Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-11-2005, 10:57 PM
barznbeats1 barznbeats1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Jax, FL
Posts: 108
Default 002r disconnects?

About 20 minutes into a session it seems my 002r disconnects or something. I get a message saying that protools cannot commubicate with HUI. Also, anything I have connected via the firewire port is diconnected ie. external hard drive. Has anyone else had this problem? The 002r doesn't shut offthough. I usually have to turn the 002r off then on again for the midi and firewire to work again. What could this be?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-11-2005, 11:02 PM
Matt Whritenour Matt Whritenour is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Oak Ridge, New Jersey
Posts: 2,031
Default Re: 002r disconnects?

bad power harness
__________________
www.klarityrecordingstudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-11-2005, 11:08 PM
barznbeats1 barznbeats1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Jax, FL
Posts: 108
Default Re: 002r disconnects?

Are you sure? I mean the 002r isn't losing power or powering off. So how do I get a new harness? Have you had this problem?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-17-2005, 08:31 PM
dsmuv dsmuv is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 9
Default Re: 002r disconnects?

recently Ive had the same problem also. after a while it seems like my interface will disconnect from the computer. When this happens the only light thats shows is the mute button. Then it will start clicking like its trying to reconnect then reconnect then disconnect again. I used to be able to turn of the interface and turn it back on but not it has gotten worse. As of right now I cannot use my interface....I dont know if it can be a bad power harness because the interface seems to always be "on" even though its not communicating with my computer......CAN ANYBODY HELP PLEASE????
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-17-2005, 08:40 PM
scottedog scottedog is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 1,259
Default Re: 002r disconnects?

Contact Digi and get another power harness.
__________________
Scott.

ScottedogStudios on ReverbNation
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-17-2005, 08:48 PM
dsmuv dsmuv is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 9
Default Re: 002r disconnects?

Do you have a ballpark figure on how much the power harness would cost?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-17-2005, 08:51 PM
scottedog scottedog is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 1,259
Default Re: 002r disconnects?

I'd be pretty certain it would be free.
__________________
Scott.

ScottedogStudios on ReverbNation
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-17-2005, 09:05 PM
dsmuv dsmuv is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 9
Default Re: 002r disconnects?

cool thank.... bye the way I sorry if this sounds ignorant but what does the power harness look like and what is its significance to the 002 rack?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-18-2005, 03:03 AM
Mocata Mocata is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3
Default Re: 002r disconnects?

Does your OO2R click when it disconnects?

What you are describing is almost certainly down to a faulty power harness.
My 002R had exactly the same problem.
Contact Digidesign and they should send you a new one.
The power harness is a collection of cables that transfers electricity from the 002Rs internal power supply unit (PSU) to it's system board. Fitting it is simple and Digidesign will send you explicit instructions on how to complete the task with your new harness.

Best of luck,

M
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-18-2005, 03:53 AM
Joe Evans Joe Evans is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Posts: 1,020
Default Re: 002r disconnects?

Quote:
recently Ive had the same problem also. after a while it seems like my interface will disconnect from the computer. When this happens the only light thats shows is the mute button. Then it will start clicking like its trying to reconnect then reconnect then disconnect again. I used to be able to turn of the interface and turn it back on but not it has gotten worse. As of right now I cannot use my interface....I dont know if it can be a bad power harness because the interface seems to always be "on" even though its not communicating with my computer......CAN ANYBODY HELP PLEASE????
Yeah, the clicking is a dead giveaway. Bad power harness. Digi will make good on this though. In the mean time you can try reseating the power harness cable. Some people have had good results with this procedure.
__________________
--joe
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ilok disconnects while using PT 10 teketuco General Discussion 2 08-26-2013 05:28 PM
MC Mix disconnects after 20 sec lbow Artist Series 2 06-09-2011 01:13 AM
digi 002r crackles and disconnects studiojb 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 14 09-07-2007 12:39 PM
mbox 2 disconnects dishdive 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 12-26-2006 04:01 PM
002r disconnects all the time !!! Bossi 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 13 09-27-2004 12:13 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:36 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com