Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #571  
Old 03-24-2019, 11:50 PM
SDDP SDDP is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angles, CA
Posts: 501
Default Re: Pro Tools 2019 !

Quote:
Originally Posted by YYR123 View Post
Well I didn’t buy back in during 2018. I renewed once in 2017 and got v12.4-12.8, which were pretty good

So it’s been 2 years since they got my money....and I don’t really think I’ve missed anything....anything groundbreaking anyway

I’ve got 2 more years till I can buy back in......and come out ahead
For me, since they started this a few years ago, I did the math and if one doesn't buy the yearly subscription at $400. You have to wait over 2 years and buy it on a %20 off sale at $800 to come out even and ahead. But you are right about anything ground breaking. I've always used every odd number upgrade. Ver 3, then jumped on 5, then 7.4.something which was ROCK solid. Then 9 and was content. Then 11 was EPIC and GROUND BREAKING with finally being re-coded at 64bit with clip gain. And I just re-newed last week to 2018.12. Yes there some nice features in 2018 that I have now that was also in 12 that I missed out on, but been mixing/editing day and night and nothing EPIC (track freeze/commit) is very useful though, but not ground breaking. The only reason that I upgraded to the new yearly plan was because of 2019 coming out and having 128 more voices giving me 384 total, That is a HUGE deal for 5.1 or ATMOS mixes (since the only way to get more than 256 was to buy 2 DHX cards at $3,200 each) and I demo'd PT 2019 last week and the fact you can bring in a plug in while playing is a very useful feature. I figured I will have 2019.12 by the end of the year and probably won't renew again for a few more years. Unless its something EPICALLY GROUNDBREAKING again. Like multiple clip folders or......the buffer setting of 64 having the power of a buffer setting of 1024. And of course 1024 having 10 times what it has now. I'd gladly pay $5,0000 for that upgrade.
__________________
-Mac Pro 5,1 12core 2.4GHz Westmere 40g
-RX 580 8GB GPU
-OSX 10.12.6 on a 1TB SSD Via PCIE card
-PTHDN 2019.5 Ultimate
-HD Omni
-BM Intensity Pro

-Waves Mercury+SSL4000 Collection+Abbey Roads
-iZotope RX7 Advanced
-iZotope Post Production Suite 3
-iZotope Music Production Suite 2.1
-HALO UP/DOWN MIX
-ANYMIX
-Delonghi Perfecta ESAM 5600.S
Reply With Quote
  #572  
Old 03-25-2019, 12:24 AM
jchan jchan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 258
Default Re: Pro Tools 2019 !

Eventide (New Fangled Audio) Elevate is the best limiter I've used so far. Loves your cpu :)
Reply With Quote
  #573  
Old 03-25-2019, 04:11 AM
WorldStudios WorldStudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 807
Default Re: Pro Tools 2019 !

It loves it so much, in fact that it wants almost all of it for itself. :) I use just a few bands and then it is fine. But 26 bands is heavyyyyyyyy on the CPU.
__________________
Johan Bejerholm
World Studios
Sweden

Phone +46707773443
Reply With Quote
  #574  
Old 03-25-2019, 06:43 AM
killah_trakz's Avatar
killah_trakz killah_trakz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 56
Default Re: Pro Tools 2019 !

Quote:
Originally Posted by SDDP View Post
On another protools forum.

And from speaking to a Avid rep at Namm and another at a Music expo last week when I demo'd PT 2019 they eluded to very very soon.

But I take everything with a grain of salt


So how is the 2019 ? Which plugins were used when testing the non stop features ?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
WENT FROM HD TO M-POWERED
Reply With Quote
  #575  
Old 03-25-2019, 06:51 AM
clausiii's Avatar
clausiii clausiii is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 1,800
Default Re: Pro Tools 2019 !

Quote:
Originally Posted by killah_trakz View Post
So how is the 2019 ? Which plugins were used when testing the non stop features ?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
well, nobody except Avid knows that. It´s not out yet.
__________________
My ears! My ears!
clausiii
-----------------
MacBook Pro i7 Quad 2.6GHz 16GB RAM
ProTools 2019.5
Digidesign Command|8
macOS Mojave
MOTU 4pre
MOTU Track16
Axiom Pro 25
LinnStrument 128
Roli Seaboard Block

tons of stomp boxes
tube amps
guitars
noise
Reply With Quote
  #576  
Old 03-25-2019, 07:02 AM
DetroitT's Avatar
DetroitT DetroitT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Detroit, Mi, USA
Posts: 2,110
Default Re: Pro Tools 2019 !

“...and I demo'd PT 2019 last week and the fact you can bring in a plug in while playing is a very useful feature. ”
__________________
(Help us Help You)<<<click here

Testing:All APFS 90% 10% Audio on HFS+(Testing 1.5 yr in)
Pro Tools U-2019.6 MacOS 10.14.6
Second boot-10.13.6 (Avid HDX-1 Omni)

(MP 5,1 / 64-Gb)
(Sapphire RX-580 MacVCEdition, 3-Displays)
MOTU FW-CoreAudio (for poly recording)
(SSL-HUI-MIDI over IP)
----
music-design-creation
Post Music-Sound mixing, Production-Enhancements.

Audio Tuning and System Services
----
Reply With Quote
  #577  
Old 03-25-2019, 07:30 AM
RyanC RyanC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 638
Default Re: Pro Tools 2019 !

Quote:
Originally Posted by SDDP View Post
the buffer setting of 64 having the power of a buffer setting of 1024. And of course 1024 having 10 times what it has now. I'd gladly pay $5,0000 for that upgrade.
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/i...-guide.255082/

It's about 5k to build and will do exactly what you're asking for coming from a 12c 2.4g westmere. I have 2 of them, monsters...
Reply With Quote
  #578  
Old 03-25-2019, 10:00 AM
dankin dankin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Nashvillle
Posts: 468
Default Re: Pro Tools 2019 !

Quote:
Originally Posted by DetroitT View Post
“...and I demo'd PT 2019 last week and the fact you can bring in a plug in while playing is a very useful feature. ”
This would not be a reason for me to upgrade. I can open plugins while playing now, and unless it's a cpu hog, it just opens and keeps playing. VI's are different and will sometime cause 9173, but VI performance in PT still sucks in general anyway. But I open ProQ3,BX4k, Arousor, etc all the time while I'm in playback, and it's rare that it stops or gives an error. For me to buy back in, there's got to be a noticeable increase in performance. Especially at buffers below 128, which has been a crap show since 11 came out, even though on paper the dual buffers should have made it better than prior versions. Solid VI performance would also be a huge thing to me. I know a few people on here claim they get that, but that has never been my experience compared to other DAW's. Also, for once and for all, please fix the bug that causes instruments to loose their midi input when opening a session.
__________________
2018.3 HD, MacPro 5.1 12core 3.46, 24gig ram, OS 10.12.6, 2014 MPB 2.8, OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #579  
Old 03-25-2019, 12:29 PM
SDDP SDDP is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angles, CA
Posts: 501
Default Re: Pro Tools 2019 !

Quote:
Originally Posted by killah_trakz View Post
So how is the 2019 ? Which plugins were used when testing the non stop features ?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I don't remember, I was too shocked lol
__________________
-Mac Pro 5,1 12core 2.4GHz Westmere 40g
-RX 580 8GB GPU
-OSX 10.12.6 on a 1TB SSD Via PCIE card
-PTHDN 2019.5 Ultimate
-HD Omni
-BM Intensity Pro

-Waves Mercury+SSL4000 Collection+Abbey Roads
-iZotope RX7 Advanced
-iZotope Post Production Suite 3
-iZotope Music Production Suite 2.1
-HALO UP/DOWN MIX
-ANYMIX
-Delonghi Perfecta ESAM 5600.S
Reply With Quote
  #580  
Old 03-26-2019, 12:37 PM
Ed Douglas's Avatar
Ed Douglas Ed Douglas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Toronto Ont, Canada
Posts: 251
Default Re: Pro Tools 2019 !

2019.3?

It's really going to be down to the wire, isn't it?

Anxious to see what kind of CPU load the increased track/voice count will have. Hoping I can finally get all my Specs and BGs in one session.

E>
__________________
Neotech Concepts
http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0235036/
! sonic gymnastics for the illusionary arts !

2019 i9 MacBook Pro (15,3), macOSX 10.14.6, PT Ultimate 2019.6, Atmos Production Suite 3.2, MDA Creator1.5, Rx7 Advanced, Ozone 8 Advanced, Kontakt 6.1.1, Soundminer v4.5Pro, Spanner 3.0.5, SoundHack 0.896
EuControl 19.9.1.17, PT|Control 19.9.1.17, iPad Pro 12.9" gen 1, iPad Pro 12.9" gen 3, Apollo 8 Duo tb2, UAD-2 Satellite Quad tb2, Glyph 2TB tb3 NVMe SSD, x2 Glyph 2TB SSDs, x1 Glyph 4TB SSD, OWC tb3 Dock, OWC Thunderbay 4 28TB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2019 features for pro tools vanilla ? cmbourget Pro Tools 2018 29 03-04-2019 03:00 PM
Namm 2019 jeffro General Discussion 2 01-26-2019 10:22 AM
Looks like at least 2019 before new Mac Pro K Roche Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 3 04-19-2018 06:44 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:09 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com