Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Old 12-11-2019, 07:38 PM

Default Workflow question with video

I'm a composer working in Pro Tools. Re-conforming when the upstream edit turns over is a bit of a pain: I would like to be able to just change a timecode offset and avoid having to reimport audio and video.

I understand I can do this with Video Slave, except it doesn't support looping (when using MTC/MMC) or tempo changes (when using DAWLink). The Avid ecosystem alternative (running Pro Tools or Media Composer on a separate machine) seems overkill, particularly in terms of license cost, but probably is the most flexible.

The Avid Video Engine already runs in a separate process and, as I understand it, uses the same protocol internally as Video Satellite – ideally there would be a way to interface with it so one could load a video independently of a Pro Tools session. Avid, any thoughts?

Right now, I'm thinking Video Slave is probably the best option... just better not write any tempo changes (as looping is useful!).
Old 12-16-2019, 04:33 PM

Default Re: Workflow question with video

If you get new picture, how can you avoid loading it when checking your cues? I'm trying to think through your process, and I don't fully understand it yet.
Old 12-16-2019, 04:36 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by reichman View Post
If you get new picture, how can you avoid loading it when checking your cues? I'm trying to think through your process, and I don't fully understand it yet.
I probably didn't explain myself very well. I want to just load it in one place and update the offsets in my (composing) session rather than having the film live in the composing session.