Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-01-2012, 08:05 PM
vudoo vudoo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 937
Default AC3 to discrete 5.1

is there a program / plug in that can convert my AC3 to discrete 5.1 wav files ??? Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-01-2012, 08:38 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: AC3 to discrete 5.1

maybe http://www.neyrinck.com/soundcode-for-dolby-digital
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-01-2012, 09:38 PM
vudoo vudoo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 937
Default Re: AC3 to discrete 5.1

already checked that one out. Does not seem to do it. Only encode to AC3 and decode but no export to discret 5.1. Anyone ??
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-01-2012, 09:58 PM
mikevarela mikevarela is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 571
Default Re: AC3 to discrete 5.1

Craig's right, this plugin DOES decode to 5.1. This is what you need
__________________
NuanceTone.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-02-2012, 02:15 AM
lexaudio lexaudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: LA
Posts: 1,034
Default Re: AC3 to discrete 5.1

Well the question is, are you trying to extract a mix from a DVD or listen back to an AC3 file?

If you want to extract the tracks, then try MPEG streamclip. Read the manual as if I remember it wasn't a single click operation.
A Pack that came with Final Cut 6 would turn them into waves as well.

Just decoding, then the plugin mentioned is the way to go.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-02-2012, 11:24 AM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 1,639
Default Re: AC3 to discrete 5.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by vudoo View Post
is there a program / plug in that can convert my AC3 to discrete 5.1 wav files ??? Thanks
As the others have said, the Neyrinck does what you want. I've got one for sale at a great price on the buy and sell forum:
http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?p=1977612

best,
rich
__________________
http://www.richbreen.com

----------------------------------------
MacPro 5,1 Dual Hex, OS 10.12.6, PT 2018 HDX, Avid HD I/Os and Metric Halo ULN8, Avid C24.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-02-2012, 11:34 AM
BroomPole BroomPole is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 96
Default Re: AC3 to discrete 5.1

If you want to just take an ac3 file and rip it to wavs / aiffs.

Mpeg Streamclip works but AFIK I always have to do it in stereo pairs (L / R, C / Lfe, Ls/ Rs) so three exports.

If you have access to a mac with an older OS there are a couple options that do it all in one click. AC3dec and one other that the name has escaped me. Search for AC3dec replacement.

cheers
Kevin
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-02-2012, 05:19 PM
Cheesehead Cheesehead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London
Posts: 602
Default Re: AC3 to discrete 5.1

AC3dec was the business and free, but sadly didn't make it to Lion and I haven't been able to find a decent replacement.

I keep a laptop with Leopard on for some of those really useful older programs. If you have one, or a partition I highly recommend it.

Best

Martin
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-30-2019, 03:02 PM
camiam camiam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Venice,Ca.
Posts: 7
Default Re: AC3 to discrete 5.1

Anyone have success using Neyrinck SoundCode For Dolby Digital 2 to decode a Bluray's 5.1 audio in protools? I want to watch a Bluray in my studio and play the audio through Protools using the decoder plugin.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-30-2019, 03:13 PM
TVPostSound's Avatar
TVPostSound TVPostSound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,226
Default Re: AC3 to discrete 5.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by camiam View Post
Anyone have success using Neyrinck SoundCode For Dolby Digital 2 to decode a Bluray's 5.1 audio in protools? I want to watch a Bluray in my studio and play the audio through Protools using the decoder plugin.
Do you mean Dolby Prologic II? Or Dolby Digital Plus?

Yes, Neyrinck will work.
__________________
IMDB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Difference between 5.1 and 5.1 discrete zzstation Post - Surround - Video 28 08-17-2011 07:10 AM
anyone here using discrete drums? skyking 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 04-01-2005 10:58 AM
Discrete Drums rickylaureano 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 11-27-2003 08:21 PM
Anyone use Discrete Drums? jpoprock General Discussion 0 04-04-2003 10:23 AM
Discrete Drums? MadeByNick 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 03-17-2003 11:01 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:32 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com