Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-09-2009, 08:04 AM
rogee rogee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 65
Default windows xp service pack 3

hello

I just bought Adobe's master collection for website design and I want to install it on the same laptop as protools LE 7.3.1 but it says I need to upgrade to SP 3. will that cause any problems w/ PT?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-09-2009, 08:39 AM
Earl D Earl D is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 208
Default Re: windows xp service pack 3

Adobe Master Collection I wanted to do that but my loanmod fell thru
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-09-2009, 10:02 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,391
Default Re: windows xp service pack 3

Quote:
Originally Posted by rogee View Post
hello

I just bought Adobe's master collection for website design and I want to install it on the same laptop as protools LE 7.3.1 but it says I need to upgrade to SP 3. will that cause any problems w/ PT?
According to the compatibility grid
http://www.digidesign.com/index.cfm?...4&itemid=23876
it should work fine. Having said that, it is ALWAYS good to have a backup plan. Mine is to save a drive image or clone the system drive to another drive(USB drives are handy for this). Check out Acronis True Image, Norton Ghost or any drive imaging software. I keep images of every machine I own(its a handy way to recover from a crash, a bad update or a nasty virus too). You could save images for several machines on the same large USB drive.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-09-2009, 10:14 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,104
Default Re: windows xp service pack 3

Everyone, before making any changes to a drive should follow the advice Albee offers about cloning.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.12 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-10-2009, 09:57 AM
rogee rogee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 65
Default Re: windows xp service pack 3

all my songs are saved to an external hard drive so I shouldn't need to worry about that, right?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-10-2009, 04:28 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,104
Default Re: windows xp service pack 3

Wrong. Unless by saved you mean backed up. Be sure you have your sessions backed up on at least two additional separate drives or other media.

Well, one additional drive is critical and two is advised.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.12 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-10-2009, 05:22 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,391
Default Re: windows xp service pack 3

My system drive is backed up. The advantage if this is two-fold. First off, if it crashes, I can be back up and running in 5-10 minutes. The second thing is; if I install some update that goes sour and craps out my rig, I can restore to where I was in that same amount of time.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows Xp Service pack 2 aftermid Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 0 12-03-2008 11:29 PM
Windows XP Service Pack 3 sunburst79 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 11-28-2007 09:45 AM
Windows XP Service Pack 1 or Service Pack 2 Does it matter? Billy57 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 08-27-2007 08:37 PM
Windows XP Service Pack 2 and LE 5.3.1 baugh05 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 05-12-2005 12:43 PM
Windows Service Pack 2 ------ HELP!!!! T Brown 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 08-31-2004 08:47 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:37 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com