Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-17-2020, 04:19 PM
basslik's Avatar
basslik basslik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 1,642
Default mouse moves

Good day everyone,


Old mouse it's on it's last leg and ready to move to another mouse or perhaps even a track ball.


All subjective I know.


But is there one with a general consensus that does well. THANKS
__________________
MAC PRO 2010 5,1 3.46hex 128ram - HIGH SIERRA - PT 2020.3 / 003 CONSOLE /DIGIMAX FS /PCM90 2CHANNEL SPDIF


Last edited by basslik; 10-17-2020 at 04:33 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-17-2020, 05:28 PM
maccattack maccattack is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 59
Default Re: mouse moves

Not sure if you can get a consensus on anything these days but Ive been using a track ball for years and would never use an ordinary mouse again.

I bought the MX Ergo earlier this year and love it. Pricey but worth every penny.
__________________
PT 2020.5 & Logic Pro X

SPL Crimson

Mac Catalina 10.15.5
Mac (Retina 4K, 21.5-inch, 2019)
3 GHz 6-Core Intel Core i5
16 GB 2667 MHz DDR4
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-17-2020, 06:08 PM
JCBigler's Avatar
JCBigler JCBigler is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,763
Default Re: mouse moves

I hate track balls. I use one every day on tour and it made my hand hurt and was never as precise as a real mouse.

I use a Logitech wireless four button mouse with a scroll wheel. So much easier and faster being able to use the scroll wheel to zoom in and out, and left and right in Protools.
__________________
Justice C. Bigler
www.justicebigler.com

Lenovo P50: quad-core i7-6820hq, 64GB, 2TB SSD, Win 10 Pro / HD|Native-TB / Protools Ultimate 2020.5

Home/mobile: Focusrite Red 8Pre / Clarett 4Pre
Road/hotel: Roland OctaCaputre / Apogee One
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-17-2020, 11:45 PM
basslik's Avatar
basslik basslik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 1,642
Default Re: mouse moves

I did a little browsing, seems top cats using a track ball. Very interesting. I like to try one for awhile before committing.
__________________
MAC PRO 2010 5,1 3.46hex 128ram - HIGH SIERRA - PT 2020.3 / 003 CONSOLE /DIGIMAX FS /PCM90 2CHANNEL SPDIF

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-18-2020, 08:20 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,428
Default Re: mouse moves

Logitech M500S Wired Mouse. I'm on Windows and use the free X-Mouse Button Control driver to program my buttons - 6 of the 7 - for specific Pro Tools shortcuts. Same can be accomplished with SteerMouse on Mac if the Logitech driver won 't.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-18-2020, 08:32 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,835
Default Re: mouse moves

On my home PC(not for audio), I used a Logitech Trackman Marble for years and loved it, but it was terrible for Pro Tools. I bought a Kensington Trackball(like many use) and hate it(glad I got a super deal on it). My current PT rig uses a Logitech G300s(wired) and its as good as anything I have tried

Best to try many and pick what works for you as its a personal choice. Then again, if you have carpal tunnel or other wrist issues, you might be better off with one of the vertical grip options. They aren't cheap, but, like a great chair, they're worth every cent in the long run
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old Yesterday, 03:47 PM
basslik's Avatar
basslik basslik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 1,642
Default Re: mouse moves

I see those thumps working like overtime on those trackballs and wonder how the don't get problems.


Logitech G300s seems kind of tight ?
__________________
MAC PRO 2010 5,1 3.46hex 128ram - HIGH SIERRA - PT 2020.3 / 003 CONSOLE /DIGIMAX FS /PCM90 2CHANNEL SPDIF


Last edited by basslik; Yesterday at 04:57 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old Yesterday, 09:16 PM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 2,794
Default Re: mouse moves

It's a matter of preference and familiarity. I like this one: https://store.kensington.com/product...8aAi1QEALw_wcB
I use their control app to program certain buttons for ProTools e.g. top left = record. Also, I have the speed set REALLY fast; I can jump across a 3-monitor setup with a small roll of the trackball. Scroll ring is cool too.
__________________
Desktop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R / i7 hex 3.9GHz / 32GB / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / HP ProBook / i7 quad / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Legacy: PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI001
Click for demo
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old Today, 04:42 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 17,552
Default Re: mouse moves

Quote:
Originally Posted by EGS View Post
It's a matter of preference and familiarity. I like this one: https://store.kensington.com/product...8aAi1QEALw_wcB
I use their control app to program certain buttons for ProTools e.g. top left = record. Also, I have the speed set REALLY fast; I can jump across a 3-monitor setup with a small roll of the trackball. Scroll ring is cool too.
I was a big fan of these. Wore out the first one after about 5 years and got a second one. Then I started developing carpal tunnel in my right hand and tried using it left-handed. That didn't work out that well. Then switched to a wired Logitech mouse (M500 I think). The buttons wore out after a year.


Been using a Razer gaming mouse that's actually built for a righty but works quite well port-side. So I have the option of going either hand if needs be. The adjustments with their s/w is twitchy at best but noce set - not bad at all.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trackball Mouse with Normal Mouse Operation dstryrwiz Windows 0 05-27-2011 11:30 AM
Cursor moves buy itself ONLY in PT! quangaroo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 10-30-2009 11:44 AM
Kensington mouse moves + 6086 petersrin 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 02-11-2009 06:03 PM
AUtomation moves still not following file moves Ty Ford 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 08-05-2006 01:19 PM
PT 6.1.1, W Media Player,crackles when mouse moves apetrocelli 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 02-09-2004 06:35 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:41 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com