Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-22-2008, 02:13 PM
mr razor mr razor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 87
Default guitar plugged in mbox, stereo problem.

First of all, love the look of the DUC. :)

This problem is probably easy to solve, but i have no clue!
when i plug in my guitar in output 1 on the mbox2, i get only sound on the left side, and if i plug my guitar into output2, i have only sound the right side. What is the problem here, i want stereo.

This happend after format of my computer, i had no problems earlier.

excuse my poor english.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-22-2008, 02:24 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default

Guitar is a mono source. You should be using a mono track, not a "stereo" track. You can use the "pan" control to position the mono guitar in the stereo field.


If you want to have your mono guitar produce a "stereo" effect, then you should use a stereo source (such as a guitar effect that produces stereo output), or a "stereo" effect plugin.

You can also double track the guitar (play the guitar track twice) and pan both parts right and left to produce a stereo effect.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-22-2008, 02:39 PM
mr razor mr razor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 87
Default

Thats true, but if im using a mono audio track, i should hear sound left and right side right? but i dont. if i pan it, i can only hear sound on one side, the other side is silent. I've also tried with Guitar rig2.
I'm quite sure i could hear guitar on both side, right and left, be4 my format. mono audio track that is
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-22-2008, 03:45 PM
Mcgrathx Mcgrathx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 48
Default

I believe if you push the mono button on the front of the MBox2 your guitar input will become a mono source and will be centered in the stereo field. I believe the mono button only affects the input source. All the rest of your tracks should still be stereo. Not at home to verify this but I think that is how the MBox2 works. Michael
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stereo problem with Guitar Rig steppenwolf68 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 05-12-2012 04:52 AM
Problem with stereo guitar part? AdamPT8 Tips & Tricks 18 02-27-2011 04:44 AM
Problem with a stereo guitar part... AdamPT8 General Discussion 3 02-23-2011 07:34 AM
Loud noise when guitar or mic plugged into mbox ryanfergusonnz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 11-09-2010 06:25 PM
Mbox 2 Pro - plugged guitar - front input - no sound Sunsetstripwhisky 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 06-10-2008 12:59 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:33 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com