Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-03-2009, 12:05 PM
KingFish KingFish is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Nashville TN
Posts: 2,658
Default Set "Time Counter" 0:00 Start Marker?

I know how to re Number bars, and SMPTE offset etc... I have a simple chore that I'm not sure how to do.

I want the TIME counter to start at 0.00 at my START Marker in the session, without "Cut Time" - or "Move song Start to 00:00:000 leaving several bars before the start marker, that would read something like -00:02:45 - or whatever.

I've got couple of bars of pre roll, then the count, and I want the Sub Counter / Time to read 0:00:000 at the downbeat of the song, so that mt Mix notes from the client like "Can you turn the "T" down at 36 seconds, matches my Bounce.
__________________
David

- MacPro 6,1 Intel Xeon E5 2.7 GHz 12-Core 128 GB 1066 MHz DDR3
- HDX II Sonnet xMacPro Server
- 16x16 HD i/o x 6
- PT 2018.10
- OS X 10.14.4
- ProTools Dock / PT Control
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-03-2009, 01:18 PM
1m1 1m1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 730
Default Re: Set "Time Counter" 0:00 Start Marker?

I don't know if there's a way to do that. I use the SMPTE counter for that, and just the System Usage window collapsed down to mask the front part of the counter leaving just minutes and seconds visible. The frames part of the counter is off the screen to the right.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-03-2009, 01:29 PM
puphead puphead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 40
Default Re: Set "Time Counter" 0:00 Start Marker?

This is a maddening and unfortunate issue that plagues me as well. It seems that there really is no great solution which is really a drag. I came from Dig Performer which, despite it's MANY shortcomings handles this point really well. I only hope that PT gets this together. Below is an exchange I had with Tech Support. they were very responsive - You'll see my question followed by their answer. Hope this helps

Subject
Insert Time

Description
Hi
I have looked everywhere for an answer to this, including the DUC and there seems to be some confusion on this point.
How do I insert time (bars/beats) at the beginning of my session and have the clock go to negative numbers, so that when I reach bar 1 I am at 0 minutes and seconds? I have tried dragging all my tracks to the right, which does add time in front of my session, but the clock will not offset so my realtime counter is inaccurate. I hope this is clear. Thanks.

Discussion Thread
Entered By : Digidesign-Avid Customer Success Entered on : 8/6/2009 12:32 PM
Hi,

You can have negative bars but you can't have negative time. This is why the default start time in Pro Tools is one hour. This is how most post sessions are set so that can add time before the start if need be.

"I have tried dragging all my tracks to the right, which does add time in front of my session, but the clock will not offset so my realtime counter is inaccurate."

If you want to have negative bars all you need to do is use Identify Beat to redefine bar one beat one that the new location.

If you drop the cursor on the first beat of your composition at the new location and hit Command I to open the Identify Beat dialog. If you define this new location as bar one beat one you will get negative bars to the left of the new bar one.

Best regards,
Avid/Digidesign Technical Support
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-03-2009, 01:45 PM
studiostuff studiostuff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 240
Default Re: Set "Time Counter" 0:00 Start Marker?

I guess I don't understand why you wouldn't call the downbeat TC 01:00:00:00. Then, your client notes would match the TC time (less an hour).

I usually include the two click bars in the chart, so that in four-four meter with a two bar click into the downbeat of the tune... my tune starts on bar three.

I guess I don't see an advantage to using min:sec as the time line, with the start of the tune strictly at 00:00...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Difference between "Go to Song Start" and "Return to start of session" shortcut pericoloso Pro Tools 10 2 09-22-2013 12:44 AM
hardware buttons for "preview", "capture" and "punch" evs Post - Surround - Video 1 12-06-2010 12:28 PM
Display timecode counter via "video out Firewire" SonicPete Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 11-06-2009 11:21 AM
Main counter mode not switching using "counter" switch bashville ICON & C|24 2 08-07-2009 04:07 PM
Feature Request: "Show Markers" in Big Counter Display s2n Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 12-21-2001 10:02 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:48 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com