Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Old 04-25-2011, 11:20 PM

Default Can someone give me the rundown on Imaging with Acronis and it's importance?

I've been searching through a lot of threads here and reading about a lot of people using recovery software such as Acronis with PT. I just did a clean Windows re-install and I want to take every precaution possible to ensure that everything can run smoothly and I can focus on making music and not worry about tedious problems.

I guess I'm kind of looking for a "how to" when it comes to doing this with PT. I'm still a noob when it comes to all this technical stuff to be honest, my focus has always been on composing... but I'm trying to pick this up as best as I can.

- Do I need to purchase a new external/install another internal drive?

- If I'm taking precautionary steps and I install something that doesn't play nice with PT, wouldn't simply uninstalling the plug-in/or w/e else it is I installed do the same thing as reverting back to the previous image if I was using Acronis?

- Other methods of back up?

- Anything else I must know?
Old 04-26-2011, 07:01 AM

Default Re: Can someone give me the rundown on Imaging with Acronis and it's importance?

I like to keep a current image in at least 2 places. I also keep a clone, however it wont be nearly as up to date as my image will be.

If something doesnt play well with Pro Tools, then of course the first step would be to uninstall the program, dont just reach for an Acronis image first. If for instance you accidentally delete the wrong registry keys (and i have done this) then thats when you would reach for your Image first.