Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-22-2014, 05:40 PM
AirborneFO AirborneFO is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 471
Default -6086 Error

Long time, no talk for me. Been busy with the Army life but have finally been able to get back to recording and have done quite a bit of upgrades to my system.

I am now on a iMac and running OSX. But a weird thing is happening. I am beyond 1000% positive I am recording to my external drive. It is the same drive I have always record to. Positive. If there is one thing I know, it's record to the external drive.

So why after only 2 tracks am I getting the old -6086 error......? Any thoughts?
__________________
iMac i5, Pro Tools 10.2, DIGI003 Command, Akai MPK49, Simmons SDK9
AKA: HoFo

"Yes, recording to the system drive is 99% likely THE main problem." sw rec
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-23-2014, 03:47 AM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Re: -6086 Error

If you go to Setup (menu) > Playback engine; what is your CPU usage limit set to?
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-25-2014, 03:18 PM
AirborneFO AirborneFO is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 471
Default Re: -6086 Error

I usually keep at the default of 85%, 4 processor. IF....I start running into issues, I run it at no more than 256 Sample when I am recording, but bump up higher when recording. Never really ran into this issue before. For example....ran a brand new session with SSD4 and a SanAmp plug in. These were the only 2 tracks. Got a little in and it popped up -6086. Under System Usage for those 2 tracks, I am pulling 8% on the CPU (Native), so that shouldn't be the issue.

And here is the crazy part. I usually fight this for the first few tracks going. Obviously, as I add mono audio tracks, it will still pop up. But then the more i go, it almost seems as if it goes away. Then I'll pop a -90XX type error here and there, but usually will be fine as I go.

Thoughts?
__________________
iMac i5, Pro Tools 10.2, DIGI003 Command, Akai MPK49, Simmons SDK9
AKA: HoFo

"Yes, recording to the system drive is 99% likely THE main problem." sw rec
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-26-2014, 02:54 AM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Re: -6086 Error

Are you running PT 10.2 now?

I would start with Deleting Pro Tools Databases and Preferences.

4 processors is max for your computer, right? Try setting it to 3.

Also, do you have Ignore Errors During Playback/Record checked in the Playback engine? I get a better performance out of PT on my iMac by leaving this option off, but I can't explain why that is.
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-26-2014, 08:10 PM
AirborneFO AirborneFO is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 471
Default Re: -6086 Error

Yep, trashing preferences was the first thing I did. Jumped up to OSX, so researching a bit that may be some of the issue. For whatever reason, my Xpand2 disappeared as well.

However.....lol.....3 core and ignore and no issues yet. We'll run a bit and see. Plus need to figure out the Xpand thing now. LOL!
__________________
iMac i5, Pro Tools 10.2, DIGI003 Command, Akai MPK49, Simmons SDK9
AKA: HoFo

"Yes, recording to the system drive is 99% likely THE main problem." sw rec
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Error -6086 Heatrize 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 10-06-2012 11:14 PM
Error -6086 fix. dannydog 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 04-24-2012 04:03 AM
DAE error -6086 temetrepo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 08-30-2006 07:39 PM
6086 error Joemanuk 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 02-07-2006 11:37 AM
Help with Error (-6086) xlrsound General Discussion 1 02-06-2006 07:14 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:28 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com