Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 08-27-2019, 03:39 PM
foxes's Avatar
foxes foxes is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: London UK
Posts: 138
Default Re: Are we not due an update??!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by amagras View Post
We are not just buying, we are paying a subscription over a perpetual license we already paid for! Why would people do that if it wasn't to get new features and updates on a regular basis? That's what we were promised and so far Avid has fallen short in more than a one occasion, put on top that they doubled the price way after the deal was sealed.
+1000
__________________
iMac 27" Late 2013 3.5Ghz i7 32GB Ram 3TB HDD, 1TB SSD Samsung 850 Pro, High Sierra 10.13.6, Pro tools 2018.7 & 2019.6 installed. UAD Apollo 8 Quad & Satellite Quad, Reason 10.4, Logic Pro X 10.4.7, plugins & VI's by practically everyone. G-Tech Mini 1TB HDD, 3 x 1TB Glyph GT050Q, Lacie Rugged 500GB & several assorted drives.....lots & lots of hardware synths & outboard

https://soundcloud.com/2b3productions
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-27-2019, 04:29 PM
coolbass coolbass is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 135
Default Re: Are we not due an update??!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Wat? If you have paid X amount of money and have 0 problems, what it is to be fixed? Just sayin' updates for the sake of updates is nonsense.
Paying money without updates for the sake of paying money is nonsense.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-27-2019, 06:15 PM
jasonkalman jasonkalman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Merritt Island, FL
Posts: 118
Default Re: Are we not due an update??!!

Yes we are due an update. HDX voices? CPU improvements for VIs. Anyone able to use the 1000 midi tracks Avid gave us in the May update (insert sarcasm)? OS compatibility. How about getting rid of the subscription plan. That would be the best update. I never had an issue buying the latest version of PTs when they actually gave us a reason to upgrade. I feel like we are just paying for Avid to develop OS compatibility with a smattering of minor enhancements about 2x per year.
__________________
Pro Tools 2019.10 Ultimate, Omni, I/O, Pre, HDX, iMac Pro, OS 10.14.6 (Mojave), Logic Pro X, UA Apollo UAD-2, UAD-2 Satellite, UAD Ultimate Bundle among others, Waves 11: Mercury, Abbey Road, Studio Classics, too many other plugins and VIs to name

https://soundcloud.com/jason-kalman

Last edited by jasonkalman; 08-28-2019 at 03:42 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-27-2019, 08:38 PM
foxes's Avatar
foxes foxes is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: London UK
Posts: 138
Default Re: Are we not due an update??!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by matthewmkb View Post
Exactly. Midi sample rounding bug has been there since pt12, heard from people going back to 11 for reliable midi work at all tempos. I reported it to Avid, exchanged several emails with a session and video clips. They were supposed to report it to their programming team and get back to me. Guess what. They never got back to me. It was over 2 months ago. The fix isn't happening. If it was easy to fix, they would've fixed it already in 2019, or even 2018.
You are so true, been a bug in PT for years definitely with audio before v12. That did not surprise me with Avid, I agree with you that more than likely it’s not going to be fixed since it has been in PT for so many years & has got worse with some of the more recent updates.
__________________
iMac 27" Late 2013 3.5Ghz i7 32GB Ram 3TB HDD, 1TB SSD Samsung 850 Pro, High Sierra 10.13.6, Pro tools 2018.7 & 2019.6 installed. UAD Apollo 8 Quad & Satellite Quad, Reason 10.4, Logic Pro X 10.4.7, plugins & VI's by practically everyone. G-Tech Mini 1TB HDD, 3 x 1TB Glyph GT050Q, Lacie Rugged 500GB & several assorted drives.....lots & lots of hardware synths & outboard

https://soundcloud.com/2b3productions
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-28-2019, 05:38 AM
foxes's Avatar
foxes foxes is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: London UK
Posts: 138
Default Re: Are we not due an update??!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by coolbass View Post
Paying money without updates for the sake of paying money is nonsense.
+1000
__________________
iMac 27" Late 2013 3.5Ghz i7 32GB Ram 3TB HDD, 1TB SSD Samsung 850 Pro, High Sierra 10.13.6, Pro tools 2018.7 & 2019.6 installed. UAD Apollo 8 Quad & Satellite Quad, Reason 10.4, Logic Pro X 10.4.7, plugins & VI's by practically everyone. G-Tech Mini 1TB HDD, 3 x 1TB Glyph GT050Q, Lacie Rugged 500GB & several assorted drives.....lots & lots of hardware synths & outboard

https://soundcloud.com/2b3productions
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 08-28-2019, 11:46 AM
gnjlee gnjlee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Santa Fe, New Mexico
Posts: 178
Default Re: Are we not due an update??!!

You didn't actually expect them to PROVIDE anything after doubling prices did you? (More than tripled after two years if you go from vanilla to sub. Yes AVID, I have a calculator and am able to forecast cost beyond the current FY) Subscriptions are about stabilizing revenue streams for corporations, not about delivering anything to customers.

Last edited by gnjlee; 08-28-2019 at 01:15 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 08-28-2019, 04:37 PM
foxes's Avatar
foxes foxes is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: London UK
Posts: 138
Default Re: Are we not due an update??!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by jasonkalman View Post
Yes we are due an update. HDX voices? CPU improvements for VIs. Anyone able to use the 1000 midi tracks Avid gave us in the May update (insert sarcasm)? OS compatibility. How about getting rid of the subscription plan. That would be the best update. I never had an issue buying the latest version of PTs when they actually gave us a reason to upgrade. I feel like we are just paying for Avid to develop OS compatibility with a smattering of minor enhancements about 2x per year.
Quote:
Originally Posted by gnjlee View Post
You didn't actually expect them to PROVIDE anything after doubling prices did you? (More than tripled after two years if you go from vanilla to sub. Yes AVID, I have a calculator and am able to forecast cost beyond the current FY) Subscriptions are about stabilizing revenue streams for corporations, not about delivering anything to customers.

Spot on guys!
__________________
iMac 27" Late 2013 3.5Ghz i7 32GB Ram 3TB HDD, 1TB SSD Samsung 850 Pro, High Sierra 10.13.6, Pro tools 2018.7 & 2019.6 installed. UAD Apollo 8 Quad & Satellite Quad, Reason 10.4, Logic Pro X 10.4.7, plugins & VI's by practically everyone. G-Tech Mini 1TB HDD, 3 x 1TB Glyph GT050Q, Lacie Rugged 500GB & several assorted drives.....lots & lots of hardware synths & outboard

https://soundcloud.com/2b3productions
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 08-28-2019, 05:20 PM
Brettster Brettster is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 25
Default Re: Are we not due an update??!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
Can't say that I've seen what you're talking about wrt MIDI sample rounding but then again I don't work in MIDI clips (yeah I went back and read through the 8 page thread you and a couple of others posted to). I just make my timeline selections and move things about as I need to - quick & painless AND I don't have to worry about missing notes.

As far as updates and not bug fixes - ARA doesn't do anything for me. What I'd like to see built into PT is Ircam time/stretch. I know it can be done in UVI Falcon but how about it as just a separate plugin? That way I don't have the cpu overhead that would be wasted working inside Falcon.

MIDI fx? Meh. If I can't play it in correctly I just have to keep trying and not rely on a program routine to do the job for me. Sequences & arpeggios? I play 'em in manually thank you very much. Then copy/paste as necessary. I like the human element when it's done that way. Drums being one of my instruments helps a great deal with timing.
who cares how you personally do it
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 08-28-2019, 07:09 PM
Bob L's Avatar
Bob L Bob L is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 517
Default Re: Are we not due an update??!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by gnjlee View Post
subscriptions are about stabilizing revenue streams for corporations, not about delivering anything to customers.
Bingo!
__________________
Bob
"Without a song,
The day would never end..."
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 08-29-2019, 04:34 PM
DetroitT's Avatar
DetroitT DetroitT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Detroit, Mi, USA
Posts: 2,124
Default Re: Are we not due an update??!!

Let us rephrase this.
Are we not due some new features / improvments
__________________
(Help us Help You)<<<click here

Testing:All APFS 90% 10% Audio on HFS+(Testing 1.5 yr in)
Pro Tools U-2019.10 macOS 10.14.6 APFS
Second boot-macOS 10.13.6 (Avid HDX-1 Omni)

(MP 5,1 / 64-Gb)
(Sapphire RX-580 MacVCEdition, 3-Displays)
MOTU FW-CoreAudio (for poly recording)
(SSL-HUI-MIDI over IP)
----
music-design-creation
Post Music-Sound mixing, Production-Enhancements.

Audio Tuning and System Services
----
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Update Module Firmware message after 3.7 update WildHoney Pro Tools | S6 1 10-21-2017 12:28 PM
Sierra 10.10.6 - To COMBO update - or App Store Update ? Seafoam_Green macOS 4 09-15-2017 02:19 PM
HD Native cant Update Firmware after installing PT9.0.5 Update Aditu Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 72 11-27-2012 04:57 PM
10.3 Update - Windows shutdown issue has returned. Update at your own risk. crm0510 Windows 14 09-19-2012 02:50 PM
10.5.6 update. Is it safe to apply the system update from 10.5.5? SBCCMusic 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 02-02-2009 03:27 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:25 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com