Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 10-21-1999, 03:19 PM
Keith Lynch Keith Lynch is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Posts: 20
Default Re: pt5&amiii

re: No full featured AMIII w/ PT 5?

I have 8 PT systems, in a variety of configurations, including MIX 24, TDM III, AMIII, etc.

What you folks have pointed out about no T/C on AMIII PT 5.0 is a bit discouraging to me, as this particular "improvement" means that I will now not upgrade to 5.0

Too bad for Digi, as I had already capitalized for five sets of the 5.0 upgrade expenditure, (not realizing that the AMIII problem existed.)

I can't deal with 5.0 - 4.3 - 5.0 for every single studio session. That's just not possible given my process deadlines. :-{

Well, I guess I can spend that money for someone else's plug-ins, etc.


k.

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-21-1999, 05:15 PM
coaster coaster is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: fargo nd usa
Posts: 1,042
Default Re: pt5&amiii

while i am thrilled about the better midi implementation in pt5, the lack of timecode is the straw that broke the camel's back. i often use 2 da88's (hate'm-another story...) with a sy88 card run through a mark of the unicorn box. this actually works quite well, especially for track cleanup and vocal comp. i submix on an analog board and final mix in pro tools. even an idiot knows i can't use this scenario without timecode. and i don't have $12k to upgrade. i might buy pt5 for midi, and keep 4.3.2 for timecode. or maybe i'll not upgrade and spend the money on HARDWARE (anyone remember real analog gear?)
as for the seriousness of the situation, i won't allow my life to be centered around a peice of software i cannot modify or change. if it works, great. if it doesn't, i'll buy an SGI...
__________________
www.mp3.com/xtac
for the faint of goth
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-21-1999, 05:52 PM
Kasper Kasper is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Boston,MA USA
Posts: 939
Default Re: pt5&amiii

To Targon-


"I hardly think a company is gonna go bankrup for not implementing Time Code for U.Jesus, PT and AudioMedia-3 is near useless anyhow with offline proccessing and yet u still bought it."

You are so right. It is useless, Now !

But not so in the past. Take a look at all the bitching that is going on from AMIII users. I do not speak only for myself. Many of these people use full blown systems with the AMIII.

Hello Digi!-Many people=Much $$$$ .

As Keith and Jim pointed out going back and forth between the two will be a nightmare. Many customers will opt for some other system and many will not upgrade the TDM systems they own. This looks like a sure way for Digi to go bankrupt to me.Maybe not right away, but all that upgrade $$ will start to pile up. Pile up into MOTU's or someone else's pocket.

"I can clearly remember the massive backlash AVID recieved when they announced they were
dropping Composer for the Mac.Man I have never seen such a hostile response ever.IfDigidesign ever did that to us and forced us to go NT then im sure the same hostility would be shown and as aconsequence many more Sonic Solutions systems would show up."

I know many AVID editors that have switched to Final Cut Pro, for just the reason you stated. They felt betrayed by the company that they supported for years and have found Final cut Pro to be just as good or better than the AVID, at a fraction of the cost. As far as I am concerned, Digi has forced me to go to another product. Didn't AVID learn anything from the past. We all got scared as we saw the stock drop like a rock after they said no more Mac. Now that the Mac is back again they are scrambling to try and get back all the customers that went to Final Cut Pro. Well, I think it's too late, they are long gone.

I am not asking Digi for features I want. I am asking that features not be REMOVED that i already paid for ! And yes I am hostile. This is only the start. If we roll over and let it happen, who will be next ? The PT III owners?
And what happens when 96K hardware comes out from Digi ? Will all the present hardware only be able to run PTle ?? OK, I digress,but this is just to make a point. When all the AMIII owners purchased the card they were told it would never be obsolete and run the same software as any PT system. Now Digi pulls this Sh*T. Why will anyone believe anything else Digi says ?

I am just amazed that someone in power at Digi really thinks this strategy is going to work. I hope they wake up before it is too late.

So.........I don't think I am overreacting, At all. I love ProTools and ues it everyday. I dont want to give it up. The software is great but the attitude from Digi su*ks and I for one will not support a company that pulls this kind of Sh*t, even if it didn't directly effect me.

kasper
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-21-1999, 06:22 PM
coaster coaster is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: fargo nd usa
Posts: 1,042
Default Re: pt5&amiii

kasper-
your right on the money.

digi-
is this tc removal really worth losing loyal and supportive customers?


__________________
www.mp3.com/xtac
for the faint of goth
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-21-1999, 06:51 PM
Targon Targon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Australia
Posts: 472
Default Re: pt5&amiii

Judging by the backlash, i have been forced to reconsider my position on this point.
I am sorry for failing to be more sensitive to this issue .Now that some of you have put things into perspective ,I concur,I to would be pissed if a feature was taken away in an upgraded app.Furthermore, it does seem like a pretty serious infraction,considering this feature will be made redundant if it is something that is heavily relied on.

This is a tuff issue however.I considered this version to be aimed at low end studio/bedroom studio guy's of whom only want to make tunes and edit/mix and burn them to CD in a hassle free software environment.Before this ,my ProTools software was freaking useless that came with the AM-3.The software was my sample editor app,it is the best for this but considering there is no SCSI Transfer this made life difficult.Offline proccessing was the biggest PITA,the editing environment is sooperb but i could not use it.Recording sucked cos i could not monitor.So basically it was a waste of code to me and upset me greatly because i knew this app could satisfy me greatly.So in light of this, u must be able to understand that after dreaming of being able to use ProTools with realtime plugs,simple but usefull MIDI sequencing,and controlable plug in parameters this PTle is a wild fantasy that has proliferated .

I dare say there are many many more ppl like me,many of whom who look at the likes of Steinberg and Emagic to full fill their needs.After using these app one conludes that they all blow and the strong desire to give up on computers all together looms large.

But i can undestand you're feelings, now finally you get what u and I have needed in the app then they take away something that is vital to you.

Anyways,i don't want to rock the boat anymore so im bailing out of this thread.I hope i can be redeemed??

TaRGØN

[This message has been edited by Targon (edited 10-21-99).]
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 10-21-1999, 11:04 PM
Kasper Kasper is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Boston,MA USA
Posts: 939
Default Re: pt5&amiii

Targon-

No need to bail.

This is what the forum is all about. Go ahead and "rock the boat". I don't expect everyone to have the same needs or opinions as I do.

"This is a tuff issue however.I considered this version to be aimed at low end studio/bedroom studio guy's of whom only want to make tunes and edit/mix and burn them to CD in a hassle free software environment."

I can't dispute that with you.But why on earth would Digi take features away from a product?
To get people to move up to a TDM system? Looks like thats the reason, but it ain't gonna work. Even if they had the money to spend, a lot of people just don't want all the outboard gear, or simply don't have enough PCI slots in the computer.Digi is trying to force people to buy hardware, when the reason people use PT to begin with is because they love the software. I just don't get it.Most companies try to put all the features they can into a product.Why does Digi want to take features away from an existing product ?

I think the main point,that you seem to be starting to see, is that there are a lot of professional engineers that use the AMIII card. I for one do, and I would gladly send Digi some more money for the 001 if it would run ProTools. As it sits, no dice. And no upgrade of my TDM system.

For all the "bedroom" composers and engineers, if you don't use Time Code now, it won't be long before you do. For every "bedroom" composer there is a "bedroom" film maker (no pun intended) who is going to want music for his/her movie, and without Time Code it will just stay in the "bedroom".

kasper
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 10-22-1999, 09:12 AM
jimlongo's Avatar
jimlongo jimlongo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: T_dot
Posts: 2,824
Default Re: pt5&amiii

hey maybe that Avid CEO that was just let go was the genius who thought up this "no timecode for LE" marketing nightmare, or was that the "let's get rid of Macs" fiasco
Good chance for the new CEO to be a hero.

http://www.avid.com/news/press_relea...l/1999-q3.html

[This message has been edited by Jim Longo (edited 10-22-99).]

[This message has been edited by Jim Longo (edited 10-22-99).]
__________________
noise | jimlongo
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 10-22-1999, 09:25 AM
Jack The Jack The is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 22
Default Re: pt5&amiii

The most annoying thing about this whole PTLE issue isn't that LE has no timecode. Nor is it that many of the other features I need will not be in LE.

It's that I can't buy the full version.

I would gladly walk into the local music store and plunk down cash for the full version of ProTools 5.0 even though I own a ToolBox system.

But I can't.

poo
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 10-22-1999, 10:28 AM
Kasper Kasper is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Boston,MA USA
Posts: 939
Default Re: pt5&amiii

Jack The-

Right on Brother !!!!!

So would I.

What Digi has done is prevented every AMIII, toolbox and 001 customer from giving them more $$$$$.

I am completely and utterly mystified !!

kasper
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 10-23-1999, 01:00 AM
Kevan Staples Kevan Staples is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Toronto Canadada
Posts: 381
Default Re: pt5&amiii

I must agree that it seems rather silly to have two versions of the software. If anything it makes for more work for the programmers.

I would prefer one piece of software to work on all hardware. I use both a Protools d24 TDM system as well as an Audiomedia system. Both use Protools full version. If I want to upgrade to PT5 for my d24 I must now use PT5LE on my AMIII...downright goofy I say. The same goes for the new "fab gear rave" 001 card. I would love to use it in place of my AMIII but don't need to have two versions of PT.

Oh well...nevermind

Kevan
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Who's in charge of AMIII development? This AMIII business has gone on far too long. sixgun General Discussion 2 01-05-2005 10:27 PM
Help - G4/Mix+/AMIII roderickelms Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 06-09-2003 11:11 AM
G4 and AMIII Grey Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 11-17-2000 03:20 PM
pt4.3-os9-amIII-i cant find amIII card?? guell1 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 06-15-2000 02:49 AM
Using 001 and AMIII? Jasper 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 11-04-1999 07:17 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:02 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com