Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-07-2008, 06:05 PM
yambike yambike is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 55
Default Anyone try the Dell T7400? Three 64 bit PCI-X slots in a row

The new Dell workstation, the T7400 has three 64 bit PCI-X slots in a row. I'm considering this for an HD3 Accel setup.

Any thoughts?

http://www.dell.com/content/products...555&l=en&s=biz
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-10-2008, 09:54 AM
yambike yambike is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 55
Default Re: Anyone try the Dell T7400? Three 64 bit PCI-X slots in a

... but only 2 of the slots supports full length cards.

http://support.dell.com/support/edoc....htm#wp1211247

Oh well. Interesting that the new flagship Dell workstation is based around PCI-X though.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-13-2008, 11:35 PM
GeneOuse GeneOuse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 615
Default Re: Anyone try the Dell T7400? Three 64 bit PCI-X slots in a

Quote:


Oh well. Interesting that the new flagship Dell workstation is based around PCI-X though.
There just isnt much PCI-E hardware out there except for video cards so they had to go back to PCI-X to be able to sell more systems. In fact every new motherboard that's announced today has more and more PCI-X slots.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-14-2008, 08:48 AM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Anyone try the Dell T7400? Three 64 bit PCI-X slots in a

Quote:
Quote:


Oh well. Interesting that the new flagship Dell workstation is based around PCI-X though.
There just isnt much PCI-E hardware out there except for video cards so they had to go back to PCI-X to be able to sell more systems. In fact every new motherboard that's announced today has more and more PCI-X slots.
While i agree about the derth of PCIe hardware the truth is its just now trickiling in. Sound cards, RAID controllers, Various adapter cards are all out there now.

The only reason that they are putting out new PCI-X boards is so that the server users can use Legacy Hardware. I'm not aware of anybody thats actively devoping new PCI-X hardware-all of the resources are going into PCIe.
In anything other than the server arena PCI and PCI-X slots will soon be dropped. Do not be suprised if Intels next gen CPU and Chipsets drop native PCi and PCI-X entirely like they have done with PS2 connecters and IDE support.

If you want to use older PCI based HD cards grab the BobNagy, NickH,Markuss44UK, Guitarzan Asus work station board. It will take 4 full length PCI-X based HD cards.

You dont think that 64 bit PCI-X is going to offer any advantage over 32 bit PCi do you? You might see a incremental differance running HD2 in some old MAC but you much better off with a modern quad core processer, HD4 and the much faster desktop memory.

Pick out your system by slot spacing...the PCI-X HD cards will run just fine in a regular 32bit PCI slot. You can normally mix PCI and PCI-X slots also. Its mostly a matter of whether the card will physicaly fit into the board.

Just My .02... I also realise that not every one wants to assemble their own machine and that the tech support 1-800 number offers some comfort. But unless the Dell is Digi approved I would look elsewere.

PCI-X is as dead as the Pentium4 in the workstation segment.....they just have not read it its last rites yet.

Theres no reason to ditch your current Digi hardware if its working though. With the exception of the Accel chips you not going to see a dramatic performance differance between PCI,PCI-X and PCIe as far the slot type. The differances are due more to the amount and types of chips on the cards.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-20-2008, 11:24 AM
yambike yambike is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 55
Default Re: Anyone try the Dell T7400? Three 64 bit PCI-X slots in a


I should mention that the Dell T7400 documentation states that one of the three PCI-X slots only fits half-length cards, but I've spoken to a tech at Dell and I've been assured that all three PCI-X slots will fit 13.5 inch cards. This model also has the same Intel Harpertown processors and Intel 5400 chipset as the new Mac Pros.

Thanks for the build info, sunburst79. I had actually followed some of that discussion with interest. It's good to know some people have Intel quad core processors working. But I decided that I can't go the DIY route this time around.

I wonder if anyone has had success running the Harpertown processors with PT on Windows.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-26-2008, 07:22 PM
yambike yambike is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 55
Default Re: Anyone try the Dell T7400? Three 64 bit PCI-X slots in a


Call me crazy but I went ahead and ordered one of these with two of the Harpertown quad-core processors, installed the HD3 Accel cards and ... it works. The PCI buss is at about 25-30% on the meter and steady. I'm working on a project that crippled my AMD X2 machine from the RTAS load and this computer running the same project is reading around 25-30% CPU, steady, and with all 8 cores working. It looks like I'm set to do some mixing.

I should mention that the computer showed up D.O.A. due to a bad power supply. Dell sent someone to replace it next day though.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-12-2009, 12:58 PM
lunatic lunatic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 124
Default Re: Anyone try the Dell T7400? Three 64 bit PCI-X slots in a row

Still happy with the Dell T7400, Yambike?
__________________
Brad Smalling
Evergroove Studio
A Colorado Recording Studio
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-12-2009, 07:43 PM
yambike yambike is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 55
Default Re: Anyone try the Dell T7400? Three 64 bit PCI-X slots in a row

Hey Brad. No regrets with this computer at all. It's the best one I've had so far by a big margin.

You may have noticed that it's now Digi approved for PTHD 8. I can vouch that it's solid with 7.3.1sc6 and Win XP.

I don't know how much of a jump up it would be for you. You have a 690, if I recall right? I had a DIY Asus/X2 4400 before and it's a ridiculous jump up in processing power and stability from that. Processor overhead isn't an issue anymore for me. This computer is more towards the back of my mind while I'm working than any computer I've worked with.

I can only vouch for the configuration I have, Harpertown processors and the Intel 5400 chipset. Don't know if anything has changed.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-13-2009, 10:13 AM
lunatic lunatic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 124
Default Re: Anyone try the Dell T7400? Three 64 bit PCI-X slots in a row

Yup we're on a 690 but we now need to get the computer into a rack. So, I was seeing if you were happy with the T7400 because there is a 3rd party rack kit for it's little brother.

I'll probably just end up building something and selling the Dell 690. It should be said that the 690 is a GREAT machine. If I could come up with a way to rack it, horizontally, and keep it secure I'd keep it.
__________________
Brad Smalling
Evergroove Studio
A Colorado Recording Studio
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-11-2009, 04:51 PM
tonygoodall tonygoodall is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: uk
Posts: 193
Default Re: Anyone try the Dell T7400? Three 64 bit PCI-X slots in a row

which spec did you go for 4GB? or more? Vista or XP? Do you have any advice for someone getting a new PC (I have had HD2 since release and am starting to use too many RTAS instruments for second host - core2 duo, bought a quad but slots were not clear beyond the 32 bit section)
Cheers
Tony
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Penryn 8Core tested and working! Dell T7400 reiterw 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 01-14-2008 11:04 AM
AD 192 slots......Can I do? wasabi Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 11-24-2006 04:14 PM
PCI Slots for HD 2 Brianmcnamara Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 11-01-2006 01:16 PM
New G5 PCI Slots MIA Tech 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 06-26-2003 01:33 AM
new G4s + PCI slots spacegoat Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 01-09-2001 05:24 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:56 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com