Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-04-2007, 04:49 PM
parvinbriggs parvinbriggs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1
Default High pitched tone on Protools LE startup

Looked through the forum and talked to the techs at the Music store and haven't seen a solution to this. When I start Protools LE 7.3.1 on my PC a high pitched tone starts playing on channel two. it is only noticeable when the level is turned up to about 66% on channel two. I have noticed that when I go to setup and open the playback engine dialog box that the tone will stop if I change anything on the page. However, once I close the dialog the tone comes back.

I am running WinXP sp2 with 768M of ram. I have an AMD Sempron 2600+ running at 1.6 gig. I also have a Delta logic 44 sound card installed and am running a two LCD monitor setup driven by an ATI radeon 1300.

Thanks for the help
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-05-2007, 05:37 PM
robdrath robdrath is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 15
Default Re: High pitched tone on Protools LE startup

Sounds like the problem I had, was a ground loop problem, since i was running to powered monitor speakers. Does the sound disappear when you plug your headphones into your mbox? If so it is like I had, since the outputs on the mbox are unbalanced, I ended up sending the outputs of the mbox into the ground lift input of a DI box, then taking an xlr from the DI box to my monitors, this cured the problem.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-05-2007, 06:30 PM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,889
Default Re: High pitched tone on Protools LE startup

Quote:
I have an AMD Sempron 2600+ running at 1.6 gig.
This is not related to your problem with the high pitch tone but in case you did not know, the AMD Sempron is not supported with Protools and in the past it has been the cause of a lot of problems for people trying to use it anyways.

As for the high pitch tone, what digidesign hardware are you using? Some users of the original Mbox, Mbox2, Mbox 2 Mini interfaces have reported similar issues with the USB interface or USB cable (I have not heard of this problem with the Mbox 2 Micro yet). Try a different USB cable first and then perhaps a different USB port on the computer. Some have needed to get another USB card for their computer because the existing one had improper shielding. If you are using a digi001, 002, 002R, Mbox 2 Pro, 003, 003R, you might need to try swapping the firewire cable and then card. Also make sure your power cables and monitor cables do not run near and parallel to you audio cables. Watch where you place your power brick for any device.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro14,3
Processor Name: Intel Core i7
Processor Speed: 3.1 GHz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 4
L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
L3 Cache: 8 MB
Memory: 16 GB
MacOS 10.15.7 running Protools 2020.12
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-06-2007, 06:34 AM
spaids spaids is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Louis Missouri USA
Posts: 163
Default Re: High pitched tone on Protools LE startup

Quote:
Sounds like the problem I had, was a ground loop problem, since i was running to powered monitor speakers. Does the sound disappear when you plug your headphones into your mbox? If so it is like I had, since the outputs on the mbox are unbalanced, I ended up sending the outputs of the mbox into the ground lift input of a DI box, then taking an xlr from the DI box to my monitors, this cured the problem.
ok seems I'm having some trouble with the forum today... I'll try posting this yet again.

Rob, could you give more detail on your ground loop fix? I am getting noise that I think is similar to what you had. I'm not sure how to follow you.
__________________
q6600-ASUS P5K SE(P35),2GB Crucial BallistexDDR2 800,ASUS EN7200GS 256MB,80GbMaxtor-80GBWestern Digital,Samsung SATA DVD burner,Mbox2 PTLE 7.4cs7
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-06-2007, 07:13 AM
Camilo Toledo Camilo Toledo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Wash. D.C. / Maryland
Posts: 1,910
Default Re: High pitched tone on Protools LE startup

It could be a ground loop. But I'm more inclined to think that it is harware related, which is conflicting with software. PT is not going to be too happy with that other sound card in there. You must definitely have to check the compatibility page.
__________________
Camilo Toledo
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-06-2007, 10:32 AM
JorgV JorgV is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 7
Default Re: High pitched tone on Protools LE startup

When I run Protools, my onboard soundcard (which I use for Windows sounds) makes a high pitched noise. Happens only when my Mbox2 is in use (strange..., noise goes away when I close Protools). I just mute the channels of that soundcard on my (outboard) mixer and my problem is 'gone'.

So, I guess in your case maybe it has also something to do with your other soundcard.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP! High Pitched Hum Using Protools daviddewolfe 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 09-13-2011 01:40 PM
High Pitched Tone, Macbook Pro 17" 2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo Tbassist4 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 09-18-2008 03:43 PM
High Pitched Tone in Monitors with Mbox 2 John V. 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 10-24-2007 03:12 PM
Mbox 2 - High pitched tone in bkgrd Chuck1073 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 30 07-13-2006 05:09 AM
high pitched unexplicable "whine" in ProTools Bastiaan 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 16 06-25-2002 08:13 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:00 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com