Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 06-13-2019, 09:26 AM
Ed Douglas's Avatar
Ed Douglas Ed Douglas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Toronto Ont, Canada
Posts: 251
Default Re: 6-core vs. 12-core MacPro w/ ProTools

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post

2019.5 has even convinced me to get an 8 core i9 MacBook Pro, partially out of curiosity if it can run well without thermally throttling to nothing. I don't actually need that much power for my Pro Tools use, but it's handy for other stuff I do.
I'm seriously considering replacing my loaded 2016 i7 15" MBP with a 2019 i9 as well. My big Imax Immersive premix sessions (400+ tracks running spanner and DTS' Atmos equivalent plugins while driving a few large monitors) are really pushing the limit. I'm hoping the i9 in conjunction with pushing the Vega 20 won't mean serious thermal issues...
__________________
Neotech Concepts
http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0235036/
! sonic gymnastics for the illusionary arts !

2019 i9 MacBook Pro (15,3), macOSX 10.14.6, PT Ultimate 2019.6, Atmos Production Suite 3.2, MDA Creator1.5, Rx7 Advanced, Ozone 8 Advanced, Kontakt 6.1.1, Soundminer v4.5Pro, Spanner 3.0.5, SoundHack 0.896
EuControl 19.9.1.17, PT|Control 19.9.1.17, iPad Pro 12.9" gen 1, iPad Pro 12.9" gen 3, Apollo 8 Duo tb2, UAD-2 Satellite Quad tb2, Glyph 2TB tb3 NVMe SSD, x2 Glyph 2TB SSDs, x1 Glyph 4TB SSD, OWC tb3 Dock, OWC Thunderbay 4 28TB

Last edited by Ed Douglas; 06-13-2019 at 09:37 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 06-14-2019, 04:34 PM
Cheesehead Cheesehead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London
Posts: 597
Default Re: 6-core vs. 12-core MacPro w/ ProTools

Nice one Eric.
Good to know it went well.
Buy yourself something nice with the 2500 you've saved.
__________________
Mac Pro 6,1 12 core, OSX 10.14.6, HD-Native TB, Trinnov MC, 888 IO, 192 IO, Sync HD, AJA IO XT, MC Mix, PT Control, Eucon 19.9, PT 2019.6
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrade my 6 core 2013 MacPro to a 12 core, or get a new 6 core when released? jaminjamesp macOS 2 03-15-2019 03:26 PM
Macbook Air 2014 (1.4ghz Dual-core Intel core i5 Vs. Mid 2010 MBP i7 Quad-Core and PT TheGoodhusbands Virtual Instruments 2 09-11-2015 10:49 AM
Protools HD 9 / MacPro Dual 6 Core roberts Pro Tools 9 0 11-12-2010 10:15 PM
help with the new macpro 8 core running protools LE frostyeve 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 10-30-2010 09:06 PM
MacPro 8 core runs Mpowered better on only 1 core??? textiles Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 5 08-25-2009 01:13 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:55 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com