Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-25-2010, 05:12 PM
AdamPT8 AdamPT8 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 393
Default Bit of an odd one maybe... multiple songs, one session

When I have say 3 songs in one session, is there away so that all the plug-ins parameters I use for one song can be 'locked' if you will so that for the next song I can change the settings.

Automation isn't really what I'm looking for here, kind of making a marker so that whatever I do to the parameters, they won't change what is before the marker.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-26-2010, 04:39 AM
AdamPT8 AdamPT8 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 393
Default Re: Bit of an odd one maybe... multiple songs, one session

anybody?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-26-2010, 05:32 AM
robo6675 robo6675 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 284
Default Re: Bit of an odd one maybe... multiple songs, one session

Nope. What your going to want to do is "Save as" for the the other 2 songs.
__________________
MacBook Pro (silver) 2.5 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo - 4 GB RAM - 10.6.6 - PT9 - 003 BLA sig mod
Terrarium
HD3 Accel on a PowerPC - OS 10.5.7 - PTHD 8.0cs2
(3)192/SYNC IO/CS HEDD192/Studer A27/Neve 48 Ch. VR console
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-26-2010, 06:57 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 35,018
Default Re: Bit of an odd one maybe... multiple songs, one session

You can automate most any plugin. Personally, I would split the session into separate for each song as we talked about here
http://duc.digidesign.com/showthread.php?t=267975
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-26-2010, 11:10 AM
AdamPT8 AdamPT8 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 393
Default Re: Bit of an odd one maybe... multiple songs, one session

damn, i was hoping there would be a way.

It's just a bit awkward having to play about with plug in settings when you already have automation set on a previous track as either you end up writing a load of new automation when your trying to find a level, or it keeps snapping back to the level the automation is set at previously.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-26-2010, 11:18 AM
Keybeeetsss's Avatar
Keybeeetsss Keybeeetsss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8,759
Default Re: Bit of an odd one maybe... multiple songs, one session

Well thatz why, if the songs are that different, you do save as & start afresh... just don't delete the audio if u do 'Save as' though...

if ur gonna delete the other audio, u wanna do 'Save Copy in'...

but if most or all the audio, instruments & vocals etc. are the same, then there is no need to split it up & shouldn't be much automation being done; & even if there is, I mean that is what it is for?

But to each his own...
__________________
MYSPACE ON'EIM
LAUTEN MICS & ME
DA'TUBE ON'EIM

'IS TAMARA HOME'
NO, SHE'S WITH
HOBO KEY
'' (that dopey green thing)

('we' must start using pronouns)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-27-2010, 06:10 PM
irishharry irishharry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 163
Default Re: Bit of an odd one maybe... multiple songs, one session

This is a wild suggestion that may be very cpu heavy but why not have 3 instances of your plugin on each track and automate the bypass buttons so that only one instance of the plug in is operating for each song. This of course will only work if you have only one plugin for each track.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-27-2010, 06:20 PM
cubivore cubivore is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: houston tx
Posts: 87
Default Re: Bit of an odd one maybe... multiple songs, one session

check out snapshot automation in the manual. that's what you need. although you might also need DV toolkit 2
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-27-2010, 06:36 PM
basslik's Avatar
basslik basslik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 1,531
Default Re: Bit of an odd one maybe... multiple songs, one session

Quote:
Originally Posted by cubivore View Post
check out snapshot automation in the manual. that's what you need. although you might also need DV toolkit 2
Please forgive my intrusion, (BUT DARN), I didn't know that you can automate a plugin?< man that's cool, yea I'm still a noob, sorry for straying off topic, please continue. I"LL HAVE TO LEARN MORE ON THAT
__________________
MAC PRO 2010 5,1 3.46hex 96ram - Mt. Lion 10.8.5 - PT 9.O.6 003 CONSOLE /DIGIMAX FS /PCM90 2CHANNEL SPDIF

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-27-2010, 06:41 PM
Keybeeetsss's Avatar
Keybeeetsss Keybeeetsss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8,759
Default Re: Bit of an odd one maybe... multiple songs, one session

Quote:
Originally Posted by basslik View Post
Please forgive my intrusion, (BUT DARN), I didn't know that you can automate a plugin?< man that's cool, yea I'm still a noob, sorry for straying off topic, please continue. I"LL HAVE TO LEARN MORE ON THAT




__________________
MYSPACE ON'EIM
LAUTEN MICS & ME
DA'TUBE ON'EIM

'IS TAMARA HOME'
NO, SHE'S WITH
HOBO KEY
'' (that dopey green thing)

('we' must start using pronouns)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Breaking up multiple songs in one session into multiple sessions? rmandelbaum Windows 10 08-14-2013 11:05 PM
Multiple songs per session... Sascha Pendegraft Tips & Tricks 5 10-24-2007 11:00 PM
Mixing Multiple Songs In One Session Keniko 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 06-20-2007 05:52 PM
Multiple songs...one session.... LFarah Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 2 11-20-2006 10:45 AM
Multiple songs in a session or one for one? Jeff Hodges Tips & Tricks 5 02-05-2002 12:59 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:33 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com