Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-15-2021, 12:12 PM
ts1234 ts1234 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 20
Default Group/Ungroup on Edit Page

I've been using PT for a while and I just "Control =" to see if my tracks are in a group or not on the mix page. I can pound on "Control Shift G" all day long on the Edit page and for the life of me I can't see any indication of what mode it's in. Surely, I'm just missing it as doing some things when it's engaged really sucks to back out of...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-16-2021, 12:18 AM
cwsand's Avatar
cwsand cwsand is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 3,494
Default Re: Group/Ungroup on Edit Page

If you click the little arrow pointing left at the very bottom left of the Edit window, you'll see a list of your groups which will be greyed out when deactivated. I don't know of a way to show the Group status on the Edit page like it does on the Mix page other than that. Would be nice to have an indicator on the Edit window though without having to do that.
__________________
Help Us Help You

Chris
__________________________________________________
Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56
TCE Studio Konnekt 48
PreSonus Digimax LT
Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3P / i7 6700K 4.1 GHz / 32GB Crucial DDR4
macOS Catalina 10.15.7
Pro Tools HD 2020.12.0
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-16-2021, 08:57 AM
ts1234 ts1234 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 20
Default Re: Group/Ungroup on Edit Page

Maybe it's because I'm in dark mode, but I have that side window open all the time. Nothing changes any shade of anything when I toggle back and forth with "ctrl shift g" in the group window.

While it was designed to be a studio first, it's also my home theater room with black and dark red walls, ceiling, and carpet that suck all the light out of the room. Without dark mode it's painful to use...weirdly that the most appreciated new feature in PT for me.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-16-2021, 09:30 AM
originalscottyg originalscottyg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Detroit
Posts: 787
Default Re: Group/Ungroup on Edit Page

There have been a lot of complaints about Dark Mode. And while I've been mostly fine with it and have gotten used to most everything in Dark Mode, Groups Suspend/Enable is almost impossible to discern.

There is another thread in this forum: http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=412759 that discusses user modifications to the dark mode color scheme in detail. And this post: http://duc.avid.com/showpost.php?p=2...&postcount=411 shows instructions on how to make the changes on Mac (I don't know how to do this on Windows). The one correction to this single post link is that the txt file is actually called "PTColors.txt", not "dark mode.txt".

The only change I incorporated into this file is changing the one line that makes the groups list RED when suspended. I'd be happy to share my modified PTColors.txt file with you via DM.
__________________
Scott Gatteño
Yessian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-16-2021, 09:54 AM
ts1234 ts1234 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 20
Default Re: Group/Ungroup on Edit Page

That would be awesome! I have no idea if even the numbers to identify colors are the same between Apple and Windows...The file would be awesome. Could you also point out what that single line was? If find only two lines in that file on Windows that mention "group." I assume it's one of these?

cGroupsListTextColor (65535,65535,65535,39321)
GroupListViewSuspendedText (65535,65535,65535,29555)

If your numbers are the same...I can just change mine. I'm assuming the difference between the last two numbers in each line though they look big must be insignificant.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-16-2021, 10:11 AM
ts1234 ts1234 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 20
Default Re: Group/Ungroup on Edit Page

Wow...never mind sending anything! I just found a line that said RED and used those numbers in group suspend line and now they toggle...

Thanks so much...that was SO frustrating!!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ungroup-Regroup Clips removes Clip Group Mutes beanbagjimmy macOS 2 05-07-2019 10:37 AM
MIDI Edit page Kc Taylor Pro Tools 12 0 07-03-2016 06:55 PM
Cannot Ungroup Drums in edit window PT LE 8 ANYONE Asap... dkstudios 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 03-25-2010 06:28 PM
MIDI edit page.... Edit Window Scrolling ... Page Norm Mix MIDI 1 07-06-2009 08:31 PM
Renaming i/o from Mix/Edit Page russ russell Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 06-24-2008 11:18 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:29 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com