Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-02-2017, 09:05 AM
oplatner oplatner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: israel
Posts: 82
Default 11R isn't recognized in pro tools 10 - help needed

Hey guys,

I'm writing this as I need help, all the search I've done didn't help...

I just formatted my PC and installed Windows 10 home edition.
I followed all the usual instructions, installed the lastest 11R drivers and the latest Pro Tools 10 installer, but every time I try to launch Pro Tools I get the already known error:

"unable to locate hardware. make sure your hardware is connected".

My 11R is configured correctly, no issues in windows device manager, I can listen to music by using it and the 11R stand-alone editor works perfectly fine!

I also checked for issues with my Ilok, there are none (license is activated). I also tried installing ASIO4ALL and Pro Tools launched correctly, but in the device setup menu the only thing that appeared is ASIO4ALL, the 11R isn't there...

I can't understand why my 11R works perfectly but it just isn't recognized by Pro Tools.


How can you guys help me here? What else should I do in this case?
__________________
My YouTube channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/oplatner79/videos
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-02-2017, 10:31 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 11,744
Default Re: 11R isn't recognized in pro tools 10 - help needed

Does the Eleven Rack show up in Windows audio? (just check, you *don't* want it selected to play audio from Windows).

If not... reboot the computer with the Eleven Rack connected and powered on. (and your issue then was you likely let the computer sleep with the Eleven Rack connected and powered on, don't do that).

If not what does the device manger say about the Eleven Rack? If it's nto showing up focus on the USB cable.

if the Eleven Rack is showing up in Windows then start Pro Tools, holding down 'N' until the Playback Engine dialog appears and select the Eleven Rack there.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-02-2017, 10:35 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 11,744
Default Re: 11R isn't recognized in pro tools 10 - help needed

...and why are you running Pro Tools 10 on unsupported Windows 10?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-02-2017, 10:38 AM
oplatner oplatner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: israel
Posts: 82
Default Re: 11R isn't recognized in pro tools 10 - help needed

Are you sure that pro tools 10 isn't supported on Windows 10?

Eleven rack works perfectly on my Windows 10, also when I installed ASIO4ALL just to test a different audio driver, pro tools uploaded perfectly as well.

Looks to me that there's an issue with pro tools and Eleven rack in my setup and I can't find what it is.
__________________
My YouTube channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/oplatner79/videos
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-02-2017, 10:42 AM
oplatner oplatner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: israel
Posts: 82
Default Re: 11R isn't recognized in pro tools 10 - help needed

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
Does the Eleven Rack show up in Windows audio? (just check, you *don't* want it selected to play audio from Windows).

If not... reboot the computer with the Eleven Rack connected and powered on. (and your issue then was you likely let the computer sleep with the Eleven Rack connected and powered on, don't do that).

If not what does the device manger say about the Eleven Rack? If it's nto showing up focus on the USB cable.

if the Eleven Rack is showing up in Windows then start Pro Tools, holding down 'N' until the Playback Engine dialog appears and select the Eleven Rack there.
Eleven rack works fine, I can hear windows audio with it no problem.
No issues with the device manager also. Can't reach the Playback Engine dialog (tried that after installing ASIO4ALL and managed to load pro tools, but eleven rack wasn't appearing in the device or playback menus), since the pro tools loading dialog stops after the message "unable to locate hardware"
__________________
My YouTube channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/oplatner79/videos
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-02-2017, 11:55 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 11,744
Default Re: 11R isn't recognized in pro tools 10 - help needed

Well if you can’t even get a dialog panel up, want to guess it might be related to an unsupported OS... got a Windows 7 installer handy?

To be paranoid, you want to make sure Windows is not selected to use the Eleven Rack.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 12-02-2017 at 12:25 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-03-2017, 05:29 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 14,825
Default Re: 11R isn't recognized in pro tools 10 - help needed

Quote:
Originally Posted by oplatner View Post
Are you sure that pro tools 10 isn't supported on Windows 10?

Eleven rack works perfectly on my Windows 10, also when I installed ASIO4ALL just to test a different audio driver, pro tools uploaded perfectly as well.

Looks to me that there's an issue with pro tools and Eleven rack in my setup and I can't find what it is.
Pretty sure PT10 isn't supported on Windoze10. See this chart: http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...tibility-Chart
Just because the 11R works on Win10 doesn't mean that PT10 will work as those are two totally separate things. Meaning PT10 and the 11R aren't tied at the hip with each other.

Win10 compatibility didn't happen until PT 12.5
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-08-2017, 04:57 PM
jeam25's Avatar
jeam25 jeam25 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: P.R.
Posts: 2,231
Default Re: 11R isn't recognized in pro tools 10 - help needed

No isn't supported like said above but , it doesn't mean that it cant work neither .

I use them both on my studio computer ( PT 10 and 12 ) with no issues at all . So maybe there is something else happening . Please check that windows is not using your interface as default device player . Is that is the case please select another input as default NOT your PT interface while launching and using PT !
__________________
- Jesus Alvarado -

Windows 10 Pro 64 bit - i7 CPU 4770k
Asus A97-AR mobo - 32gb DDR3 ram
Samsung 850 evo SSD 500gb - Radeon 470rx
Corsair 750w PSU
Lynx Aurora 8
Clarett Pre 8 X Thunderbolt - Protools Ultimate
Avalon 2022 - Octane 8 - Scarlett Dynamic 8pre
Uad 2 quad - Waves Gold
McDsp Emerald - Duy Everpack
Tc Powercore Firewire
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
11R isn't recognized in pro tools 10 - help needed oplatner Eleven Rack 6 12-03-2017 12:12 PM
Pro tools Cd doesn't get recognized by my Mac what do I do . mike081377 Licensing & Accounts 1 01-18-2017 10:46 AM
HDD Not recognized by Pro Tools DamDro Pro Tools 10 3 09-23-2015 11:08 AM
Pro Tools 903 Update not recognized Awesomealex9 Pro Tools Software (Mac) 5 06-21-2012 12:03 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:17 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com