Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-31-2016, 11:13 AM
Media Man Media Man is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1998
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 512
Default Windows Graphics Card

I recently upgraded PT to 10 HD (and have the path to 12) on a refurbed Dell T5510. The refurb came bare bones and I have been using the basic generic graphics card that came with as I build and test the system. I also have only 8g of RAM.

Ironically, the new Avid website no longer calls for specific graphic cards in Windows PC, only "dedicated" graphics card recommended.

So now I have a real project and have noticed frequent freezes and crashes as I open help files, click on menus and such.

So I wonder if this is a result of the cheap graphics card or RAM. Any ideas? This is a very small track count with little processing required (mostly editing), but there is video. And while we are on the subject, any graphic card recommendations for Windows that have proven to work well with PT? I would like to have at least two outputs, perhaps three if I upgrade to a separate screen for video.

Thanks in advance.

Media Man
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-31-2016, 06:00 PM
JuanPC JuanPC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Miami FL
Posts: 600
Default Re: Windows Graphics Card

Pny gt740 1gb
Is the absolute minimum if you plan to have UltraHD 4K some day in the future, without purchasing another video card...

Works well, driver version must be well selected...

Quadro k620 is a bit better, but needs a Dp to HDMI 4K adapter from startech.com does not have HDMI.

Medium price would be:
K2200
Gtx970

In Nvidia...

In AMD is another story...
Radeon r9 290x


High end range:
Gtx980ti, Titan X
Quadro M6000, M5000, M4000
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EMI Noise: Graphics card to HD Native card jacknprewitt Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 0 10-19-2013 10:02 PM
HD Native Card Possibly Fried My Graphics Card witrelo Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 1 09-14-2011 12:46 PM
2nd graphics card for Mac Pro soundboy35 Post - Surround - Video 42 05-21-2009 02:24 AM
Graphics card for PT hws 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 08-07-2007 01:09 PM
Which Graphics Card for 2 LCD use? timcissell Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 07-25-2002 08:38 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:24 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com