Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-23-2010, 12:20 AM
dostacks dostacks is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 12
Default Pro Tools installer disc will not launch properly on my system.

I tried to search for similar issues but most people atleast are able to launch their installation.

Basically I thought this was just Pro Tools not working with Windows 7, so once the the problem occured I went to XP Pro SP3, so I think it must have to do with either some driver or hardware component.

The problem is when I go to launch the set up or auto run, a blank grey window comes up and thats it. I know its not the disc because I tried putting the disc into another computer and a splash window with all the options to install comes up like its supposed to. I have a gut feeling it may be my CPU, but haven't found any KNOWN issue, so its driving me nuts! I have been trying to put this rig together for months and finally thought I had it all, but... not so much. ANY help or suggestions would be amazing!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-23-2010, 12:24 AM
dostacks dostacks is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 12
Default Re: Pro Tools installer disc will not launch properly on my system.

Mainboard : Asus M4A785TD-V EVO
Chipset : AMD 785GX
Processor : AMD Athlon II X3 435 @ 2900 MHz
Physical Memory : 2048 MB (1 x 2048 DDR3-SDRAM )
Video Card : ATI Radeon HD 4200
Hard Disk : ST3500418AS (500 GB)
DVD-Rom Drive : TSSTcorp CDDVDW SH-S223C
Monitor Type : ViewSonic VA1703wb-2 - 17 inches
Network Card : RTL8168/8111 PCIe Gigabit Ethernet Adapter
Network Card : AR5212 802.11a/b/g Wireless Network Adapter
Operating System : Microsoft Windows XP Professional 5.01.2600 Service Pack 3
TRYING to install Pro Tools 8 with an Mbox 2

those are my specs btw!

Last edited by dostacks; 03-23-2010 at 12:25 AM. Reason: forgot info
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-23-2010, 01:53 AM
uller uller is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: denmark
Posts: 278
Default Re: Pro Tools installer disc will not launch properly on my system.

Maybe u DVD-Rom Drive has trouble reading the cd
Have you tried to copy the disc to hard disk and then run it from there
__________________
Brian Uller
Denmark
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-23-2010, 08:35 AM
Rythameen Rythameen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 50
Default Re: Pro Tools installer disc will not launch properly on my system.

Had the same problem here with a new computer and ended up copying the disc contents to my desktop and installing from there.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-23-2010, 03:14 PM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,692
Default Re: Pro Tools installer disc will not launch properly on my system.

we'll get back to this inevitably so I might as well get it over with now.
You need a second hard drive for audio....
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-24-2010, 11:58 AM
dostacks dostacks is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 12
Default Re: Pro Tools installer disc will not launch properly on my system.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sw rec View Post
we'll get back to this inevitably so I might as well get it over with now.
You need a second hard drive for audio....
That couldn't possibly be causing my problem I can't even see the menu to install anything, I do understand the importance of a second hard drive though.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-25-2010, 11:30 AM
dostacks dostacks is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 12
Default Re: Pro Tools installer disc will not launch properly on my system.

So I'm still trying to copy the disc onto my computer, but I'm having nothing but trouble. Its getting to a certain point than giving my a "cyclical error". I'm going to check to see if another dvd rom will work, but after that I found no other known issues that would cause my problem. ANY help in this matter would be great because at this point it looks like I have to take back some of these components or buy new ones which is gonna be a huge hassle.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-25-2010, 11:32 AM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,692
Default Re: Pro Tools installer disc will not launch properly on my system.

Just shooting in the dark here, but aren't those discs DUAL LAYER? And if you have a SINGLE LAYER DVD reader, it won't "see" the dual layer discs. Just wondering 'cause I remember the original ZIPPED download wouldn't fit on a single layer DVD....
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-25-2010, 11:44 AM
JMS40 JMS40 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Gnashville
Posts: 6,347
Default Re: Pro Tools installer disc will not launch properly on my system.

There is an issue with these disc's and certain DVD units. If you are like most with this problem, the install hangs on "data2.cab".
I finally had to extract the disc on my laptop and transfer the files to my DAW.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-25-2010, 11:46 AM
JMS40 JMS40 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Gnashville
Posts: 6,347
Default Re: Pro Tools installer disc will not launch properly on my system.

SW... both the DVD units in my situation are dual layer.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro-Tools 8 M-Powered Installer Disc is damaged - HELP! trptman Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 07-14-2013 05:02 PM
The installer was unable to launch the PACE system files installer - Help please buzz302 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 3 02-14-2012 10:05 AM
Pro Tools LE 7 version 7.4 installer won't launch crayphish 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 06-22-2011 11:43 PM
Pro Tools LE 7.0 disc installer, ilok problems sean108 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 01-17-2010 06:48 PM
Unable to launch PACE System Files installer Ab7b9 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 10-17-2003 09:34 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:28 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com