Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-24-2012, 03:13 AM
Codo Codo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 43
Default HD TDM / Quicktime conflicts...

Dear Forum.

After installing for instance Pro Tools 10.1.2, there are no probs opening other programs calling for audio card extensions - but I always close my Pro Tools before having any other programs opened.

But after a while it somehow screws up:

Other programs (Quicktime, iTunes, Safari etc.) do not respond when opened anymore. Even though I close them again in my program manager the system needs a total shutdown before it´ll run Pro Tools.

I definitely need access to a regular waveplayer, so that I can listen songs without having to start my Pro Tools just for the little listening here and there.

The only solution I´ve found is uninstalling and reinstalling Pro Tools - and again it´s just a matter of days, and things get screwed again...

Has anyone an easier solution? Could be a never conflicting audioplayer or some fiddeling with scripts, knex, extensions etc...

Thanks from Denmark

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Mac Pro 3.1 16GB OSX 10.6.8 PT 10.1.2 HD3
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-24-2012, 06:21 AM
psmworld's Avatar
psmworld psmworld is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: austria
Posts: 354
Default Re: HD TDM / Quicktime conflicts...

how didi you setup your osx audio-output?

you´re on a tdm system?
__________________
Selling:


Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-24-2012, 06:34 AM
Codo Codo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 43
Default Re: HD TDM / Quicktime conflicts...

Oh yes, it´s TDM HD3.

As I have no other amps or speakers than the ones connected to my MH192s, the "Sound Out" for applications goes to the Digidesign HW...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-24-2012, 06:41 AM
psmworld's Avatar
psmworld psmworld is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: austria
Posts: 354
Default Re: HD TDM / Quicktime conflicts...

and this is causing troubles. the digi-hardware can´t switch perfectly between pro tools hd audio and system-audio through digidesign-hw driver.
__________________
Selling:


Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-24-2012, 07:24 AM
Codo Codo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 43
Default Re: HD TDM / Quicktime conflicts...

Yes, sort of.

When I´ve closed down PT and open f.i. Quicktime, then quicktime opens DigiCore, but afterwards Quicktime doesn´t respond anymore.

So I forceclose Quicktime and cannot run PT before a complete shutdown+opening of the maschine.

Well well, I can almost load my PT, but just before rebuilding windows, then PT won´t respond. - And thats why I must do this shutdown and then ONLY run PT after startup...

So as you say - the DigiHW cannot assign driver to anything but PT anymore...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-24-2012, 08:29 AM
psmworld's Avatar
psmworld psmworld is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: austria
Posts: 354
Default Re: HD TDM / Quicktime conflicts...

switching between pro tools and digi core audio isn´t fine anymore.

there might be something still loaded to the cards that cripples this functionality.
__________________
Selling:


Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CPU Conflicts Siegfried Meier 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 11 03-08-2007 11:48 PM
PT 7.3 and Reason conflicts... paul16 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 01-15-2007 10:47 AM
PT and Rhapsody Conflicts TMitchJobe 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 06-03-2006 07:13 PM
protools conflicts with jam Ricco 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 09-17-2001 01:15 AM
Any Extension conflicts with PT MIX+24 and Quicktime? black magic Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 07-27-2000 12:02 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:18 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com