2018, 05:08 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 33,154
Default Re: LG 50" HDMI TV Monitor P/T 12.8.3

And, how far is the screen from your face?
__________________
Asus x99, Intel i7 6800K, 32 gig DDR4, GeForce 750 Ti, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works
www.capricornsoundworks.com

The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-10-2018, 10:22 PM
EddieStrange EddieStrange is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Bay Town TX
Posts: 2
Default Re: LG 50" HDMI TV Monitor P/T 12.8.3

I edited the original post
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-11-2018, 11:30 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 33,154
Default Re: LG 50" HDMI TV Monitor P/T 12.8.3

PT doesn't support 4K displays yet. It works well at 1920x1080(a standard HD TV). If you can set the TV for that resolution, it may work okay. Otherwise, put the TV in the living room and get a 1080P set. I have a 43" Toshiba(1080P) that looks great at about 42" from my face
__________________
Asus x99, Intel i7 6800K, 32 gig DDR4, GeForce 750 Ti, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works
www.capricornsoundworks.com

The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-11-2018, 03:02 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 12,779
Default LG 50" HDMI TV Monitor P/T 12.8.3

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
I have a 43" Toshiba(1080P) that looks great at about 42" from my face
That’s where I’m going next...Big Screen
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


For the Love of everything sacrosanct and hallowed, Why hasn't track presets been implemented yet? - George Jetson
For the Love of everything sacrosanct and hallowed, Why hasn't track presets been implemented yet? - George Jefferson
For the Love of everything sacrosanct and hallowed, Why hasn't track presets been implemented yet? - George Clinton
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-13-2018, 07:37 AM
panamajack's Avatar
panamajack panamajack is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Miniappleapolis
Posts: 679
Default Re: LG 50" HDMI TV Monitor P/T 12.8.3

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
PT doesn't support 4K displays yet. . .


I have two 28" 4K monitors connected to either a PC or a MBP or a MP tower.

Works fine.

Mr. Avid must have forgot to call me to let me know 4K will not not work with Pro Tools. Go figure.

However, the fonts are small on a 28" so I just bought a 4K 32" monitor for under $400.

A DAW on any TV never struck me as a particularly good notion. But I can see using an overhead projector in a classroom setting.
__________________
PT10.3.10HD(Tyan s2932 [8core Shanghai 2.7GHZ] 32GB,Win7 SP1); PT10HD(Tyan s2892 w/10GB, Win7 SP1);PT8HD(Dell 690 quad Xeon 3.0, 8GB, Win7,192 I/O, 96 I/O);MacBook Pro: 11R, Apogee Element 46, Focusrite 8PreX PT HD 11.3.2; Mac Pro 3.47 Hex 32GB, OSX 10.12.6/L10.3.3;L9.1.8, 2.64TB; G5 D2.3 4GB, 10.4.11/L8; 12c MP 2.66/32GB PT12.4; Structure, GigaGS3, Kontakt 5, Garratin, Sibelius 8.5+, Finale25,EMU,Vegas Pro 14-10/; RME HDSP9652,MOTU 2408 MKIII/1224/308, FX,Kurz,L5s,Strat,ASAT,JB,Zon
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-15-2018, 06:07 AM
Prabha Prabha is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Santiago, Chile
Posts: 65
Default Re: LG 50" HDMI TV Monitor P/T 12.8.3

I use a 43"4K TV conected to my PC to run PT.
Fonts are just a bit smaller than my previous 22" HD monitors and editing and mixing is a pleasure. :)
__________________
PC i56600K 3.5Ghz 16Gb ram
Win 7 64
SSL MX4
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-15-2018, 01:43 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 12,779
Default LG 50" HDMI TV Monitor P/T 12.8.3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prabha View Post
I use a 43"4K TV conected to my PC to run PT.


At what resolution?
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


For the Love of everything sacrosanct and hallowed, Why hasn't track presets been implemented yet? - George Jetson
For the Love of everything sacrosanct and hallowed, Why hasn't track presets been implemented yet? - George Jefferson
For the Love of everything sacrosanct and hallowed, Why hasn't track presets been implemented yet? - George Clinton
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DVI -->HDMI vs. Thunderbolt monitor question Guitarman002 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 4 02-08-2017 01:15 AM
Disable "HDMI audio device" when plugIn any TFT monitor Sir Hannes Post - Surround - Video 2 07-27-2016 06:11 AM
PRO TOOLS HDX BUG FOUND! HDMI monitor the culprit! adrianrobison Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 10 07-18-2014 06:56 PM
Calculating Video offset hdmi external monitor justanotherpostguy Post - Surround - Video 48 12-28-2012 01:31 PM
anyone have any experience with Arvus HDMI-2a HDMI to 8 ch AES Craig F Post - Surround - Video 0 12-17-2012 05:24 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:53 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com