Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-09-2010, 07:37 AM
Niglopte Niglopte is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 13
Default UGH! ''DAE can't get audio from drive fast enough.'' Tried many different solutions!

Ok. So basically, PT has been giving me this:

"DAE can't get audio from drive fast enough. Drive may be too slow or fragmented, or a firewire drive could be having trouble due to extra firewire bandwith or CPU upload." (i think its 1093 or something, i dont have it in front of me.

I have a Macbook Pro 2.4 with 3 gig ram. I am using a Digi002R.

I used to have bootcamp with windows XP on it, which I know is dumb. Ran PT 7.4 on it for a while and then this error started popping up about every 30 seconds of recording/playback.

I decided to revamp my computer. Started from scratch, Intalled snow leopard, and PT 8. went smooth for a session or two, and not we're back to the same freaking error!!! Completely different version of PT and completely different OS, but same problem still there. Very weird.

Then I noticed that my old firewire cable had a tare in it. didnt change anything, problem is still there.

Needless to say im at a loss now and i dont know where to go from there... I've had a hard time with that macbook pro. It used to shut down randomly (it stopped when i reinstalled the OS), had to change the hard drive, and ive always had problems with the disc drive. Total lemon, but i really dont have the cash for a new computer so hopefully we'll be able to find a solution here...

let me know!
thanks guys,
Nic
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-09-2010, 02:56 PM
The Dougfather The Dougfather is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 3,200
Default Re: UGH! ''DAE can't get audio from drive fast enough.'' Tried many different solutio

No mention of an external firewire drive in your setup?

You shouldn't run your audio sessions from the internal drive for exact reasons that your experiencing.
__________________
iMac i5 2.8GHz, Macbook Pro 2.4GHz, Pro Tools 10/11, MOTU 828mk2, Presonus Digimax FS, Presonus Firestudio Project, TC Konnekt 24D
---
iCON Photography
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-09-2010, 03:07 PM
Dism Dism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,154
Default Re: UGH! ''DAE can't get audio from drive fast enough.'' Tried many different solutio

Quote:
Originally Posted by Niglopte View Post
Ok. So basically, PT has been giving me this:

"DAE can't get audio from drive fast enough. Drive may be too slow or fragmented, or a firewire drive could be having trouble due to extra firewire bandwith or CPU upload." (i think its 1093 or something, i dont have it in front of me.

I have a Macbook Pro 2.4 with 3 gig ram. I am using a Digi002R.

I used to have bootcamp with windows XP on it, which I know is dumb. Ran PT 7.4 on it for a while and then this error started popping up about every 30 seconds of recording/playback.

I decided to revamp my computer. Started from scratch, Intalled snow leopard, and PT 8. went smooth for a session or two, and not we're back to the same freaking error!!! Completely different version of PT and completely different OS, but same problem still there. Very weird.

Then I noticed that my old firewire cable had a tare in it. didnt change anything, problem is still there.

Needless to say im at a loss now and i dont know where to go from there... I've had a hard time with that macbook pro. It used to shut down randomly (it stopped when i reinstalled the OS), had to change the hard drive, and ive always had problems with the disc drive. Total lemon, but i really dont have the cash for a new computer so hopefully we'll be able to find a solution here...

let me know!
thanks guys,
Nic
It is a software requirement for Pro Tools to have a secondary drive to record to. In your case, an external FireWire drive (no USB!).
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-09-2010, 03:33 PM
Niglopte Niglopte is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 13
Default Re: UGH! ''DAE can't get audio from drive fast enough.'' Tried many different solutio

OK, thanks alot for the replies guys, its just weird that it has been working like that for a long long time and that all of a sudden it doesnt....

After 3 years of recording, I guess ill try, and then if that doesnt work, ill post again. Back to the basics for me...

I have a question though.... how exactly do I do this with only one firewire outlet on my computer?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-09-2010, 03:51 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,031
Default Re: UGH! ''DAE can't get audio from drive fast enough.'' Tried many different solutio

Quote:
Originally Posted by Niglopte View Post
I have a question though.... how exactly do I do this with only one firewire outlet on my computer?
Avid recommends Macbook>drive>interface. Even though the 002 has two firewire jacks, you shouldn't chain another device after it.

Be sure to get a minimum 7200 rpm drive, and the firewire bridge should be an Oxford 911/912/922/924.
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Sierra 10.12.6.

Pro Tools HD 2018.12, Focusrite Red 8Pre, Mbox 3 (Mac)
Pro Tools 11.3.2, Mbox2 (Win 7)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-09-2010, 03:53 PM
kwebster kwebster is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Portland
Posts: 6
Default Re: UGH! ''DAE can't get audio from drive fast enough.'' Tried many different solutio

There has been a lot of conversation about this particular problem (I for one have gone through support a couple times regarding it).

I hope adding an external FW drive cures the problem for you, but make sure of the following, especially if you have to call support.

1. Go through their Help us Help You documentation thoroughly.
2. Use a FW drive that has the Oxford chipset.
3. Make sure you have the latest version of your plug-ins and virtual instruments.
4. Don't use a FW Hub.

Just some things I had to sign off on as I talked to tech support.

My solutions were one of two things.

Revert from 8.0.3 to 8.0.1 CS2 on Leopard 10.5.8

and ultimately

Clean install (format the entire hard drive) of Snow Leopard 10.5.3 and install 8.0.3

This has worked flawlessly thus far, but I'm questioning my Kontakt (Komplete) installation as this very error just cropped up in a recent session.

Good luck to you!
__________________
Ken Webster
Portland, Oregon

iMac 2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo 24"
4GB Ram, OSX 10.6.3
Pro Tools LE 8.0.3
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-23-2014, 06:31 PM
lucidlife lucidlife is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: st pete fl
Posts: 95
Default Re: UGH! ''DAE can't get audio from drive fast enough.'' Tried many different solutio

Is firewire really that much better than usb3? I have an opportunity to get a glyph drive tb but, it's usb 3
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-23-2014, 06:35 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,390
Default Re: UGH! ''DAE can't get audio from drive fast enough.'' Tried many different solutio

USB 3 would be fine except your old MBP only has USB 2.

And your MBP is only a Core2 Duo so on the underpowered side anyhow. And you have a Firewire interface, so you've got a kind of crapshoot here. Firewire 800 disk will work better on a Mac than USB 2. But you are then putting a Firewire disk and interface on the same Firewire chain, and face possible problem with that.

Still I'd go with a proper-spec Firewire 800 drive (7,200 rpm or faster and Oxford Firewire chipset)... You may also have the option of replacing the optical drive in your MBP with a 2.5" SATA HDD or SSD (get a Samsung 840 Evo or Pro). Or even better get a new MBP

And as always, a good SSD would be better than any HDD, especially if going internal and your optical bay has a SATA III connection (I'll check later...).

EDIT: Nope looks like the Superdrive in this old girl is PATA so an internal drive is a non-starter.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DAE Can't get audio from the drive(s) fast enough zames 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 03-04-2011 10:47 AM
"DAE can't get audio from drive fast enough. Drive may be too slow or fragmented, or iminzayne 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 16 04-15-2010 10:28 PM
DAE Can't get audio from the drive(s) fast enough? daleh 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 42 09-25-2009 12:56 AM
DAE can't get audio from the drive(s) fast enough. Joemamma Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 2 01-23-2007 07:16 AM
DAE can't get audio from the drive(s) fast enough. momotaro Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 3 10-19-2006 02:07 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:28 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com